We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ludlow's Island Resort on Lake Vermilion is the best resort in Minnesota.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ludlow's Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Ludlow's Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludlow's Island Resort
8166 Ludlow Rd, Cook, MN 55723   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Cook
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ludlow's Island Resort on Lake Vermilion is the best resort in Minnesota.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

At Ludlow's Island Resort our three children had the best time of their lives. Every day there is a children's/family activity such as sand building contest, sail boat making and racing, fishing derby, scavenger hunts to name a few of our children's favorites. This year our son won the fishing derby and he received a trophy which he has proudly displayed in his room. My son's picture with his trophy was on the front page of the island daily news paper the next morning that gets delivered to every cabin. He has been bragging to everyone that will listen. We also appreciated S'mores on the beach and hot dog roasts. Our children participated in movie night every night. Ludlow's also has a couple of unique playground areas, one is a treehouse with swings and basketball court and the other is an old Chris Craft Cruiser Playhouse. My children also enjoyed a riding in the Ludlow's Amphibious Car that drove into the water and around the Island. Ludlow's Island Resort has a beatiful sandy beach for swimming, an 8 foot iceberg to climb onto and a water slide. Our family also enjoyed the kayaks and water bikes that you can navigate around the island.

This is our third year going to Ludlow's Island Resort and our children want to make it a permanent tradition to visit every summer, this is their highlight of the year. The staff at Ludlow's is wonderful and very accomodating to ensure everybody has a great stay. This year we stayed in the four story Dream Catcher cabin and it has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, we would recommend it.

I just wanted to share part of our experience at Ludlow's Island Resort and recommend to anybody looking for an up north experience at a cabin.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I read all of the wonderful reviews - many that praise the service at Ludlows. While we certainly enjoyed our time, the service we received didn't feel exceptional - it was simply okay. For the price paid, there were places service could have been improved. Because we stayed on the island we always had to be back to catch the last shuttle ride at 10:00 pm. My husband and I were interested in checking out a local live band and couldn't do so because we'd get back too late. We wished the $$ we paid would have afforded us a ride regardless of the time. We had a fine vacation but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpludlow, Manager at Ludlow's Island Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We at Ludlow's are very sorry that our service experience was not what it should have been for this guest. We take pride in our great service and exceptional property.

Our shuttle service to and from the mainland does operate 24/7. It is true that at 10:00PM our scheduled service does stop, but it does continue as needed. From 7am-10pm the shuttle goes back and forth across the 150 yard channel without any hesitation. After 10PM you call from the mainland dock phone and let our live on property staff know you are here and they will come over and shuttle you to the island.

It would be illegal for us to not allow guests to have access to exiting the property at anytime.
Please call us if you have any questions about the logistics of Ludlow's Island operations or services. We would love to have you as our guests. 877-LUDLOWS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Rustic, semi secluded cabins on Lake Vermilion, park your car and do everything by boat....huge, beautiful lake with lots of great fishing spots. The folks at Ludlow's Island are terrific...nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Ludlow’s Island Resort is a super-great place to spend a week or two – for the family or just mom and dad. The homes – they’re more than just north woods cabins – are immaculate and comfortable. The service is four-star. The lake is large and beautiful, but it can also be a little wild at times. There’s plenty to do besides fishing – although I’ve found fishing is usually good because if the walleyes aren’t biting the bass, the crappies, the northerns, the muskies or bluegills are. The island’s boats – rowboats, ski boats, fishing boats, pontoons, kayaks and canoes are well founded and available. Full disclosure – I’ve spent the first week of June at Ludlow’s Island every year since 1984. Over the years my visits have included guys only fishing with from two to eight guys, my wife and I alone and lately our extended family (eight adults and two kids age five and 19months). There’s plenty do whatever your age. You can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coltsdad
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My wife and I just got married at the resort. The scenery was beautiful. The service was excellent. The staff was always cheerful. Our wedding was no stress, and very seemless. I recommend the resort to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Our family of 9 (ages 3 to 65) spent a thoroughly relaxed & happy week at this charmingingly old-fashioned, comfortable, friendly resort on a pretty island in a gloriously unspoiled lake. We had two cabins (Baybreeze & Stardust), both well-equipped with the basics, including daily newspaper and unending firewood. Ludlow's is so well run by such genuinely friendly people, that their professionalism & experience come across as pure pleasure in the guests pleasure. We really hope they will not change a thing.
One caveat: the vacation is so outdoors-oriented that it is very weather dependent. We were lucky, but a week of rain or too-cold-for-swimming or fishing could be tedious with kids, even though the lodge has some "arcade" games.
PS some grown-ups might like to be invited to participate in the kids scavneger hunt !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Our family booked the cabin Sundown for a week long stay in 2006. The vacation was perfect from the moment our daughter called over to the island on the antique phone to the sad moment packing our car to go home. Once we called, they came over with 2 boats...one to take us back to the island and have a little tour, and the other one was loaded by the boys with all of our things which were delivered before we got to our cabin. We had never done a vacation like this and didn't really know what to expect. Sundown was one of the original cabins on the island. It was cozy, but perfect for the 4 of us. No electronics for the kids all week...we played games, read books, boated, canoed to "Picnic Island" and had a cookout, took a hike on the northshore and just enjoyed our family time together. If our kids had been a little older (then 7 and 9) we would have let them camp on "camping Island" which they were dying to do. There was a little activity every morning our daughter went to the main lodge to do. There was also a scavenger hunt the last day that the kids did together. We rented a boat a couple days and took the kids innertubing. We also had a lovely pontoon tour of the lake. We brought all of our food, but you could get almost anything you would need from the little "store" all on the honor system!! We had 1 rainy, chilly day which was just perfect for us to get a roaring fire going and really enjoy a "Northwoods Cabin" experience. There was a swing on the shore right outside our cabin, perfect to take a glass of wine and watch the sunset. The staff could not have been more friendly and accomodating to us. Our children ask several times a year when we are going back to Ludlow's Island. It was indeed a "magical" trip for us.

  • Liked — The authentic, historic cabin.
  • Disliked — The bedding seemed a little dated, but I understand that has all benn changed.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ludlow's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow's Island Resort

Address: 8166 Ludlow Rd, Cook, MN 55723
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cook
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ludlow's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludlow`s Island Hotel Cook
Ludlows Island Hotel
Ludlows Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ludlow's Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.