We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton

AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
1716 Hwy 210, Carlton, MN 55718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here because the Black Bear casino was full. We stay there several times a year.
We also stay at other Americinns. It was quiet as all of them are. The window looked out on the
woods and it was a pretty view. Our room was clean and updated and smoke free.
The breakfast room was very small. We did not eat there. We went over to the casino for the
breakfast buffet we have enjoyed before. It is good to know we have an alternative.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back face the woods. The front is the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
27
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed at many AmericInn Hotels and this one was below the normal experience. The facility is aged and I believe they are in "upgrade" mode but the room we got wasn't one of them. The lobby was nice but small as well as the breakfast area. The pool was ok but wouldn't say it was great. Most of the hotel seemed clean but in need of updates. The room was fair size with the sink area for the bathroom outside of the bathroom by the front door. The vanity area was small. The air conditioning unit was noisy but worked. If this is the only hotel in the area available it wouldn't be a bad option but I am sure there must be other choices.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emo, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the AmericInn Lodge and Suites Carlton for one evening because we were attending a concert at the Blackbear Casino, and the Casino hotel rooms were sold out.

I must say that I am glad that we discovered this place, since it is a charming and quiet Inn very close to the venue, and more importantly SMOKE FREE! After attending the show and having dinner at the Casino, we walked around for 20 minutes through the gambling area, but my husband and I could not handle the smoke and were glad to return the AmericInn and its clean and fresh-smelling environment! We were happy to find out that the pool area was open 24 hours to adult guests, so we grabbed out suits and sat in the hot tub for an hour or so. The Temperature could have been hotter though, as it was luke-warm at best.
Our bed was comfy and the view from the room was a peaceful view of the forested area out back. I love the furnishings as they are well made and heavy wood, in excellent condition. The room was very clean and we were thankful for the free wifi in our room.

ALL THE STAFF, were friendly, helpful and speedy with check-in guest, needs and check-out!
The free continental breakfast is the same as most places, so we found enough to eat to feel satisfied, but I wish there was sausage patty instead of biscuit and gravy. Also, the yogurts could be lower in sugar as they were all very sweet. Overall, if we are going back to the area for any more concerts, I will look into this hotel first!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back, they are very quiet and have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was really disappointed in the quality of this hotel. Lobby area was okay but the room was dated and didn't feel clean. There was a heater lining 3 of the 4 walls in the hotel with big signs warning not to place anything near them, so our luggage was in the middle of the floor. Very dark and dreary thanks to the poor color choices when designing the rooms. Biggest issue was no elevator and no assistance getting luggage to my room. As a single female traveling alone with my child to see Bentleyville and the Polar Express for Christmas, it was a challenge to drag suitcases up and down a flight of stairs by myself while keeping an eye on my son. At least our room was right next to the stairs. Not sure how a multi story hotel can get away without having an elevator these days. Won't stay here again. Wish I had stayed across the way at the Black Bear.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved how clean the whole place is, especially their pool. The rooms are cheap and they have a fridge, microwave, and lcd tv in each room. You can open the windows in every room I've stayed in. They rooms are kind of small, but we managed 3 kids and 3 adults no proplem.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Heading to Black Bear Casino for a concert so decided to grab a room close by and stayed at AmericInn in Carlton, Mn. Room was clean, beds were ok, and the breakfast was great! Only issue is that the room was very dry. I know it has to do with this time of year, but yikes.. all of us could hardly swallow in the morning. Maybe it was all the smoke at the casino, but I know the room was dry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REMER
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

my wife and i stay there the weekend of the 16th. there was a bit of a problem at check but the lady behind the desk got it taken care of. The room was what we expected, a single queen with cable tv and refig, microwave and coffee maker. The only problem that concerned us was the semi that was parked in the parking lot with his generator running all night. when we said something to the front desk there had the driver move it. the breakfast was good with plenty of food, even when we got to it later then most. The eggs and biscuit and gravy were hot and tasty, The pool and hot tub was a relaxing feature, my wife and i had the place all to ourselfs. We'd stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton

Address: 1716 Hwy 210, Carlton, MN 55718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carlton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton is located off I-35 and opposite the Black Bear Casino. We are , approximately, 5.5 Miles from the Jay Cooke state park and 20 miles south of Duluth. The area has a lot of bike trails, walking trails, skiing and snowmobiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.