We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel across the street was full so we stayed here. I'm so glad we did because we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the backside, facing a wooded area and was very quiet. My three girls loved the pool and hot tub. The breakfast and seating area was very nice. I would definitely stay here again. The nearby Subway serves gluten free sandwiches. It was easy to get on the road in the morning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
21
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were too tired to drive back to Canada after spending 4 days in Vegas and flying back to Duluth and decided to spend one night in cloquet as we were also going to meet some friends the next day in the area.
Check in was fine and we got a pretty good deal on a king jacuzzi room. We had a long nap after we checked in then went to Perkins in the same Peking lot for dinner. You get a discount at Perkins if you show your hotel key.
After dinner we used the pool and sauna at the hotel. The pool area was clean and only a couple other people were using it. The sauna was hot which is how we like it, usually hotel saunas don't get very hot. We didn't use the hot tub as we had the jacuzzi in the room. After swimming we went back to our room and used the jacuzzi and relaxed.
The room is a nice size with a sitting area and the jacuzzi. There is a fridge and microwave. The bathroom is pretty small and the bed was not very comfortable at all. The other strange thing was we only got two towels, for the shower and the jacuzzi. The two towels were on the ledge of the jacuzzi and when we went to shower after we noticed there was only two hand towels in the bathroom. Usually jacuzzi room/suites have towels in the bathroom and at the jacuzzi tub.
I would probably stay at this hotel again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms have been updated with cabinetry that holds a flat screen television, microwave oven and a refrigerator as well as a wardrobe and three drawers. The light fixtures have outlets on them so there is enough outlets to charge phones, tablets etc.
The breakfast is better than your standard fare with hard boiled and scrambled eggs as well as bacon or sausage. Waffles are made on site and cereal, yogurt, fruit, English muffins, breads and bagels and other pastries are available. The coffee was offered in house blend, decaf and Bold and there was hot water for tea or hot chocolate. There is a restaurant across from the parking lot if you would rather pay for steak and eggs cooked to order, but we were satisfied both mornings with the complimentary.
The pool area included a spa and a sauna and a shower in each restroom but the pool closes at 10 pm due to the location of some poolside rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the only decent place to stay when in Cloquet. It is conveniently located. Across the street is a grocery store. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave so stock up. There is a vending machine for drinks and snacks. Breakfast is offered every morning. When there in the summer months it is usually very busy. They offer eggs, bacon, pastries, etc. There is a sauna and indoor pool. Plenty of parking. Perkins right next door. The people at the front desk are very friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping is also very friendly. The rooms have window,units for A/C although kind of noisy at night. Rarely gets hot at night though. The hot water is very hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first experience in AmericInn and the staff in Cloquet made our stay special. This is a pet friendly hotel. Very conveniently located near highway. Walking distance to grocery store and pharmacy. Microwave and fridge in room.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this two storey hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on a Thursday confirmed we were staying tell Sunday. On Saturday we get a call saying we left our stuff behind, when I tell patty that we staying tell Sunday she rudely says well we don't have any rooms sorry. When we came to get our stuff I asked for a manager and would you look at that no one was on staff Saturday. The absolute worst customer service! I will never be going to this location or any other branch for americinn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was flying into Duluth, MN late on Friday August 2nd, to meet up with my vacationing family. My wife went and checked into the Americinn at Cloquet, MN earlier in the day and got our key cards and drop off a few things. My flight was later than planned, but we finally got to the Inn at 2:30 AM. We tried to enter the Inn at a side door using our room keys, but the keys did not work. So we went in through the front desk door, no one was there. We made our way to the room and tried to open the door to our room, our key cards did not work there either. Went to the front desk to get some help where we were greeted with two sheet of paper that read "Helping another patron, be back soon" and "In case of an emergency call XXX-XXXX". Not wanting to mess around, we called the number making the phone in the next room ring off the hook, no one came for over ten minutes. When the night clerk did come in, he was confused as why his phone, that was ringing off the hook in the next room did not work. The next morning I planned on discussing the issue from the previous night with a manager only to fine out there was none; only a couple of young "adults" manning the Inn. When I informed them of our dilemma when we arrived the previous night, we got a few insincere "sorries" and no other actions. We paid well over $120 for this one bed room. If the "Inn" wants top dollar rates, then they better offer top dollar service. If you want your money's worth, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Address: 111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cloquet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and AmericInn Hotels so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Cloquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.