We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Maplelag” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maplelag

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Callaway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maplelag
Save Saved
You added Maplelag to your Saves list
30501 Maplelag Rd., Callaway, MN 56521-9643   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callaway
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“First time at Maplelag”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was my first time at Maplelag and I was in the minority. This cross country ski resort is an annual migration for the majority of the guests, with some coming once a year for more than 30 years. The ski trails were amazingly groomed, the family owned resort was huge with a hot tub, nooks for talking, reading, email, conferences, and a neat gift shop. I remember hearing one of the owners say that managing the resort is a lifestyle and obviously a lifestyle the Richard's family enjoy and take pride in. Everyone was welcoming, professional, and gracious. This was my first visit, but I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for your first time visit to Maplelag and taking the time to write a review! We take pride in being a privately owned family run resort and will continue to provide the best experience possible for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

An excellent cross-country ski resorts. Accommodations are a bit rustic, but very comfortable. Do and excellent job of grooming the trails and the meals very good and plentiful. Unlimited hot drinks and cookies are very nice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and your loyalty to Maplelag. The cookie jars will always be waiting for you with hot beverage to accompaniment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

2 of my friends and I went here (all mid-twenties) for a weekend and it was awesome. The food was great and the concept of family dining was so much fun! We learned so much about cross country skiing from them and shared much laughter. The staff was accommodating and pleasant to talk to. We also rented their skis and took a lesson. All were great! We stayed in the Eider place and even though it didn't have a bathroom, it was easily accessible to the main lodge and wasn't a problem. My mattress wasn't the most comfortable but we had extra as there were about 6 beds in our cabin so I stacked them. Great place and great people all around!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for your recent visit and taking the time to submit a review. Much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the family style dining. We are always pleased to introduce new skiers to the sport. Thanks to your friends for showing you the ropes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This family owned and run cross country skiing, biking, wedding and conference destination is a diamond in the rough but once found becomes an annual place to gather with family and friends. I have been going there since the 80's with friends to x ctry ski and snowshoe on trails and tracks that are the best in the state. Whether the snow levels are low, the temps are cold, the winter is dragging, a visit to Maplelag will reignite your love of cold, snow and outdoor play. The owners and staff are friendly, the food is homemade and delicious, the cookie jar and warm drinks are never ending and the atmosphere is welcoming. Students from abroad on work visas add a spark to the table conversations and all ages come to enjoy an intimate yet relaxing time with others, on the trail or enjoying the amenities.

Room Tip: Cabins range in size from an intimate 2 person Log Cabin to a large group setting like Candy Store w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for the review! We very much appreciate your visits since the 80's! Wow, time is flying by! We will continue to have foreign staff as part of the Maplelag team. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our 4th visit to Maplelag over the holidays. The trails are absolutely beautiful and well groomed. We love the beautiful, enormous lodge with stained glass windows in the dining room, ample sitting areas on the 1st floor and upstairs, as well as the amenities downstairs: sauna, steam room and large hot tub, among other things. The food was better than ever, served family style and great home cooking. Our accomodations were comfortable and cozy. We stayed in the "Health Center". We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for your 4th visit to Maplelag and taking the time to write a reviews. We pride ourselves on home cooked made from scratch meals and will continue to do so! Look forward to having you for your 5th year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a two night 3 day x country skiing trip to Maplelag recently. We stayed in a reconstructed caboose and it was pleasantly warm, even with the 20 degree below zero temperatures outdoors! There is so much skiing to do and the lodge is beautiful, so we did not spend a lot of time in the caboose. The trails are amazing! The area is well groomed and we were told over 55k of trails available. We were surpised and very happy to have the owners' two Collies accompany us on one of our runs. They were so fun to run ahead and beside us. All of the staff was friendly, very generous, and accomodating. The owners are friendly and interact with the guests. It is interesting to hear the history of the area and learn more about the different collections and decorations that are part of the lodge. The food is outstanding. Everything is made from scratch. It is served family style. At first it was intimidating to sit with other skiers, but it actually turned out to be very nice getting know other people. This resort may not be for everyone, but we loved how we could disconnect from the business of the world and reconnect with nature and the beauty of the winter outdoors. The only down side was having to leave!! We for sure will be making it an annual trip!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and your visit this past winter. It was a cold one for sure and we are proud of everyone who took on the elements, bundled up and getting out on the trail. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We made a return trip to Maplelag this year for a winter holiday family vacation. We rented skis for two of us and were quickly out onto the trails. They had received plenty of snow and the great variety of ski trails were well groomed. My wife elected to snowshoe and followed the marked trail. The food at Maplelag is always a highlight, its served family style in the beautiful dining room. It's always great to get to know others who are visiting the resort during dinner. We spent time in the second floor library of the lodge completing puzzels and exploring the old national geographic magazines. After spending a number of hours outside we also took advantage of the steam room and hot tub. The guest rooms are rustic, warm and comfortable. I would highly recommend this winter destination if you are looking for great skiing and food.

Room Tip: There are a wide variety of rooms. Call in advance and let them know what is important to you and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaplelagResort, Public Relations Manager at Maplelag, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for your many visits to Maplelag and taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the room tips as well! We look forward to your return! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maplelag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplelag

Address: 30501 Maplelag Rd., Callaway, MN 56521-9643
Location: United States > Minnesota > Callaway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maplelag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.