We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Champps Americana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champps Americana
1200 W. County Rd. 42, Burnsville, MN
952.898.5050
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Owatonna, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We were a group of 4 who stopped by on Saturday 1/17 on our way back from the Minnesota Wild game.

Walked in were seated across from the bar at a window table. We sat for 15 minutes without a server or bartender helping us. They all knew we were there, but bartenders were more interested in watching the games on TV or talking with the guests at the bar. Server noticed us been just blew us off as she was catering to a table of 10.

We got up and left without a word from any of the staff.... Needless to say I will never step foot into Champps in Burnsville again...

Side note: We went down the block to TGIF and had a great time, spent over$100 and even received a free appetizer because of Champps futility.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Can't believe they're closing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This place is being torn down, to be replaced with a chick-fil-a and starbucks in separate buildings. This is a very appealing building visually, doesn't look like your typical bar from its brick facade. I shudder to think what this will do to this corner. This place has excellent food and atmosphere, so I'm curious as to why they are bowing out of this market.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another place that keep lowering portion size and increasing prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Champps food is good, but not a great value. This location always has pretty good service. Get the french onion soup, some of the best! Sadly, they keep increasing prices, so its really not that affordable any more. For example, they used to have 2 soup sized, cup and bowl. Now they have 1 size only and its smaller than the old bowl, but costs more than before. They also have burger mondays, andy burger for $5.99. One of the few things that really is a good deal. But great place to hang out and watch a game and have some better than "bar food" food.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Champs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Champs is a nice little sports bar with pretty good service! I prefer to get the fish & chips or the French dip sandwhich! I have also heard the nachos are super good as well! I think it's pretty average pricing! Overall I would suggest this if you are looking for a place to eat in Burnsville!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Champps is super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always a good atmosphere and the food is consistently good. Service is generally first rate as well. Prices are a little high, but you get what you pay for. One of our favorite places to eat. Sports TV everywhere.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champps Americana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.