We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa visit - Taster day leaves bad taste” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club to your Saves list
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spa visit - Taster day leaves bad taste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Myself and 3 Friends visited Shrigley Hall for a taster day in March 13 and we can only say that we were thoroughly disappointed and upset with the occasion.

The most serious of the incidents on the day was when one of the Ladies SLIPPED and FELL down the steps from the shower room to the changing room. The cause of the full was due to the shower trays flooding because they were blocked with hair and dirt and the water was sitting on the floor and stairs. There was no slip mat at the edge of the stairs and no signs to make anyone aware of the slippery surface. The lady has a very large black bruise on her back and red marks on her arm as a result and is still continuing to recevied medical attention.

On arrival to the hall we were given the treatment forms to complete and supplied with gowns, towels and slippers but there was no introduction or direction given, we weren’t shown to the changing rooms or told anything about the place. We were not even aware that a £1 coin would be required for the lockers. We proceeded to the steam room – couldn’t find the shower which is normally expected. The steam room was very old and looked unclean and felt uncomfortable – you hear all sorts of stories about bacteria in water and risks to health, we also found the spa / hot tub to be very cool pool with hardly any activity from the jets.

We managed to find the water cooler in the corridor – there was no offer of refreshments so we all proceeded to have our treatments which we all agreed were adequate.

Following this we went back to the changing rooms to shower and change. It was then that the fall took place. As well as the 2 of blocked shower trays the only other shower was out of action, a soiled nappy on the floor and a general feeling of it being unclean. This was all reported to the manager as were leaving but his reasurrence was just that he had checked the changing area and showers the previous night, and had put up the sign about the borken shower. He stated that they could not be checked during the day as he could not enter whilst they are being used and there were no females available to do this. They are not being checked throughout the day which you’d expect – even public houses have staff check their facilities on a regular basis so why shouldn’t we expect that of a facility of a 4 start country club! This also applied to the pool area as there appeared to be no staff checking or cleaning.

The hair straighteners also did not heat up but took the money.

As I’ve said we were disappointed and upset with our visit, but more importantly one of us was injured because of it. We all regularly attend facilities like Shrigley hall and we could only compare it to a local authority facility and felt that it was in no way a 4 star facility. Having spent a weekend at Mottram hall myself I would think yours is a 2 star leisure club and should not be advertised as anything more than this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Debra M,

Thankyou for your review following your recent stay here. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience, I understand my leisure club manager has been in conversation with you about this personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    292
    199
    105
    45
See reviews for
141
424
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on 4 occasions and to date have never been let down.
The service from the staff is very good. They are polite and go out of their way to be helpful.
The rooms vary greatly but all are nice and clean. I have had a few room upgrades which are all very nice. The views around the hotel over the golf course are fantastic.
The food although at times are expensive is very good and to a high standard. Although I say expensive it's what I come to expect when staying in a four star hotel.
The spa/pool area is very good. Very children friendly (some hotels I've stayed in children are limited to certain times)
This has to be one of my favourite hotels and always enjoy returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Warren D

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group and was pleased to read that we are one of your favourite hotels. I look forward to welcoming you back for stay number 5 soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Party of 10 ladies celebrating a 60th birthday, we had an amazing time, the champagne and chocolates on arrival certainly started our weekend with a fizz, the beauty treatments was fabulous and the ladies in the spa were brilliant, the evening meal in the restaurant on both evenings was fabulous, The rooms were excellent although for the disabled would be quite a challenge - make sure you inform when booking if you have walking difficulties. Reception and Restaurant staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you have walking difficulties, the hotel is huge and some of the rooms are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear LizGaulter,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group and was pleased to read your positive feedback on our leisure and spa facilities and the food and staff in the restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay wth us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

i stayed here with 5 others for my partners 40th. service was terrible will not be back again i have no idea how its possible for this place to be 4*. breakfast was sloppy and cheap foods used. and reception was a joke no information on were things where.. so we had to go on a hunt to find spa... once it was found 7 lounge chairs for 163 guests that weekend.. JOKE.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear conniemckay,

Thankyou for your review following your recent stay here with us. I'm sorry that you did not receive the usual high standard of customer experience that I know we deliver. In response to your comments we have recentley updated our breakfast and we will be investing in more loungers for the pool in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A delightful experience, especially as the hotel wasn't very busy.
You certainly get plenty of exercise walking to/from the rooms up/down stairs.
The room was clean, comfy and well appointed.
The bar menu was average and daily specials were reasonable value. The breakfasts were hearty enough and up to standard.
Didn't get to experience the leisure / golf facilities, maybe next time.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from reception will be quietest if you like a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear peterehc

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group andI hope you have the opportunity to return soon to enjoy our golf and leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our second visit to Shrigley Hall as it was a Barcelo Hotel last year. The place was really nice as we remembered. Best things, location, pool, staff, bedrooms, food in the bar and of course breakfast. The staff are really nice, just the right amount of attention without "hovering" over you.

Not a bad word to say about this place, we will return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front were nice, a premium double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Gary W,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group and was pleased to read your positive feedback on our breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay wth us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for two day conference, unfortunately did not have time for the Golf, Spa and swimming however the facilities are excellent. Hotel has so much character part of it like a church, there is old and new part I stayed in a large room in the old part and hoped I did not get to see the hotel ghost. Room clean and comfortable with views over the open countryside. the setting is very beautiful. Meeting facilites excellent and staff throughout the hotel were always polite, smiling and very helpful, sevice levels very good. Food was as good as you could get in a very expensive restaurant I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and if you want a wedding in a beautiful location this is just the hotel for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Guest Relations Manager at Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear 153George1954

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Shrigley Hall, part of the Puma Hotels Group and was pleased to read your positive feedback on our Tilden suite. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay wth us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Shrigley Park Pott Shrigley Nr. Macclesfield, Pott Shrigley SK10 5SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pott Shrigley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pott Shrigley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Golf and a beautiful Spa, ideal for his and her breaks. Overlooking the edge of The Peak District Immerse yourself in the beauty of Shrigley Hall Hotel. Just 15 miles south of Manchester, the 262 acres of spectacular countryside and an 18-hole championship golf course should keep you busy. If not, you're on the edge of the Peak District National Park and surrounded by world-famous gardens and gorgeous country houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shrigley Hall Hotel
Barcelo Macclesfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.