We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a small secluded resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Florida Residents Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great price for a small secluded resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by our boat on Fri 8/30 and stayed 3 nights. Getting in the marina and clearing customs was a breeze. All the dock attendants were nice and helpful. The beach was perfect, secluded and shallow enough for little ones. Paddleboards and the kayaks that were included for guest use were in good condition. The tiki bar & restaurant was awesome! Definitely have to get conch fritters and a rum runner or a goombay smash. It's a small resort which was perfect because it wasn't that long a of a walk from the pool and the beach to the dock. The pool was clean but it would have been nice to have a jacuzzi for at night when it gets a little colder with the breeze. Us girls had planned a "spa time" at 5pm Saturday night and we had booked this 3 weeks in advance to make sure we got our spot. We showed up at the massage room and no one was there, the door was locked and lights were off. So we walked down to the activities hut and asked Harold the activities director about our massages. Apparently there was a mix up and the massage therapists were not notified of our appointments. So he quickly called 2 of his therapists to see if they could come quickly. It being my birthday I was looking forward to some girl time and getting a massage. We waited an hour and a half before someone finally arrived. However only one therapist arrived and there was 3 girls and only 2 massage tables. The other 2 girls decided not get the massages due to it being almost 7pm and they are an hour long each. So I was the only one to get a massage. Cecile was wonderful! The second therapist never showed up. The massage was excellent. The cost of an hour massage was a little over priced but having a massage in the Bahamas was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review. It sounds like you had a terrific holiday, despite the mix up with the massage therapists. We will for sure look into how this happened and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you for being understanding and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    83
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
66
103
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family just returned from our stay at Old Bahama Bay over the Labor Day weekend. We had a wonderful time--the hotel was beautiful with a fantastic location right on the beach and welcoming staff! We brought a family of four and stayed in a King room which was very spacious and included a kitchen and balcony looking out over the ocean. We boated in from West Palm Beach and our boat was very secure in their marina. We ate in the two restaurants and the food was very good, especially the fresh-caught friend snapper and grouper. There are many activities at the resort at the little red beach hut such as paddle boarding and kayaking. Most of the people staying at the resort were boaters, and there is great snorkeling and fishing in the crystal clear turquoise waters. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, from helping us with our ridiculous amount of luggage to bringing us extra sheets and blankets. The drinks are not cheap but generously poured and right on the beach. We plan to stay here again, and would recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments and for pointing out how many activities there are to enjoy at the resort. We will certainly share your review with the team. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were at old Bahama bay by boat from miami, we stayed at the marina ( the water is only $15.00 a day) . It was very nice and the services was excellent... The pool was nice and the beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and all the boaters around us too. And my teenages had a great time... The resort Includes snorkeling and fishing equipment, kayaks and paddleboards and bicycles. We stayed the first time three days and the second two days. We rented a car for about $80.00 and drove to Port Lucaya for the day..

Room Tip: I did not stay in a room only at the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Old Bahama Bay. We hope on your next visit we can welcome you in one of our suites, you will love those too! We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beautiful resort. Cute litle beach. Not much choice of restaurants and the menu very limited. I also think that the resort was understaffed and their evening entertainment very wick. I will recomended for a sort stay, say two or tree days otherwise if you are not a fisherman it can be TOO relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay. We do strive to provide tranquil and relaxing getaways, so you are correct, we do not offer entertainment each night. We do, however, have a wide array of daytime activities – paddleboards, kayaks, sailing, snorkeling, fishing, massages, and so much more. We hope you will be able to take advantage of some of these activities on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

To those who are unfamiliar with the type of resort this is, you will soon learn that this is no ordinary resort. Here families, groups of friends, and both combined share the days fishing and the nights reaping the rewards. The beach is absolutely beautiful as is the staff with their eagerness to share the beauty of the Bahamas. The bar and grill right behind the pool has great fresh Conch and the kayak rentals and activities make the days filled with fun but still somehow seem to creep by on "island time". Take a day trip into Freeport about an hour away and it's well worth the experience. This is a resort that makes a separate category of vacation all on its own.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Wow – thank you so much for leaving your review. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. We will share with the Teasers staff as well. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Terrific location only made better by the friendly boaters we cooked out with every evening near our boat slip. The 2 bedroom suite we had booked thru Travelocity was only honored for the first two nights due to some computer error overbooking. Be sure to carry all of your provisions including wine, spirits, charcoal and a hose for your boat slip water supply. Contrary to our last visit to OBB over 4 years ago, the on-premises restaurant/bar only offers one wine label. Yuck. The rooms are showing wear and the grounds are unkept as much of the island is, but the dock rocks with mariners on friday night and the snapper bite offshore was smoking! Lastly, look out for the "bread lady" offering her latest creations, just remember to bring your own butter and jam. I do wish there was a more updated place to stay with a marina on Grand Bahama for $500 a night plus 24% island taxes.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, consider a room away from the dock on weekends when the party boats are roc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for once again choosing Old Bahama Bay for your vacation. Sorry to hear about the Travelocity situation and we will talk to the food & beverage operators about getting some different wines in. We do sell charcoal at the marina office and we offer shopping shuttles a couple of times each week. We hope it is not another 4 years until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The resort itself is nice, with a wonderful view. It is peaceful and it was nice to watch the yachts coming into the arena, however there are many downfalls to the resort. The first full day we were there, the staff came in and cleaned our room. When we returned to our room, we noticed alcohol, a red bull, and my perfume missing. My husband was very upset and talked to the lead maid. Nothing was done about it. We did not let them in our room for the duration of our trip. This resort only has one restaurant to choose from and it is outdated and the food wasn't great. After dinner time there is nothing to do. The tiki hut only stayed open for one night while we were there and we were the only ones there. It was a 45 min drive to get into an area with some night life. The hotel doesn't provide a courtesy van to pick you up or take you back to the airport as other resorts do. This is an extra charge. (For for of us it was $80 each way) Overall I enjoyed the relaxation, however there were too many things that wasn't good for me to recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit. We are most concerned to read about the theft in your room. The management was not aware of the situation and we will contact you separately about it so we can fully address your concerns. Just to let you know, the local taxi union does not allow us to pick up or drop off guests at the airport and we wish that we could! We strive to make Old Bahama Bay a peaceful oasis, with the only sound at night being the waves on the beach outside your front door and we do recognize that this is not the vacation style that suits everyone. We appreciate the kind feedback you shared about the rest of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Shark Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is now open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.