We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ludlow's Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Ludlow's Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludlow's Island Resort
8166 Ludlow Rd, Cook, MN 55723   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cook
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We've been coming to Ludlows for over 20 years. I've stayed in many of the cabins there, some on the island, some on shore. Lately we've been staying on the north shore, as there is a cabin there that works well for my extended family, and has it's own dock for fishing (we've caught walleyes and bass right off the dock).

The first time I made a reversation there I was looking for a luxury fishing resort (not always the easiest combination). There was no internet to help screen resorts. I spoke with Mark Ludlow who assured me they met this criteria, and that they offered the best there was. It was true---and still is. The cabins are gorgeous (you'll see this in the photos on their website). The service is top notch---always. The fishing is great.

Room Tip: Try spring or fall when the rates are much lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The staff could not have been anymore pleasant, and you can go back and forth from the island as often as you like - and they continue to smile. Unfortunately, the kids activities were not highly participated, so we'd recommend bringing your kids a friend. Also - start when your kids are a little younger, and make it a tradition.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We've been going to Ludlow's for the past 3 years. The cabins are excellent - great character and history, and perfectly clean and comfortable. The island is beautiful and the staff go out of their way to provide top notch service. I'm from Minnesota, and I've been on hundreds of lakes. Lake Vermilion is easily the most beautiful lake I've ever been on. Can't say enough nice things about this resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

At Ludlow's Island Resort our three children had the best time of their lives. Every day there is a children's/family activity such as sand building contest, sail boat making and racing, fishing derby, scavenger hunts to name a few of our children's favorites. This year our son won the fishing derby and he received a trophy which he has proudly displayed in his room. My son's picture with his trophy was on the front page of the island daily news paper the next morning that gets delivered to every cabin. He has been bragging to everyone that will listen. We also appreciated S'mores on the beach and hot dog roasts. Our children participated in movie night every night. Ludlow's also has a couple of unique playground areas, one is a treehouse with swings and basketball court and the other is an old Chris Craft Cruiser Playhouse. My children also enjoyed a riding in the Ludlow's Amphibious Car that drove into the water and around the Island. Ludlow's Island Resort has a beatiful sandy beach for swimming, an 8 foot iceberg to climb onto and a water slide. Our family also enjoyed the kayaks and water bikes that you can navigate around the island.

This is our third year going to Ludlow's Island Resort and our children want to make it a permanent tradition to visit every summer, this is their highlight of the year. The staff at Ludlow's is wonderful and very accomodating to ensure everybody has a great stay. This year we stayed in the four story Dream Catcher cabin and it has 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, we would recommend it.

I just wanted to share part of our experience at Ludlow's Island Resort and recommend to anybody looking for an up north experience at a cabin.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I read all of the wonderful reviews - many that praise the service at Ludlows. While we certainly enjoyed our time, the service we received didn't feel exceptional - it was simply okay. For the price paid, there were places service could have been improved. Because we stayed on the island we always had to be back to catch the last shuttle ride at 10:00 pm. My husband and I were interested in checking out a local live band and couldn't do so because we'd get back too late. We wished the $$ we paid would have afforded us a ride regardless of the time. We had a fine vacation but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpludlow, Manager at Ludlow's Island Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We at Ludlow's are very sorry that our service experience was not what it should have been for this guest. We take pride in our great service and exceptional property.

Our shuttle service to and from the mainland does operate 24/7. It is true that at 10:00PM our scheduled service does stop, but it does continue as needed. From 7am-10pm the shuttle goes back and forth across the 150 yard channel without any hesitation. After 10PM you call from the mainland dock phone and let our live on property staff know you are here and they will come over and shuttle you to the island.

It would be illegal for us to not allow guests to have access to exiting the property at anytime.
Please call us if you have any questions about the logistics of Ludlow's Island operations or services. We would love to have you as our guests. 877-LUDLOWS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Rustic, semi secluded cabins on Lake Vermilion, park your car and do everything by boat....huge, beautiful lake with lots of great fishing spots. The folks at Ludlow's Island are terrific...nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Ludlow’s Island Resort is a super-great place to spend a week or two – for the family or just mom and dad. The homes – they’re more than just north woods cabins – are immaculate and comfortable. The service is four-star. The lake is large and beautiful, but it can also be a little wild at times. There’s plenty to do besides fishing – although I’ve found fishing is usually good because if the walleyes aren’t biting the bass, the crappies, the northerns, the muskies or bluegills are. The island’s boats – rowboats, ski boats, fishing boats, pontoons, kayaks and canoes are well founded and available. Full disclosure – I’ve spent the first week of June at Ludlow’s Island every year since 1984. Over the years my visits have included guys only fishing with from two to eight guys, my wife and I alone and lately our extended family (eight adults and two kids age five and 19months). There’s plenty do whatever your age. You can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ludlow's Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow's Island Resort

Address: 8166 Ludlow Rd, Cook, MN 55723
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cook
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ludlow's Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludlow`s Island Hotel Cook
Ludlows Island Hotel
Ludlows Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ludlow's Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.