We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Riverside Inn
118 3rd Street South, Cold Spring, MN 56320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #2 of 2 Cold Spring B&B and Inns
Perham, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I reserved this hotel over the phone for my family. We spent the night of August 27th, 2011 in the Lincoln room 103. The hotel is old and smells like it. The room cost me 95.00 with the roll away, the room was awful. It was damp and sticky, we literally stuck to the sheets. We turned the air on, to try to dry it out and went to the front desk to ask for an extra pillow and a blanket. The lady was vacuuming and after I finally got her attention and she turned the vacuum off I asked if I could please have an extra blanket and pillow. Her response..."Not if I have to go upstairs for it". I just stood there for a moment dumbfounded... she finally said I'll see what I have back here...we walked around tp the laundry room and I told her I would be glad to go upstairs to get the blankets if she would tell me where they were..."they're locked up you can't do that"...she grabbed a pillow and put a pillowcase on it then handed that to me...brushed past me and said she must have done something to her back and went upstairs...after a few minutes she came back down and handed me a blanket...I spent the night in cold springs at a damp sticky motel and was treated very rudely..this morning I asked for a receipt when I checked out...they needed to change the ink in the printer and i said no problem...10 minutes and 3 people later I was told they would mail me a receipt. This is totally unacceptable. I can assure you for 95.00 I can find a much nicer hotel with friendlier staff in ST Cloud.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riversidebunny, Owner at Riverside Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are sorry "Avoid this motel" was dissatisfied with their stay and I, as the owner and CEO, apologize for the frustrations they encountered. A letter of apology and a gift certificate was promptly issued once I learned of their disatisfaction.

The August night they stayed was incredibly hot and humid and unfortunately our new staff did not turn on the in-room air conditioner in this guest's room prior to their arrival Therefore, the room could have felt "damp and sticky" when they arrived, however, the air conditioner would have taken care of that quite quickly.

My staff is expected to follow our family's long-standing trademarks* of "friendliness, cleanliness, and personalized service." A guest's request for additional bedding, coffee, or any other service is always met promptly and it appears this guest greatly exaggerated the staff's response to her request for "an extra pillow and a blanket."

*These trademarks have been in place for the 8+ decades our family has served in the hospitality business, beginning in 1927 with the birth of Riverside Resort in Richmond. Riverside Inn was acquired and totally renovated in 2003 (giving question to the guest's comment ,"The hotel is old and smells like it.") and in 2007, Riverside Aloha in Kauai, Hawaii was added to our hospitality mix.)

Our purpose statement has always been "to serve God and His people" and we are grateful for each and every guest who comes our way. In the 32 years my wife and I have owned and operated our family properties, we seldom hear any justified complaints. When we are in the wrong, however, we will make it right. Sometimes though it's impossible to please everyone. We invite you readers to make Riverside Inn your lodging destination on your next trip to the Cold Spring area, where clean & uniquely themed guest rooms, intimate ambiance, and cordial and attentive service await you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stayed at the Riverside Inn a few weeks ago for a scrapbook retreat. They have these retreats in November and January. It was a perfect weekend for me to scrapbook and get some quilting done. I was able to relax and enjoy a weekend away with the girls. The hotel is clean, and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

I worked in Cold Spring for a number of days and stayed at this hotel because it is the only one in town. It is a very charming and well kept place! The people that work at this hotel are always helpful and kind! I loved the hunting room! Highly recommended if you stay in the area!

  • Liked — Service! Top notch!
  • Disliked — Older television sets
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Excellent stay! Very nice people! Older property, but very clean and gives you the feeling of being at a bed and breakfast! I loved the theme rooms! Very highly recommended! :)

  • Liked — Themed rooms!
  • Disliked — No meeting room.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Address: 118 3rd Street South, Cold Spring, MN 56320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cold Spring
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cold Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Inn is conveniently located 13 miles west of St. Cloud, with access to the Sauk River waterway system. Staying at Cold Spring's RIVERSIDE INN offers many benefits, from clean and affordable lodging accommodations and personalized service to a Preferred Customer Program with free lodging for repeat guest stays.You'll appreciate our home away from home atmosphere and special amenities including:22 uniquely decorated themed guest rooms. Non-smoking rooms available. Whirlpool Suite. Handicapped accessible guest room. Indoor heated pool, whirlpool, and sauna. Cable Television Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Complimentary Continental Breakfast. Free weekday morning newspaper. Spacious Fireside Lobby. Gift Certificates available. Near Dining, Shops and More. The Riverside Inn is adjacent to a Community Park with playground equipment, picnic tables, firepits, and a boat launch which provides access to the staggering concentration of water of the Sauk River and Horseshoe Chain of Lakes 13-mile waterway system.Our Central Minnesota location (only 13 miles west of St. Cloud and 80 miles northwest of the Mall of America) provides close access to quaint country shops, fine dining and bakery treats, shopping malls, movie theaters, roller skating, golfing, bowling, snowmobiling, horseback riding, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Cold Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.