We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people, wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldenburg House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldenburg House
Save Saved
You added Oldenburg House to your Saves list
604 Chestnut Avenue, Carlton, MN 55718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Carlton B&B and Inns
Sunfish Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“Wonderful people, wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Oldenburg was a great place for our "babymoon": quite, beautiful, quaint, and comfortable. What makes this place what is though are the hosts. Glenn and Helen are incredibly nice and a real treat to talk to. If you are looking for something tranquil and like good conversation, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I are so glad we booked a stay at Oldenburg!! The location is conveniently outside of the hustle and bustle of Duluth, but a close drive away from all Duluth offers. It's a beautiful and charming house to stay in, and what a picturesque yard! And right by the state park! There are wonderful hiking opportunities for a nature lover. Not only is the scenery amazing, the service and rooms are wonderful. The breakfast is delicious, and Helen and Glen are delightful and warm people who are refreshing to be around. And the beds... wow... so incredibly comfortable. The whole atmosphere is charming, relaxing, and invigorating. This place gets an 11 on a scale of 1 to10!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I live in south Minneapolis and It is always nice escaping the busy life of the city by visiting the Minnesota wilderness. The Oldenburg house is the perfect fit if you're not trying to go camping! Lovely hosts and beautiful scenery! We even saw a few deer in the backyard! ( if you can call it a yard it's more like a field) I would recommend this beautiful bnb to anyone wanting to escape or adventure Minnesota! Just a minutes walk to the jay cook state park, a wonderful place to take hikes! Love love love this place!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Going to the Oldenburg with my wife as winners of a midweek stay through the group Aging But Dangerous, we didn't know what to expect. It was new territory for us. Small town, close to Duluth, not far from our home in Minneapolis. Glenn gave us the tour of the spectacular grounds and both he and Helen made us feel as if we were staying with old friends. Which, it turns out, we had in spades, in common, through our involvement in music. We enjoyed getting to know Glenn and Helen through our conversations about 'old times' while enjoying the hearty breakfasts and later at night as we arrived home from our outings. The historic home was a treat to soak up, especially the porch. What fun!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at The Oldenburg House. We had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before so for first timers we were impressed. Glenn & Helen made us feel immediately like family. Breakfast was super both mornings we were there. Helen's casino pointers resulted in some winnings. Glenn's stories were very entertaining. What caught my husband's eye was some of the artwork on the walls.....Bob Dylan images won the heart of a big "Dylan" fan.
We can not wait to plan another visit!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Oldenburg house is a great place to stay when biking the Munger trail. The hosts Glenn and Helen are very friendly. The atmosphere is relaxed and the grounds are beautiful. The porches of the home are a great place to sit and unwind after riding the trail. Breakfast is made around your schedule which is not common in B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Oldenburg house is a beautiful property that borders an amazing state park with a rushing river. My husband had so much fun exploring the trails with Glenn, and letting him take us into the canyon where we got some amazing pictures. His mom was so nice and wanted to make sure we were comfortable. If you're hesitant on staying here for any reason, don't be. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldenburg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldenburg House

Address: 604 Chestnut Avenue, Carlton, MN 55718
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the wilderness of Jay Cooke State Park and the Willard Munger Trail, the Oldenburg House, accompanied by 7 acres of grounds, is nestled within regal nature in its full glory. The location offers privacy, open spaces, secluded paths and nooks, the friendliness of a small town amid the comforts of this historic house and property. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldenburg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.