We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colville Suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannon Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
615 W Hoffman St, Cannon Falls, MN 55009   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cannon Falls B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eagan, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Colville Suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I had a great time returning to the Colville Suite for a two-night stay. It was as wonderful as the last time - we enjoyed the morning breakfasts on Friday and Saturday - the massages from Anna were just what the doctor ordered - we went back to the winery on Saturday - found the Ferndale Market and made some purchases to take back home - found a couple gift shops and bought some Christmas presents. It was everything we wanted it to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed two nights for a quick getaway and it was perfect! Granted, the location is nothing like the north shore, but it's quiet and you have several options of you want to explore around. The rooms are really pretty, of course some nicer than others, but we moved from a less nicer room to a great one (Writer's Loft) and I have to say both were pretty cool. Breakfast was good and service was excellent. We had breakfast with two other couples that had been there before, one of the couples at least two times before. I would definitely go back if I just wanted to have a nice romantic weekend with my wife again.

Be advised, they don't serve breakfast everyday. I believe is only from Friday to Monday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed at bed and breakfasts before but never one with as many perks as this one. Within walking distance of the Quill and Quilt (we are talking only half a block!) are several bars, restaurants, charming stores, and the best winery in Minnesota (at least in my opinion :). I really loved going out on the town and being able to get back to the house in minutes. Our room was amazing with all the charm of an old house and all the perks of a new one (jacuzzi, fireplace, and a large flat screen tv with a DVD player). They even had current DVD's we could borrow with no rental fee or check-in process.
We were told that breakfast was at 9:30 and because of our evening plans we didn't think we would be up that early the first night we were there. That was not a problem for them. They gave us a certificate for breakfast at the old market deli that was only a block away. Breakfast was excellent and we found out that the President visited there before the election so it was also a cool tourist stop. Breakfast at the b&b the next morning was even better than the Deli and it was cool talking with Polly who is the caretaker and chef. She told us the history of the house and about the ghost who had been rumoured to have been seen several times in the room we stayed in called Quilters Haven.
All in all, an amazing time. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: I upgraded to a king size room and felt like I was staying in a suite. The bathrooms are large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a pleasant place to stay while attending Parents Weekend at Carleton College. The little town of Cannon Falls was quaint and the local winery was a fun surprise find. The Quilt and Quill offered a nice, very spacious, room with a comfy bed. It was very disappointing that they could not move the time for breakfast to accommodate the guests who were staying there. The hostess mentioned that all of the guests were attending the activities at Carleton College and noted that none of the guests would be able to stay long enough for breakfast which wasn't served until 9:00 AM. So the Quilt and Quill didn't have the cost of serving breakfast to anyone it seems that weekend and the guests had to pay an additional cost of buying breakfast elsewhere. I always look forward to a great breakfast when I stay at a B & B and feel like this situation could have been avoided by offering to serve breakfast an hour earlier. The lack of breakfast made the price of the room seem high and took away some of the delight of staying at a B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillemonge1, General Manager at Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
This was a misunderstanding and we apologize for whatever we contributed to that situation. However it is completely false that breakfast is not included. The comments from this reviewer in regard to breakfast are simply not correct, and there is no breakfast is at best incorrect and extremely misleading. Full breakfast is served at 9:30 in the dining room every Saturday & Sunday morning, breakfast is included with every stay. The time is designated, as this is typically the best time for most people. In the event that this time does not work out for a customer, we do not change the time for breakfast in order to accommodate the one guest unless they are the only guest. If we were to change the time of breakfast, which is posted and communicated in many different ways, it would require clear communication and agreement from every other guest involved and this is neither fair or practical. Therefore, instead of changing the time of breakfast, we provide a certificate to have a full breakfast at an excellent breakfast café 2 blocks from the property for anyone that finds the pre-defined time to be inconvenient. We also offer a limited breakfast to be provided outside of the guest room at an earlier time. This is all clearly outlined in our policies online, included with all confirmations, and explained in the printed materials in the rooms. We are not equipped to provide breakfast like a restaurant, although the restaurant where we issue the certificate for breakfast can do this well – which is why we offer that option in response to an inconvenient time for the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed overnight in the Writers Loft room. Very nice room, the bathroom had a double shower and jacuzzi. The home is beautiful. It felt a bit awkward and cold beings the owner wasnt there to greet us nor give us a feel about the house's ara. Most other B&B's in the area had that warm cozy welcome. Beings it was a week day stay no breakfast was offered by the owner. We had to go to the local diner to receive our complimentary breakfast. Very impersonal. So, if your not at all caring about that and are going just to get the room then Id go for it.

Room Tip: Writers Loft was a nice but bit small and cozy with alot of highway noise. Id suggest the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed overnight in the Ruthy room and had a great time. The room was very clean and welcoming. Nice jacuzzi, excellent massage from Anna (highly recommend!!) , delicious breakfast and dinner at local restaurants (e.g. Mill Street Tavern and Old Market Deli). Both were within walking distance, reasonably priced, great portions and friendly staff. Very pleased with the food and also a big fan of the coffee offered within your room with splenda and creamers. Would definitely consider staying there again. Good location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I recently stayed at the Quill and Quilt for the one year anniversary of myself and my girlfriend. This bed and breakfast was everything I could have possibly imagined and I have nothing but wonderful things to stay about the quality of the breakfast, the room (Writer's Loft), the ambiance, the spa, and the proximity to restaurants, bars, wineries, and social activities. I had a fantastic experience and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and the Writer's Loft room to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The Writer's Loft room had an amazing bathroom and whirlpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast

Address: 615 W Hoffman St, Cannon Falls, MN 55009
Location: United States > Minnesota > Cannon Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cannon Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1897 Colonial Revival home has been turned into a bed and breakfast. A perfect blend of old world charm and modern convenience embraces you upon your stay here. A spa is also on premises if you need even more pampering. Biking, canoing, winery tour are just some of the local attractions. Every room has a fireplace, jacuzzi A/C and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quill And Quilt Hotel Cannon Falls
Quill And Quilt b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quill and Quilt Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.