We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Save Saved
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Fly Free to GBI
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would be remiss if I didn't say how delightful my visit was and how grateful I am to managment and staff for facilitating it. The resort is well worth the journey to the end of the island, as it provides the welcome any guest away from home would appreciate; namely, comfort, conveniences and style, essential ingredients that go a long way in ensuring satisfaction and return business.

While it is positioned off the "beaten path" and tucked away from Freeport, it has a strong flavour of Grand Bahama hospitality and island elegance, a truly delightful blend. There is always room for improvement and it is unfortunate that more food and beverage opportunities are not available, however, this is not a negative as it drives interes in local eateries in nearby West End. Please continue to provide high quality facilities and services. We are proud to have your resort as a part of our product offerings on Grand Bahama Island.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    27
    20
    6
See reviews for
54
75
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited in late August. The resort as such is very nice with large rooms and great views and the beach is nice! However, there are two things that drags down the overall experience.

1. Lack of good food. There are two restaurants, one beach and one indoor, serving the same food. Menu leaves you with wishing for more. There is no fresh fish offered (they have the "catch of the island" but we concluded that it was a previously frozen filet. When I visit the Caribbean I do expect to get excellent seafood. The best seafood we had was the tuna salad sandwiches, which became a staple during our stay.
2. Aggressive and almost invisible (sand) flies. Their bites were not pleasant and left itchy marks even two weeks after getting home. No bug repellent was available for purchase. Only after bite relief. We found one bottle of repellent used by the bar staff and borrowed it as much as we could, but it basically prevented us from sitting outside in the afternoon.

I'd like to give it more than three stars, but I can't. If it wasn't for the nice beach and view the grade would be lower.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and we are sorry to hear to hear you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. While the resort does not operate the restaurants on site, we will share your comments with their management, as we want to ensure our guests receive exceptional service for every aspect of their stay. Please also note that there should be bug spray for sale in the resort shop and we apologize if we had run out! This is the high time of year for no see ums. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, perhaps in the winter or spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I checked in, and while my luggage was being delivered to my room, unlocked the door and stepped into my beautiful room for the next 4 nights. It was spotless, and tastefully decorated with a huge bathroom, kitchenette, and washer/ dryer. It had a large balcony that had comfortable seating as well. Beautiful manicured grounds and lovely pool and beach views. Front desk service was excellent. Food service was slow, although meals were generally good. I was here to dive with Stuart Cove's Diving (which was absolutely fantastic) and would not hesitate to stay here again.
If taxi from Freeport, ask to stop to get any essentials on the way, as you are next to nothing. When flying from the Bahamas to the Miami, you will actually clear customs in Freeport. Saves a huge amount of time in the US, but allow a little extra time when departing Freeport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your vacation at Old Bahama Bay and your diving with Stuart Cove. Very good tip about stopping at the grocery store on your way from the airport as all rooms have either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We certainly do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by our boat on Fri 8/30 and stayed 3 nights. Getting in the marina and clearing customs was a breeze. All the dock attendants were nice and helpful. The beach was perfect, secluded and shallow enough for little ones. Paddleboards and the kayaks that were included for guest use were in good condition. The tiki bar & restaurant was awesome! Definitely have to get conch fritters and a rum runner or a goombay smash. It's a small resort which was perfect because it wasn't that long a of a walk from the pool and the beach to the dock. The pool was clean but it would have been nice to have a jacuzzi for at night when it gets a little colder with the breeze. Us girls had planned a "spa time" at 5pm Saturday night and we had booked this 3 weeks in advance to make sure we got our spot. We showed up at the massage room and no one was there, the door was locked and lights were off. So we walked down to the activities hut and asked Harold the activities director about our massages. Apparently there was a mix up and the massage therapists were not notified of our appointments. So he quickly called 2 of his therapists to see if they could come quickly. It being my birthday I was looking forward to some girl time and getting a massage. We waited an hour and a half before someone finally arrived. However only one therapist arrived and there was 3 girls and only 2 massage tables. The other 2 girls decided not get the massages due to it being almost 7pm and they are an hour long each. So I was the only one to get a massage. Cecile was wonderful! The second therapist never showed up. The massage was excellent. The cost of an hour massage was a little over priced but having a massage in the Bahamas was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. It sounds like you had a terrific holiday, despite the mix up with the massage therapists. We will for sure look into how this happened and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you for being understanding and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family just returned from our stay at Old Bahama Bay over the Labor Day weekend. We had a wonderful time--the hotel was beautiful with a fantastic location right on the beach and welcoming staff! We brought a family of four and stayed in a King room which was very spacious and included a kitchen and balcony looking out over the ocean. We boated in from West Palm Beach and our boat was very secure in their marina. We ate in the two restaurants and the food was very good, especially the fresh-caught friend snapper and grouper. There are many activities at the resort at the little red beach hut such as paddle boarding and kayaking. Most of the people staying at the resort were boaters, and there is great snorkeling and fishing in the crystal clear turquoise waters. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, from helping us with our ridiculous amount of luggage to bringing us extra sheets and blankets. The drinks are not cheap but generously poured and right on the beach. We plan to stay here again, and would recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments and for pointing out how many activities there are to enjoy at the resort. We will certainly share your review with the team. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were at old Bahama bay by boat from miami, we stayed at the marina ( the water is only $15.00 a day) . It was very nice and the services was excellent... The pool was nice and the beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and all the boaters around us too. And my teenages had a great time... The resort Includes snorkeling and fishing equipment, kayaks and paddleboards and bicycles. We stayed the first time three days and the second two days. We rented a car for about $80.00 and drove to Port Lucaya for the day..

Room Tip: I did not stay in a room only at the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. We hope on your next visit we can welcome you in one of our suites, you will love those too! We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort. Cute litle beach. Not much choice of restaurants and the menu very limited. I also think that the resort was understaffed and their evening entertainment very wick. I will recomended for a sort stay, say two or tree days otherwise if you are not a fisherman it can be TOO relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay. We do strive to provide tranquil and relaxing getaways, so you are correct, we do not offer entertainment each night. We do, however, have a wide array of daytime activities – paddleboards, kayaks, sailing, snorkeling, fishing, massages, and so much more. We hope you will be able to take advantage of some of these activities on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort
Old Bahama Bay Hotel
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.