We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jensen's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jensen's Cafe
12750 Nicollet Ave South, Grande Market Place, Burnsville, MN 55337
9528080500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jensen's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Burnsville
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Burnsville Parkway
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had! Nice little café, great service and worth the price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went here for a business lunch one day because of the high rating on here, but we were very disappointed. Nothing special, okay food, okay service, meh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Had great start went downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I live near this restaurant. I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner there. I begrudgingly go there once a month for a breakfast meeting, just because "that's where it's always been." Their cafe potatoes are the worst. They are always, always dry and bland. The only way you can get hashbrowns is if they are smothered in cheese. I wish they would serve plain hashbrowns. The food quality and personal connection has gone down. They used to actually squeeze their oranges in a machine and make their own fresh juice. They still call it fresh squeezed but it's done elsewhere and tastes like any Perkins or store bought stuff. All oranges are fresh squeezed at some point along the line, but it only has a quality taste if it's served immediately after being processed, not a week ago at some factory. They've really got to do something about their measly potato choices and dry, bland cafe potatoes. Potatoes can make or break a breakfast meal. Atmosphere cute. Service usually good--once in awhile not. Food is fresh and higher quality than most with exceptions of aforementioned--that break the deal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Horrible Food and Horrible Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family and I have been going to Jensen's Cafe for years. We will not be returning.
Today the service was horrible, our food was served 45 minutes after we ordered. Our server was the lady with the star tattoo on her chest so my recommendation is do not sit in her section. I had to ask for syrup, it did not come with the food and after waiting 5 mins (after the food was served) I had to walk up to the front and ask for it.
I would strongly recommend that NO ONE order the Parmesan Walleye, one person in my party found so many bones in his fish he was worried about them sticking in his throat. Apparently the staff forgot to filet the fish before they breaded it.
Another person ordered the stuffed french toast combo. The bacon was way over cooked the ends were black and it was very tough to eat. The potatoes weren't even cooked at all. The only part of the meal that was good was the stuffed french toast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went there for breakfast and loved it! Extensive menu, quality ingredients and large portions. Great service. Will definitely go back the next time we are in Burnsville.
, MN.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jensen's Cafe also viewed

 
Burnsville, MN
 

Been to Jensen's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jensen's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.