We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Staffer a little odd.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Staffer a little odd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ended up staying here because the other AmericInn in Carlton - where we had an advance reservation made - suddenly told us their staff messed up and gave away all their rooms, which was absolutely REDICULOUS.
The only downside of this place was the evening staffer named Junior. He seemed curteous, but he was practically whispering everything. I have good hearing, but could barely hear him. I was with 2 people who are older, with greater sound level requirements, and we had to ask him, "What?" 3 times every time he said something. Geeze, that gets old! When we tried to call to set up a wake up call, we had to call 3 times before he answered.
The rooms were great. Very nice and clean. Even nice decor with black and white pictures. Nice firm beds, very quiet. Big fridge, a microwave. Didn't have time to check out the pool+hot tub. Breakfast was fairly nice. Of course the eggs were those weird not really egg type of things that probably are made from wheat powder and God knows what else. They had a very weird, chewy texture, and were formed into circular shapes, so skip those. What is so hard about just using regular eggs?
Large eating area with tables and chairs to accommodate enough people. Very nice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
40
23
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delano, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn on our way to Duluth to see the Tall Ships. The staff was very courteous, check in was easy, and room was comfortable and clean. We also visited the pool and hottub during our visit. Breakfast was great! I would highly recommended staying here if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenora ont. ca--lake of ozarks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here for years.This time not so great.Walking into my room abunch of people staying at motel smoking and blocking entrance.No shirts on dirty clothes.Not my type.I found room dated but clean.
The breakfast was very good.Waffle mix not watered down like a lot of inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My son's high school hockey team plays in a tournament in Cloquet every July. Many of the parents stay at the AmericInn every year because it is clean, quiet, and a mile from the ice arena. The staff is courteous, the hotel has a nice pool, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. There's a Perkins next door and you get 10% off when you show your room key. This also applies to Applebee's down the street. The free breakfast in the morning is good- eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, cereal, a few different kinds of coffee. There's a large grocery store (SuperOne) across the street, with an adjoining liquor store. I had a billing issue, and the manager, Gloria, was great in resolving it. I've stayed here the last two summers, and I plan on staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This motel was a really nice surprise. It was quiet, clean, did not smell, and had basic features we needed. The beds were not too firm and not too soft. We even had a couple types of pillows to choose from that were on the bed. The sheets were not scratchy and everyone actually slept! If quiet is important to you, choose the second floor. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and kind. The continental breakfast was far better than the usual. It seemed like everyone in the hotel was there enjoying it! My only complaint is that the bathroom was tiny- just big enough to get clothes on and off for a shower. In the scope of things, though, that wasn't a big deal. There are several restaurants nearby as well as a grocery store. Don't miss eating at Gordy's which is just down the road. Duluth is just a short drive up 35. :)

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room on the second floor furthest away from the road (33).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

An above average AmericInn. Excellent room, A/C, beds, micro/fridge, great hot tub and pool, clean bath, good hot water and pressure. Very good breakfast and breakfast area -- full hot breakfast. All day coffee in lobby. Walmart and other shopping nearby. A short distande from interstate 35 just south of Duluth city proper.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before committing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our room was very clean, the help was exceptionally friendly. The only downside we had was our room was near the door other patrons used to go outside to smoke so we had to listen to the outside door banging and often had the faint smell of cigarette smoke in our room, but none of that is really the hotel's fault. Maybe designate a smoking area away from the building? Otherwise it was a good value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near an outside door or stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloquet
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
15.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
15.8 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
16.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Address: 111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cloquet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cloquet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Cloquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.