We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar staff made our night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bar staff made our night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for a short, lovely weekend away with the family. Met amazing and friendly bar staff (Jessica and georgina) meal was very tasty but the restaurant service was not up to four star standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Meggette,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Brilliant to read our bar staff made your night, I will pass on your praise to the relevant people mentioned and also ensure our service standards are reviewed. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    293
    200
    105
    45
See reviews for
141
426
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is extremely comfortable. The food is top quality and well presented,service by efficient staff exceptional.
My only concern is the amount of stairs, anybody with limited mobility is going to struggle,
There is a grand staircase from the reception area but to get to my room which was at the back of the hotel I had 4 sets of stair to cope with.
The wedding venue , The tilden suite is approached from the large car park on the flat .The venue is approached from the hotel side is up a flight of steep stairs,,this should be pointed out at reception and advise given.
Hotel rooms were well equipped and comfortable

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Ann L,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. Lovely to read the wedding you attended you enjoyed the food and found our staff exceptional; I will ensure to pass your comments on and also highlight how the Tilden suite is advised to guests. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Ideally we would give it 3.5 stars as it was better than average but not a patch on other 4* we have stayed in. Building is lovely, room was large (room 106 - a delucxe room) and comfortable. Staff were all welcoming and friendly with the exception of some of the restaurant staff. There were a few staff in the restaurant who appeared very inexperienced, looked uncomfotable, miserable and were not knowledable about the menu. The food was mixed - some really good dishes but some very poor ones too. Service at dinner time was not up to 4* - no selection of bread, only offered bread once, had to ask for a re-fill of water twice, wine served so late my husband had nearly finished his course. I asked for ice-cream instead of brandy cream with dessert but it came with the advertised brandy cream. Little things but lots of them that could have been better.
Outside of the restaurant staff were uniformally great.
Overal we were actually pretty happy with our stay - it should have cost about £500 for DBB for 2 nights but as we had vouchers to use it cost us about £200. We would have been disappointed to have had the stay we had for £500.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear DrKJ1,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here with us. It was lovely to read you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed one of our lovely Deluxe rooms. I will be taking your comments back to the team to ensure our staff are fully briefed and review training to ensure our high standards are delivered throughout the hotel. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

i was here for the weekend i arrived on Friday, check in was lovely all information i needed was provided and the service was brilliant, room was nice everything we needed it was at the back of the hotel which was a walk but it was fun getting lost as we placed bets who could get to their rooms first. we went to evening meal started very well until a young blonde came to the top of the stairs shouting loudly to another member of staff and then she started swearing the room heard this it was off putting and disrupting our meal, we felt more sorry for the young man on the end of this vial girl. Who employs these people? Surely if she had a issue with this person she should off pulled him to one side not shout it across the dining room! Apart from this vial girl the other staff where helpful and would help in every way they could to assist us. We would stay here again but only if this girl wasn’t working

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear 453paulw62,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. I was upset to read of the experience you recieved during dinner and will investigate further to resolve this issue in order to maintain our high standards of service. I'm glad the other aspects of your stay went well. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I went for a romantic weekend with my partner. Overall, the hotel was fantastic but the standard of food in the A la Carte restaurant was very poor. The portion sizes were very small and the quality of the food was very substandard for the price. It is a complete rip-off! Give it a miss and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Esther O,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here with us. Great to read you had a fabulous stay with your partner. I must apologise that the dining experience wasn't to expectation; I will ensure to pass these comments onto our Chef so he is aware. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff were all very freiendly- hotel clean and pleasant surroundings. A very relaxing short break. We had a tasty meal in the restuarant- plenty of choice in the 3 course dinner selection. Well equipped room with vewry comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Debbie W,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent stay here with us at Shrigley Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Collection. I am delighted you had a relaxing short break and great you enjoyed the choices available. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked two bedrooms for one night. One Premier double and one standard family room to sleep 3. Both rooms had dated decor. Bathrooms did not function properly (toilet & shower) and were not very clean with mold. Teh beds in both rooms were absoultely terrible, you could feel the springs. None of us slept well. Towels and robes were very used and had a musty smell to them.
The story continued when I visited the leisure club with my nine year old son. Changing rooms were very dated and unclean.
I would not stay here again unless there was no other option or if the hotel had received a massive modernisation. Location and grounds are fantastic and the staff pleasant enough but the issues I mentioned are in my opinion more important

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jsuman,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. I must apologise for the experience you recieved. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which will target the issues you've highlighted in the rooms and our Leisure club; I will also pass your comments onto the relevant departments. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future to see the positive changes we are making.

Kind Regards

Saffron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.