We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff; Cheap and clean rooms; nice casino w/ many game options.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
Save
You added Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel to your Saves list
1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent staff; Cheap and clean rooms; nice casino w/ many game options.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This Casino was about 20 minutes from Duluth, MN so we rented the room and spent most of our days seeing tourist attactions in Duluth and up the North Shore. We spent the nights gambling and the mornings playing in the pool / hot tub. The room had 2 big beds and a big TV in 1 section and then a pull out couch and a TV in another section. Typical cramped hotel room style but a pretty good layout. Perfect for a family. Very cheap prices for the room/suite poolside. The staff was excellent. The Casino had many different games to play. They also had a game room for the kids. All in all, a good, cheap stay!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are great. 2nd floor is less noisy and still very accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    84
    40
    19
    22
See reviews for
70
94
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel has a newer tower with above average rooms that are very close to the casino but are a long way from the pool and a parking garage that is about a 10 minute walk through the casino and past the convention center.There is a below average buffet that has a smoking area next to the food area.The steak house is over priced and there is a very small deli next to the bingo that is also very smokey, with a limited menu, reasonably priced with decent sandwiches,bugers and pizza.The casino has a large assortment of slot machines,a black jack area and a small poker area.There is a decent golf course that is overpriced compared to many other great courses available in northern Minnesota.

Room Tip: if you intend to use the pool or have childen I recomend staying in the orginal hotel it has easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Black Bear is about 2-1/2 hours north onof Minneapolis/St. Paul I-35W so it was relatively easy to get to. It's only 10 or 15 minutes from Duluth, MN. The hotel is a typical casino hotel, but there are two sections to this hotel. The older section is just okay, but is dated. The newer tower section is much more up to date. If you don't book early enough you will end up in a smoking room which is what happened to my family. They have a decent buffet restaurant that wasn't too expensive. Good selection. They also have a little deli type retaurant for less expensive quick meals. The machines are no tighter or looser than any other casino, but they had a nice selection of machines. They could improve the interior to make it a more attractive. I felt a little like I was in a giant warehouse with the machine filling it. To their benefit, the smoke in the casino seems to be well ventilated so I didn't get engulfed by smoke unless I sat next to a smoker.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the newer tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

the best casino we have ever been to. WI casinos are terrible so decided to try black bear. can't rave enough about this place. very clean great food and the staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. wish we had a black bear casino in WI. the rooms are cheap and the views are great from the rooms. they do not rip you off like they do in WI

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Above average rooms, with great rates. Easy to find everything on the property. Casino is a good size,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in the older section of the hotel. It is very inexpensive and the room was fine other than the carpet really could stand to be cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great price (under $60.00) we stayed in the newer building on the 11th floor with a view of the golf course and ceiling to floor windows, couldn't beat the view. I don't gamble so the price is definitely right and the buffet was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex, tanning,and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.