We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful blend of beauty and science” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum

Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
3675 Arboretum Drive, P.O. Box 39, Chanhassen, MN 55317-0039
952-443-1400
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Chanhassen
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful blend of beauty and science”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful section of the university botany department that is open to the public. The per car fee is reasonable. The scale and ambition of the Arboretum is significant.
Taste and rate apples to help them decide if a new apple should go to market, enjoy the beautiful gardens and delightful buildings, enjoy a pretty good cafe upstairs.
Thumbs up from our kids too, aged 7-13.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    34
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
twin cities minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place to bring a sandwich and have a picnic lunch. I work nearby and we oftern grab a Jimmy Joh.s sandwich and enjoyt the beautiful landscaping.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I took this tour, as his parents enjoyed it. Had a beautiful sunny day, and took the tram. A great way to experience the fall season, and they decorated the grounds beautifully.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is a huge place to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great arboretum. There are a lot of spaces to explore, and it seems to cater to everyone. The trails nearby the visitor center are full of things to look at without a lot of walking. There are also several places that seemed accessible to those with limited mobility (though I cannot speak from experience here). You could take a tram tour, or hop in your own car and explore the 3 mile drive yourself. There are also extensive hiking trails.

We could not see it all in the 3 hours we were there. We were visiting friends in Minneapolis, and our friends planned to redeem their admission ticket for $$ off an annual membership, because they could see visiting this place throughout the year.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Find Gardener's Inspiration Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great place to discover and learn about new perennials to plant in your garden. My husband and I just bought a house and had landscaping projects on the brain this summer. We walked around the Arboretum and saw various plants that we liked which we then snapped pictures of the flowers and the sign with the plant's name. Then we went and found the plants at the nearby Halla Nursery store (which is right near the Arboretum). Previously, I didn't know the names of plants or even know all the different colors of Hostas and Daylillies that were available. The Arboretum provides an eye-full of inspiration for your landscaping projects!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota Landscape Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Landscape Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnesota Landscape Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.