We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Yeras Eve 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porter Creek Hardwood Grill

Porter Creek Hardwood Grill
14201 Burngarten Drive, Burnsville, MN 55306
952-698-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 118 Restaurants in Burnsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New Yeras Eve 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

New years Eve can be a tough night to do well - A lot of places seem to want to up the volume. That being said I would not give that label to Porter Creek in Burnsville. It was very good! We had reservations for 7:30 and @ 7:30 we were brought to our table on the Porch, a very warm and festively lit space. Tyler was our waiter and he did a wonderful job taking care of us without smothering us, He was knowledgeable about the food and wine and never needed to look far for him. The chicken chowder soup was delicious as was The 8 oz. filet that came perfectly done to my liking. I would go back for a special occasion!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Warm, comfy and inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant has the warmest and most welcoming atmosphere. The food was quite good but not especially bountiful (small portions). The prices were a little on the high side as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We went with a group of seven, early reservations as we had a one year old with us. We were seated right away. The food and drinks were very good and ok priced, salads and sides were extra. We were celebrating a birthday and got a free desert for the birthday boy. Service and atmosphere were great, we sat next to the fire place. Food service and atmosphere are a 5, got a little pricy for the food and drinks with all the extras.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great service and atmosphere, hit and miss food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We came with a large holiday party, and our table was ready and the service from start to finish was excellent. Even though we came relatively early, we were not rushed, and were attended to very well.
We started with the ribs (excellent flavor and meaty), Ahi tuna (nice flavors and the salad-saw accompaniment was tasty), and Walleye fingers (good). Then my steak came overdone (I ordered medium rare, a bit cold with the blue cheese that was melted on top now hardened), while others with the lamb shank were very happy. A brief survey resulted in similar widely mixed reviews from great to so-so for the various other items ordered.
Atmosphere was upbeat and nice, and also nice because it was not so noisy that you could not hav e a conversation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get off the sports bar wanna be attempt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went there for the my first time Saturday the 7th, 2013. When I made the reservations, I asked for a 6:15, got a 6:30, and a promise that if we came early, they'd try to seat us early. ( we were on a very tight time schedule) Well, they did just as they said they would! Got seated by 6:20. My first impression was 'wow, what a wonderful, upscale but not pretentious place. People were dressed nicely, having conversations, being comfortable, and then I saw it... a damn TV with a football game on!
Excuse me but I didn't come to pay 9 dollars for a flight of bourbon, 27 dollars for the best lamb shank I've ever had, to listen to a damn football game! I actually started looking for the cheesy beer bottle shaped table cards with bucket-o-beer and wing prices.
What ever happened to dinner music?
Who ever thought a football game would go well with fine, sophisticated dining evidently has no class.
I will say, the food was great, Brandon our server will be requested again, but please, get rid of the damn TV's. People just might be able to survive!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter Creek Hardwood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Porter Creek Hardwood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porter Creek Hardwood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.