We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Save Saved
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 Instant Savings
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Ludlow, Vermont
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have come to the Bahamas many times by boat, but never thru the West End. Came in and found that the staff was very friendly (Erica and Robbie were the best, and Erica was great in the bar/ restaurant). The slips fees were a little high, but not horrible, and the fuel prices were the best in the Bahamas that I have seen. We ate dinner in the bar, and were surprised at the quality of the food. The cracked conch was some of the best that I've had anywhere. I would definitely recommend this stop for any boaters coming thru.

Room Tip: Stayed on my boat in the marina, so I cannot comment on the rooms, but they looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    72
    27
    22
    6
See reviews for
59
83
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everyone at the resort and marina were super cool. The dock attendant who grabbed our lines for our sailboat, the check in person was very helpful. We loved the Bar tender and the waitress in the restaurant. Even just a random cab driver was upbeat and friendly.
Good marina great resort and highly recommend anyone to come visit and have a good time.
Tom Neilson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I'm captain of a boat and stayed at the resort for a night while the owners stayed on the boat. I was so surprised how nice it was. My room was great with a spectacular view. I wondered by the beach bar in the morning and didn't realize they served breakfast. That was better then the room. Enjoyed sitting there overlooking the water as the world started its day.

The marina staff and customs/immigration people were great. If anything, would have liked to have better bait available... but that's not important to the rest of the resort.

The restaurant was great... the servers were the best I've seen In the Bahamas in a while.

I'm usually in Port Lucaya... I'll now recommend this property more often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We appreciate receiving your kind review and we are thrilled that you just may have found your new ‘home base’ on Grand Bahama. We will see what we can do about getting a better selection of bait in for your next visit! We will certainly pass your comments onto the staff, they will be so happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. We enjoyed every minute. The locals were so much fun. The staff were a joy. Please give our thanks to: Mr. Harold, Ms. Mary and Ms. Becky at Teasers. Voted best coconut toast and piña collota.
Mr. Tommy Rolle or fishing guide was such a gentleman.
Our driver Mr. Eric and Barry the retired bartender. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

From being picked up by Kelly with his big smile and relaxed demeanor to laughing with Dawn about my sea legs (still feeling like I'm on a boat!!) to Drexels (many!) trips into town w.my husband Greg to Harolds awesome smile and great conversation to Daisy's sweet disposition to seeing the amazing smile on my son Demetrius' face as he played in his "house" on the beach (awesome playhouse literally right on the beach) to mommy's totally relaxed time sitting on our back porch overseeing an amazing view of the ocean while dad n son went kayaking...i could go on but I think you get the gist. Stunning views, awesome staff n gorgeous accomodations lends for THE vacation...thank you sooo very much for a fabulous 5 yr anniversary celebration :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your generous comments. We will certainly share your review with Harold and Daisy and everyone else you were kind enough to mention. It is wonderful that we could share your milestone anniversary with you. We hope you won’t wait til your 10th Anniversary to come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have been staying at Old Bahama Bay marina for years. We find the staff friendly and helpful and the ability is very nice. It is quiet with a lovely private beach and water toys available. A great restaurant on the beach, open for breakfast and lunch and a less casual restaurant open for dinner. Food is good! You can ride bikes which are available to guests no charge and ride not too far away to a number of local restaurants. If you are looking for a friendly place to relax this is a great spot. The rooms are well appointed and quite upscale.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great stay at Old Bahama Bay and got to enjoy our new bicycles and restaurant. We look forward to hosting your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I am a professional yacht/sport fishing captain and have been cruising th Bahamas for 30 plus years. West End is an easy run for us from FL and an often stop to either stay for a few days or pass thru. As a boater it has always been our oasis after a run across the Gulf Stream. The staff is great, accommodations clean and comfortable, tasty Bahamian food, and overall atmosphere laid back and without the cruise tourisy types. Whether you come by boat or plane, you should come to Old Bahama Bay.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side facing water in full moon will give anyone a romantic boost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for not only your recent visit to Old Bahama Bay and your kind review, but also for your continued patronage all these years, even through our ups and downs! We look forward to your next visit already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.