We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff at Sugar Lake Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cohasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugar Lake Lodge
Save
You added Sugar Lake Lodge to your Saves list
37584 Otis Lane, PO Box 847, Cohasset, MN 55721 (Formerly Ruttgers Sugar Lake Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Stacy, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff at Sugar Lake Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent the weekend at Sugar Lake Lodge near Grand Rapids, MN and found that the staff was super great in handeling our women's retreat. The food was excellent!!!! The snow made everything like a winter wonderland. We had a nice townhome to stay in with a fireplace to keep us cozy. Mostly, I really want to congratulate the staff as everyone was super nice to us all weekend long. I sure hope I can get back there this summer to see it in a green setting and enjoy the lake.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms mostly look over the lake and the cabins are on the lake. The townhomes mostly look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm not much of a golfer but my husband certainly is and he would not stop talking about how great their golf course it is. I chose Ruttger's Bay Lake Lodge for the great reviews they have on their golf course. Come to find out it is a championship golf course with 27 holes! It was definitely a full day of fun for all of us and such beautiful scenery. After golfing we did some fishing on the dock and just hung out by the pool. It was a relaxing time and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the kids their separate room to give everyone a little space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a nice suite in the lodge that had a walk out patio with a grill. The room had a jacuzie tub and a full kitchen. We did some grocery shopping ahead of time and had everything we needed to stay in and have a nice quiet weekend. They built us a bon fire down by the lake each night we called and requested. It was the quiet season so not many people around... perfect :)
The boats were still in the water to use, kayaks and canoes were free for guests to use the motor boats came with a rental fee, unfortunately it was to windy to use any of them.
It was a wonderful and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the main level so you could walk out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend family reunion in July. We stayed in one of the 2-storey townhouse units near the golf course. Our overall experience was good. The townhouse was clean and had lots of space. Having stayed at other northern MN resorts (Cragun's, Madden's, etc) this was a cut above some, but not the nicest. There are plenty of activities for kids, and the golf course was well-kept and lovely but not tournament-quality. The lake is beautiful and there are plenty of opportunities (canoes, paddleboats, jet skis) to get on the water. Staff is very friendly and the price is competitive. The food was good. Certainly worth considering for a terrific "northern Minnesota" vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echem, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our family has been spending two weeks at Sugar Lake Lodge nearly every summer since our children (15 and 17) were born. Coming from Germany, it is a long trip for us, but it is always worth it. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The children loved Kids' Kamp when they were younger. We all enjoy the spectacular golf course, lake with beach, and pool. We stay in a golf course villa with a spectacular view of the lake.
The units are well equipped. In the past we sometimes had trouble with the wi.fi, but this year it worked great.
Everyone who works at SLL is friendly and extremely helpful. It is always a pleasure dealing with the employees. They do their very best to make our stay pleasant.
About Grand Rapids: When we first started coming, there was not much there - KMart and a grocery store were just about it. The city has really grown since then, with all the modern conveniences. Good selection of shopping and dining.
We would recommend this resort to anyone!

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms/cabins/villas, so it depends what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent a long weekend here for a wedding, the facility was clean, friendly staff. The scenery was beautiful, lots of trees, nice big lake, free bikes to use and boating. The staff served a large wedding and dinner, very professional and good food.

Very nice golf course if you like to golf, would make a nice place for a family reunion. Not to far from Grand Rapids. Nice shopping and resturants. Found a great coffee house on the main hwy. through town. The old school is a mixture of museum and shops.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge, however, some friends stayed in the condos on the golf course and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

For 15+ years, our family (now including grandchildren) has come to SLL in July or August.

Many people are unaware of the notable difference between a lake resort in the Brainerd area -- and a lake resort in a north woods setting … and only one hour north of Brainerd.

SLL is both large enough to accommodate a couple of hundred guests, and yet small scale enough to possess a “private / laid back” character. Of course, the Fred and Gwynne Bobich personas and absolute commitment / way of life factor, translate into all of the positives / advantages associated with a “mom and pop” resort operation.

Room Tip: Various locations with various views of lake, golf course, woods -- some connected to the lodge, som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Lake Lodge

Address: 37584 Otis Lane, PO Box 847, Cohasset, MN 55721 (Formerly Ruttgers Sugar Lake Lodge)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cohasset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cohasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Lake Lodge is 14 miles SW of Grand Rapids Minnesota and overlooks Sugar Lake. The resort offers a variety of accommodations from Cabins, Lakefront Villas and Golf Course Villas. There a 18 holes of Championship golf on-site, out door heated pool, white sand beach, marina and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruttgers Sugar Lake Hotel Cohasset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.