We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too big, too busy. No soul.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Save Saved
You added Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pott Shrigley
Esher, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Too big, too busy. No soul.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting ..true BUT too many guests .. Very poor service.. Didn't even make up our room... Food took 50 minutes to arrive ... Vegetable soup absolutely tasteless, pasta dish uninspiring, steak tough and chewy! Breakfast was 'pile it high' a bit like school dinners. Really didn't live up to the period images. A real let down.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear crossruff,

I was upset to read your comments following your recent stay here with us, I can assure you that your experience, especially in our restaurant, is not normal. I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback, we are always working hard to improve our standards and we will use your comments for such purposes. I hope that I can one day weclome you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    233
    155
    86
    38
See reviews for
124
346
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived via rear enterance from the carpark. Nice enough hotel, asked about upgrades at reception on arrival and offered superior room for £30 extra: bigger room, robe slippers etc.

Upon entering the room room looked standard. Beds quite lumpy and topper thin. The windows were wide open with no way of closing them, we did try but sash windows and top area open. Shower water hot but not very powerful.

No robes or slippers in the room.

Went and used the pool which was adequate although a hosepipe running across the floor and into pool, with cold water running in. Jacuzzi too hot and smelt of chemicals.

Went back up to the room to get ready for evening meal and made use of the hair dryer only for my hair to get stuck in the motor at the back and we had to cut my hair free. Upon further inspection. The hair dryer was faulty and had no guard protection on the back.

Went and reported to reception about the hair dryer incident and that we paid or upgraded room and no robe etc, and dryer issue was skipped Over with no mention or appologies. Other than saying there must be a house keeping issue and will speak with duty manager as another room had not had robe and slippers.

Dinner was painfully slow, brioche burnt, drinks took too long and due to this didn't bother waiting for desert but told we have to pay for side order even though we've not had desert.

Very disappointed so much so , didn't bother to go to the bar for drinks after and have just gone to bed.

Now sat in the room writing this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear pudding1234,

I was disappointed to read of the issues you faced whilst staying here recently, we pride ourselves on offering great hospitality and service and i'm sorry if that's not what you received. i am informed by my duty manager that he met with you on checkout to discuss and resolve the problems. I can assure you your stay is not indicative of our usual high standards and I hope it hasn't put you off returning.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Took advantage of a deal on superbreaks expecting a mediocre hotel due to price but found it amazing value in a gorgeous setting. All staff (and there were plenty of them) were helpful and friendly, the food was absolutely lovely including amazing breakfast. The spa facilities were very good. If I was to fault the weekend I really would be nit-picking. I would be very happy to try other puma hotels if this one is anything to go by :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sue M,

I was delighted to read your positive comments following your recent stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group. I'm really good our hotel and team exceeded your expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back here, to to any of the other hotels in the Puma Collection, in the near future

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Shrigley hall for one night prior to flying from Manchester airport. At just over £100 for bed breakfast and evening meal, with a bottle of wine thrown in, it was excellent value.

The room was clean with a comfortable bed, although it was a trek of almost Himalayan proportions to get to it from the lobby. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you have mobility issues. To compound this problem, there are only two disabled parking spaces.

We managed to cope with the trek, and it was well worth it, the food was first class and the service was excellent. Kyle offered food and wine recommendations that were well worth listening to, and Aiga was a huge help in getting us a very early breakfast, helping ensure we didn't miss our flight.

I would use this hotel again when travelling from Manchester airport.

One last tip.... Don't park on the grass, you may incur the wrath of the gardeners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Bluetealeaf,

I was delighted to read your positive comments following your recent stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group. I was especially pleased to receive your praise for both Kyle and Aiga, these comments have been passed onto them. I hope you find reason to return and stay with us very soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was a beautiful setting, but do not try to find your way without good directions needs better signage for the motorist. Also you could do with someone to find your room for you as we were up and down corridors for ages. Beware the chinese type of packaged tied food on the pre- wedding buffet. Apart from that and the lack of air conditioning in the venue rooms we had a good couple of days, rooms comfy and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. We are currently looking into the addition of more signage around the hotel and i'm pleased to say that both our function rooms are now air conditioned. I'm delighted that apart from these tweeks you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We attend this hotel for my cousins wedding in 2012, it was amazing to arrive up to such a beautiful hotel. we got checked in no problem and went off to find out room, it is a big hotel and had quite a few stairs which was a bit difficult for the older members of the wedding party but stairs are stairs after all. the grounds of the hotel are amazing and the entrance hall of the hotel was also. The staff were very friendly and had some good banter out of the bar staff. We both would stay here again with out hesitation. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear jayandemma,

I was delighted to read your positive comments following your recent stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group, to attend your cousin's wedding. I'm extremely pleased to read that you would highly recommend us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancasire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location was stunning , three course meal and afternoon tea was outstanding , breakfast fantastic , bar food was pretty god too . The room was spacious and bathroom very clean. There were lots of steps throughout the building which was a problem for my husband who was on crutches with a broken leg ad I'm not sure how well those in wheelchairs would cope . Overall though I would definitely go back again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sally M,

I was delighted to read your positive comments following your recent stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group. It is true that due to the period nature and location of the hotel there are a number of steps; however, we do have rooms that are accessible just by lifts for those who find steps difficult. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.