We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shows” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanhassen Dinner Theatres

Chanhassen Dinner Theatres
501 West 78th Street, Chanhassen, MN 55317
952-934-1525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Chanhassen
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chanhassen Dinner Theatres is the nation’s largest Equity (professional status) dinner theatre company featuring multiple stages under one roof. In addition, CDT is Minnesota’s only year-round musical theatre and the largest tourist attraction in Carver County. Founded in 1968, Chanhassen is a producing theatre, completely creating and executing all production elements in the theatres’ own on-site scene, costume and properties shops by its own creative design team led by Resident Artistic Director Michael Brindisi.
midwest
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This area attraction has been around for years they have great food and super shows. Nice place to take a group to...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    48
    11
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to see Fiddler on the Roof and were celebrating my husband's birthday. The service was excellent and we upgraded to the roast beef that was beyond wonderful, cooked exactly right and very tender. We shared the Turtle Cheesecake for dessert and it was just enough of a sweet treat for us. The show was wonderful, the actors top notch, singing excellent, Wonderful cast and wonderful staging. We were at a table for 6 and our tablemates were friendly and outgoing. Our table was in the front, on the first tear above what used to be the orchestra pit, which now has tables. I would not recommend this lower area, as the folks down there, had to look up at the stage and it would give you a stiff neck. Our table mates had sat there previously and that was their complaint for that area. At our table, we were the middle couple at the table of 6 and it was kind of difficult to see around the heads of the couple beside us. I kept having to dodge and weave to see around the lady in front of me. We did "scoot" our chairs back just a bit but you aren't allowed to move your chair into the isles, for safety reasons. We have been to shows there before and it seems to be a perpetual problem. We will go back but I will be more choosey when I purchase seats to insure the best view of the stage. It is a great value for show and meal. Service is excellent and they go out of their way to please you. I would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Love, love, love the Concert Series”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have always been a fan of the dinner theater and this year they have had particularly good productions, but we especially love the Concert Series in the Fireside Theater. They are presenting great tribute bands and the price is right. We have seen almost every performance and been repeat customers for many. There is not a bad seat in this theater - highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT place !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went to see Fiddler on the Roof and LOVED it!!! Tevye was a "smaller" man than you expect Tevye to be.....however he had the voice of a GIANT. SOOOOOOOO good. Even my sister (who doesn't love plays) enjoyed the show. Dinner was great. Wish they had some less expensive choices for wine. But overall an absolutely delightful evening!!!! WOW....such talent!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to great shows and mediocre shows at the Chanhassen, but have enjoyed the experience each time. I'd highly recommend upgrading your entree; the basic options are OK, but some of the upgrades (IE - prime rib) are quite good. If you sign up for their birthday club (and mailing list) you'll get occasional coupons; I most frequently receive offers for show+dinner for the price of the show only.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanhassen Dinner Theatres also viewed

 

Been to Chanhassen Dinner Theatres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanhassen Dinner Theatres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.