We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Cloquet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cloquet
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Cloquet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the only decent place to stay when in Cloquet. It is conveniently located. Across the street is a grocery store. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave so stock up. There is a vending machine for drinks and snacks. Breakfast is offered every morning. When there in the summer months it is usually very busy. They offer eggs, bacon, pastries, etc. There is a sauna and indoor pool. Plenty of parking. Perkins right next door. The people at the front desk are very friendly and welcoming. Housekeeping is also very friendly. The rooms have window,units for A/C although kind of noisy at night. Rarely gets hot at night though. The hot water is very hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    10
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
18
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our first experience in AmericInn and the staff in Cloquet made our stay special. This is a pet friendly hotel. Very conveniently located near highway. Walking distance to grocery store and pharmacy. Microwave and fridge in room.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this two storey hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We checked in on a Thursday confirmed we were staying tell Sunday. On Saturday we get a call saying we left our stuff behind, when I tell patty that we staying tell Sunday she rudely says well we don't have any rooms sorry. When we came to get our stuff I asked for a manager and would you look at that no one was on staff Saturday. The absolute worst customer service! I will never be going to this location or any other branch for americinn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was flying into Duluth, MN late on Friday August 2nd, to meet up with my vacationing family. My wife went and checked into the Americinn at Cloquet, MN earlier in the day and got our key cards and drop off a few things. My flight was later than planned, but we finally got to the Inn at 2:30 AM. We tried to enter the Inn at a side door using our room keys, but the keys did not work. So we went in through the front desk door, no one was there. We made our way to the room and tried to open the door to our room, our key cards did not work there either. Went to the front desk to get some help where we were greeted with two sheet of paper that read "Helping another patron, be back soon" and "In case of an emergency call XXX-XXXX". Not wanting to mess around, we called the number making the phone in the next room ring off the hook, no one came for over ten minutes. When the night clerk did come in, he was confused as why his phone, that was ringing off the hook in the next room did not work. The next morning I planned on discussing the issue from the previous night with a manager only to fine out there was none; only a couple of young "adults" manning the Inn. When I informed them of our dilemma when we arrived the previous night, we got a few insincere "sorries" and no other actions. We paid well over $120 for this one bed room. If the "Inn" wants top dollar rates, then they better offer top dollar service. If you want your money's worth, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ended up staying here because the other AmericInn in Carlton - where we had an advance reservation made - suddenly told us their staff messed up and gave away all their rooms, which was absolutely REDICULOUS.
The only downside of this place was the evening staffer named Junior. He seemed curteous, but he was practically whispering everything. I have good hearing, but could barely hear him. I was with 2 people who are older, with greater sound level requirements, and we had to ask him, "What?" 3 times every time he said something. Geeze, that gets old! When we tried to call to set up a wake up call, we had to call 3 times before he answered.
The rooms were great. Very nice and clean. Even nice decor with black and white pictures. Nice firm beds, very quiet. Big fridge, a microwave. Didn't have time to check out the pool+hot tub. Breakfast was fairly nice. Of course the eggs were those weird not really egg type of things that probably are made from wheat powder and God knows what else. They had a very weird, chewy texture, and were formed into circular shapes, so skip those. What is so hard about just using regular eggs?
Large eating area with tables and chairs to accommodate enough people. Very nice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn on our way to Duluth to see the Tall Ships. The staff was very courteous, check in was easy, and room was comfortable and clean. We also visited the pool and hottub during our visit. Breakfast was great! I would highly recommended staying here if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenora ont. ca--lake of ozarks
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here for years.This time not so great.Walking into my room abunch of people staying at motel smoking and blocking entrance.No shirts on dirty clothes.Not my type.I found room dated but clean.
The breakfast was very good.Waffle mix not watered down like a lot of inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Address: 111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cloquet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cloquet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Cloquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.