We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's better in the Bahamas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
B&B Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's better in the Bahamas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can't say enough about the staff. We stayed on site at a private home and had all the amenitys of the resort available to us. We stayed for a week and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff did everything they could to make our vacation perfect. Harold the activities director was delightful, accomadiating, friendly and we loved him! Kale showed us the island and I highly recommend him instead of renting a car, our experience was diffenitely enhanced because of his knowledge of the island and its happenings. The resort was clean, food great and we'll absolutely go back!

Stefanie Lagana

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    75
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
62
91
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort is on one of the most beautiful beaches with unobstructed views. The resort has a nice pool area, a fitness center and a activities center that can arrange for quite a number of things to do. Kayaks and bicycles are available for guests to enjoy. The spacious rooms are very inviting and the views are really nice too. If you want to relax this is the place to go. Take a good book and enjoy the fantastic views and wander through the lovely garden walks around the resort. Another thing we like about the resort its intimate size. Because of this you end up getting to know some of the other guests and you also get to know the staff on a first name basis. And if you love to eat fresh fish you will never find better fish anywhere. The restaurants do a great job and Chef Jessie is amazing with the many ways she prepares fish. A visit to this resort should be on your bucket list.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be similar and have a ocean view. They have two stories so we prefer the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation at Old Bahama Bay. Sounds like you made the most out of everything that the resort has to offer, particularly the relaxation part, as we do strive to provide tranquil and relaxing getaways. We will pass your compliments onto Jessie as well. . Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I bought a vacation package for this property through LivingSocial. It was a gift to my cousin who just passed the Bar.

We went in late August, which is most people know is a terrible time to go to the Bahamas as it's in the middle of hurricane season. Or you run the risk of this weather being unbearably hot and humid.

We arrived late on Sunday evening and the hotel sent a van to pick us up for a charge. The airport is about a 40 minute drive from the property. Driver was very friendly and informative as we drove through the island in the dark, even though we were able to really see much he was able to point out some landmarks for us. This Island is very impoverished and there's not much to see...we were a little bit nervous actually. But once we entered the property we realized we were in a really lovely place.

You can see from the pictures this is not a traditional hotel with multiple rooms. It is actually several "houses" , each of which contains somewhere between 4 to 8 rooms. We had a junior oceanfront suite. It came with two queen size beds and a wet bar, with microwave and mini fridge. I had some friends stay there and they had a full kitchen in their room, not sure with the difference there is, but I didnt need a full kitchen.

We woke up Monday morning to a beautiful sunny day in the Bahamas. We walked right out of our room onto the beach, then 50 feet from the pool and tiki bar where they serve breakfast and lunch. I am from the south, so I love grits. We were so happy to see them on the menu we ordered them with eggs, so we felt like we were having a southern breakfast! Lunch there was also excellent...they really know how to prepare conch better than any place I've ever had. We had dinner over in the main dining room, with excellent fresh grouper one night, fresh flounder another night. Very good food. Great service.

The weather topped out at 82° and sunny with no humidity that day. We borrowed snorkels from the very friendly activity staff and went snorkeling right off of the beach. All within 50 feet of our room. We were able to get many conch shells, sea biscuits, Sandollar's etc. The pool is very large and well-kept. We spent aggregate of two hours in it.

That is representative of the four days that we spent there. Very low-key, not much of a nightlife, but that's not what we were looking for. We just wanted to relax. We both have very high-pressure jobs.

This location is also very popular among boaters. They would Dock their boats at the large marina by the main dining room and come in for dinner or lunch.

We did note that they were probably only 15 or 20 guests total of the property during our stay. This contributed to the availability of the lounge chairs set up on the beach with umbrellas for us, and maybe the staff attentiveness. We calculated if the resort was completely full there would not be enough lounge chairs for everybody on the beach.

Overall this was a wonderful experience, thanks to the staff and also mother nature for giving us a whole four days of beautiful weather when every other year it's been unbearably hot/humid.

One piece of advice, bring your bug spray and Benadryl anti-itch cream. There are sand fleas everywhere. So make sure you spray your ankles and your legs and your limbs before you leave your room!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask For oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. It sounds like you had a terrific and relaxing holiday. As you noted, some of our suites have mini kitchens and some have full kitchens – there is no difference in the rates between the two types. Any guest just need request what room type they would like when making reservations, otherwise reservations will just place each guest in best room available. We will pass along your compliments to the staff and we certainly hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I wanted a few days to relax, be pampered and enjoy each other. At Old Bahama Bay, we did this and so much more! The property us beautiful, the people that work there are wonderful (very professional with a personal twist) you feel like you have known them all your life.
The resort has gorgeous beaches, a huge dock for any size boat/yacht and the rooms are suites- it makes you feel like you are royalty! The food was delicious...
We enjoyed our stay so much, we were sad when it was time to leave.. We have stayed at Old Bahama Bay twice and we are planning our third trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your review. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We will share this with all of staff as well. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Last time I was at this property was when I was 15 years old via yacht...that was 53 years ago (Was a Jack Tar resort). Although we didn't stay there the place looked delightful and brought back a lot of good memories...I learned to drive there in a Morris Minor Woody. The old hotel is long gone as is the huge salt water swimming pool...but nice secluded place and we'll be there on our next trip back to GBI.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We can’t believe you stayed away so long. It must look so different to you now, but thank you for saying we still look ‘delightful’. We can’t wait for you to come back and actually stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The resort itself is amazing but very secluded. We loved the view and how each room has its own amazing view! We got there on a Tuesday and we basically had the resort to ourselves for a couple of days. There are a ton of free activities at the resort too. The main thing I would suggest si to update and broaden the menu at the restaurant. As a suggestion to future guests I would say bring things for breakfast and lunch because the rooms have full kitchens.

Thanks to Limpy, our driver for the trip. He was amazing and such a treat! He shared a lot abut the resort and island.

Room Tip: The newest building is the last one on the opposite side of the marina. We stayed on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments noting that there are many activities enjoy at the resort. While the resort does not operate the on site restaurants, we can tell you that both restaurants do offer daily specials when the resort is a little busier (as you noted, this is our quiet time of year). Will also pass along your compliments to Limpy. We certainly do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would be remiss if I didn't say how delightful my visit was and how grateful I am to managment and staff for facilitating it. The resort is well worth the journey to the end of the island, as it provides the welcome any guest away from home would appreciate; namely, comfort, conveniences and style, essential ingredients that go a long way in ensuring satisfaction and return business.

While it is positioned off the "beaten path" and tucked away from Freeport, it has a strong flavour of Grand Bahama hospitality and island elegance, a truly delightful blend. There is always room for improvement and it is unfortunate that more food and beverage opportunities are not available, however, this is not a negative as it drives interes in local eateries in nearby West End. Please continue to provide high quality facilities and services. We are proud to have your resort as a part of our product offerings on Grand Bahama Island.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Shark Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is now open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.