We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet
111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cloquet
kenora ont. ca--lake of ozarks
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not my motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here for years.This time not so great.Walking into my room abunch of people staying at motel smoking and blocking entrance.No shirts on dirty clothes.Not my type.I found room dated but clean.
The breakfast was very good.Waffle mix not watered down like a lot of inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
16
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My son's high school hockey team plays in a tournament in Cloquet every July. Many of the parents stay at the AmericInn every year because it is clean, quiet, and a mile from the ice arena. The staff is courteous, the hotel has a nice pool, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. There's a Perkins next door and you get 10% off when you show your room key. This also applies to Applebee's down the street. The free breakfast in the morning is good- eggs, bacon, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt, pastries, toast, cereal, a few different kinds of coffee. There's a large grocery store (SuperOne) across the street, with an adjoining liquor store. I had a billing issue, and the manager, Gloria, was great in resolving it. I've stayed here the last two summers, and I plan on staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This motel was a really nice surprise. It was quiet, clean, did not smell, and had basic features we needed. The beds were not too firm and not too soft. We even had a couple types of pillows to choose from that were on the bed. The sheets were not scratchy and everyone actually slept! If quiet is important to you, choose the second floor. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and kind. The continental breakfast was far better than the usual. It seemed like everyone in the hotel was there enjoying it! My only complaint is that the bathroom was tiny- just big enough to get clothes on and off for a shower. In the scope of things, though, that wasn't a big deal. There are several restaurants nearby as well as a grocery store. Don't miss eating at Gordy's which is just down the road. Duluth is just a short drive up 35. :)

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room on the second floor furthest away from the road (33).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

An above average AmericInn. Excellent room, A/C, beds, micro/fridge, great hot tub and pool, clean bath, good hot water and pressure. Very good breakfast and breakfast area -- full hot breakfast. All day coffee in lobby. Walmart and other shopping nearby. A short distande from interstate 35 just south of Duluth city proper.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before committing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our room was very clean, the help was exceptionally friendly. The only downside we had was our room was near the door other patrons used to go outside to smoke so we had to listen to the outside door banging and often had the faint smell of cigarette smoke in our room, but none of that is really the hotel's fault. Maybe designate a smoking area away from the building? Otherwise it was a good value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near an outside door or stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights recently while at a hockey tournament in Cloquet. I've actually stayed here many times - for the same reason - over the years. It's always a pleasant experience.

The hotel is your typical Americinn. Decent rooms that are quiet. Basic breakfast that you would expect (eggs, waffles, bacon and assorted breads and pastries). Pool and hot tub. All the things you would want for those in-between game times.

The rink is actually within walking distance and we walked back and fourth for one of the Saturday morning games. Between the rink and the hotel is a small strp mall with a grocery store, liquor store (big surprise) and a few other small mom and pop type stores. Right next to the hotel is a Perkins and there's a McDonald's in the mall parking lot, as well.

I think the Americinn in Cloquet is a great value and would recomend it. We'll be back next winter for hockey!

Room Tip: Second floor facing the front at the end of the long halway on the opposite end from the lobby. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here as a family with another family last year, 2011. Was a great stay.
We had the king room at the top of the stairs on the pool end of the hotel. Was immaculate, clean microwave, and fridge, clean bedding, bathroom and carpets. Loved our room, however, my parents were on the first floor and their room reaked of smoke smell. When asked to relocate their rooms, they were moved down the hall from us and were much happier. Front desk staff accomodating, pool and hot tub clean. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, I believe these are all a bit mor emodern with flat screens, newer carpet, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet

Address: 111 Big Lake Road, Cloquet, MN 55720
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cloquet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Cloquet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Cloquet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cloquet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.