We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza in THAT town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammy's Pizza
305 Sunnyside Dr, Cloquet, MN 55720-1147
(218) 879-3705
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Cloquet
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Somerset, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The best pizza in THAT town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I believe the hype of this place comes from it may be the only place for pizza there? We stopped in for lunch on our way north. It's ok. It's not cardboard and it definately isn't from Grandma Sicily. It was similar to the Pizza Ranch if you've been there. They have a buffet or you can order off the menu. We chose to order off the menu during the end of the lunch rush and the service was everything but quick. If your passing through and have a craving for pizza, why not try it. I have already experinced this establishment so I'll probably pick something different.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What is all the hype?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My boyfriend, who I would consider a pizza expert agreed with me... "What is all the hype?" The pizza was mediocre, at best. The crust is fair and the sauce and cheese were minimal. We will not be going back when we come back to the Duluth area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fish fry on fridays. Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had our first fish fry there last year. the food was excellent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esko, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sammy's makes the Best Pizza around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

homemade sauces, hand tossed crust freshest ingedients, several locations in Minnesota. Just a little pricey but alweays good, excellent staff and select on of food is ok...try it you'll like it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Pizza is delicious, also...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Pizza is delicious, also they have good French dip as well

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.