We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving, still work to do.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Florida Residents Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Improving, still work to do.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I thought I would provide an update since my last review was somewhat scathing. We did not stay in rooms this time around, just stayed onboard our boats. I was there for 4 nights over the last two weeks, mainly for fishing, but we did use some of the amenities of the resort.

Progress has been slow, but there has definitely been some improvements on the property. The biggest improvement is the opening of the main restaurant once again. The food is mediocre and the service still as slow as you can imagine (I am used to Bahamian travel, but this is really, really slow). The bartender was extremely friendly and while somewhat slow, poured a pretty good drink and (except for the Rumrunners which were not even close to right). She made a spectacular Piña Colada with fudge and boiled sugar.

On two of the nights we chose to eat fresh caught fish so we cooked on the boat and purchased side dishes of vegetables and peas and rice. That turned out to be an excellent choice. It was not only a good value, but very well prepared.

The landscaping and premises have definitely improved from two years ago and the marina bathrooms are now a C+ instead of the F I gave them two years ago. We didn't bother checking out the gym this time around. The last experience left us not looking to chance wasting our limited time their.

One of the friendly dock office staff has been moved into the hotel office and showed great improvement in the staff in their. Perhaps we may be willing to give the rooms another chance one of these days.

It's still expensive, but they do offer travel deals. It's still limited on activities, but the location is fantastic. The pool was excellent and warm, despite cool weather which warmed up later.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for giving Old Bahama Bay another visit and for recognizing the efforts that are being made across the resort. Please know that a new management company is taking over the Dockside Grille in March with the intention of improving both food quality and consistency as well as service. Our activities roster is expanding all the time and we now have a full time activities director, Harold, who hopefully you had the chance to meet. You are correct that we do offer special travel incentives whenever possible, so please do sign up for our newsletter if you have not already, so you can always be up to date on resort deals and events. We hope you will try the rooms again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    83
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
66
103
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our first trip to the Bahamas. We were looking for clear water, nice beaches and a quiet retreat. We really liked Old Bahama Bay. My husband, our teenage daughter and I all really enjoyed our rooms, the food at the Straw Bar and the staff. My daughter got a massage. The beach is beautiful. The pool is beautiful. The grounds are well kept. We did not rent a car. We used cabs or drivers from the resort instead. This worked out well. We stopped at a store on our way from the airport to get a few snacks. We think we will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as far as I can tell. We had a two bedroom unit which is close to the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are so pleased that you choose Old Bahama Bay for your first Bahamas vacation destination and we appreciate receiving your kind review. It always means a lot to us when the efforts of all our team are appreciated (from the masseuse to the maintenance team)! We do hope to have you and your family back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just came back from a week of relaxation. Every morning and evening a different sunrise and sunset. We did go in the off season so not as many activities but it was so peaceful it felt like we were the only ones there. Will positively go again. Every one was so nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Get on close to the ocean. It makes it steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving your kind review. We will certainly pass your compliments onto all the staff. Best compliment of all is that you will return for another visit! We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It would have gotten excellent or A+ ratings all around except that the bathroom facilities used by the yachters are dismal. We were there in our boat so room comments are not appropriate but the property is spectacular - spectacular Tiki restaurant (should be open later though), spectacular beach, spectacular marina, spectacular people (even customs authority and that is saying something). They obviously work hard to make it a great place and they succeed. I would return any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your marina stay with us. The staff will be so happy to see your kind words. We will go look at those bathrooms right away, as they should never be anything but spotless! We hope to have you back with us very soon – any maybe next time take advantage of our boater specials for room night stays as well…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing like being greeted in the morning by the ocean, lapping in gentle waves, onto a beautiful white sand beach...just steps from your suite. Lots of activities...bicycling, hobie cat sailboats, volleyball on the beach, snorkeling, or just napping on the beach in a hammock..all included in your room cost. The staff at both the restaurants and hotel were outstanding. We had some difficulty accessing wifi from the rooms in the building farthest from the lobby so Dawn graciously moved us to one of the suites in the Oleander building....awesome! There was never a request too difficult and all quickly handled with a smile. The food at both restaurants is excellent! We were looking for some variety and also ate at the Pink Pearl Restaurant...It is also excellent, across from the beach in Bootle Bay on the south side of the island, and 10 minutes from OBB. The Pink Pearl Restaurant will provide complimentary transportation to/from by calling 349-4006.

All in all...Old Bahama Bay is the place we come back to; year after year. It can't be beat for the serenity, beauty, and friendliness of their staff!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your kind review. We will certainly share with the hotel and restaurant staff. We always love hearing that our guests appreciate the serenity and beauty of West End. We hope it will not be another year before we are able to welcome you back again at Old Bahama Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Driving to the resort can be a little deceiving. Run down and no restaurant or shops to be found.
Once I pulled in everything changed! The rooms are in separate bungalows throughout the grounds. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are fantastic. Full fridge, washer, stove top, and microwave. A beautiful 4 poster bed and a balcony with big wicker chairs overlooking the ocean. You can borrow bikes to ride around, get something to eat at the tiki hut by the ocean, or just kick back in a hammock on the ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your review. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We will share with the staff as well. Hopefully you will be able to return again soon and kick back again at Old Bahama Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Bahama Bay in December 2013 on a visit to Freeport. It was a pleasant treat! The staff were courteous and eager to assist with any of our needs. Having a delicious Bahamian breakfast by the beach, while enjoying the great honest service, made us really feel like we were in paradise!
The suite that we stayed in had a classic island feel, even though it had all the modern amenities that you would want. It was well detailed, clean, quite ad cosy. After spending the afternoon biking, walking or kayaking in the sun, it always felt rewarding to return to.
Thank you to the staff and management at Old Bahama Bay. We are looking forward to our next visit! We can't wait!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed using the kayaks and bikes and such. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments - we will certainly share your review with the team. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Shark Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is now open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.