We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your First Stop In Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOGO Air Tickets
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Your First Stop In Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only stopped for the night on a run from Nassau to Lake Worth but the dock attendants made sure they stayed late to ensure we were settled in our slip. The facilities are first class, the water is included with the cost of the slip, the power was included in the slip cost - what more could you ask.

Our only recommendation would be to open the fuel pumps earlier in the day (7:00 AM rather than 8:00 AM). It seems that everyone wants fuel first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
63
92
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this resort. The location is very nice if you plan to stay entirely at the resort, but if you like to get out and see things, this is a little too far out. Freeport is at least 30 miles and almost an hour to get to. The restaurant was under construction while we were there so the only place to eat was a Tiki bar/cafe on the beach. While the staff was fabulous and the food very good, it was quite cold while we were there and it was very uncomfortable trying to have a meal. Our room was very nice with a beautiful view. My only complaint would be that even though they have a stove/frig/microwave and some glasses and dishes, they did not provide any pots and pans and silverware or cooking utensils. And, if you wanted to buy food you had to go to Freeport to do so. We did venture out a couple of times, but there really isn't much to see except for Freeport or the Lucayan Marketplace. The pool was very nice and very clean. I'm sure this would be a wonderful location for divers and for fishing. Perhaps they need a little more time to bring this resort up to standards. The other problem we had was on the day we were leaving we had to get to the car rental and airport early, but their office didn't open until 9:00. That's unacceptable for travelers. Fortunately, there was a young woman there who contacted a manager by phone and the manager talked her through the signing out process so we could get on our way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for posting your comments about your stay. The resort has been undergoing a lot of changes and upgrades recently with many more planned for very near future. Our indoor restaurant, Dockside Grille, has opened (we are sorry you just missed it). We have also put in an order for cookware for use in the rooms so that guests can bring in their own food and prepare their own meals. We apologize that the front desk was not open for your departure. We are in the process of increasing our staffing hours, so you should not find that situation on your next visit. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed on a friend's boat in the marina for 2 nights in early April. Marina services were more than adequate (power, water, pier) and the area seemed nicely maintained. Walked around the cottages and beach area and it seemed nice, but didn't actually swim on that beach. We went by private driver to Paradise Cove and snorkeled for an hour or more at Deadman's Reef, which was quite nice. Didn't see any "exciting" sealife, but there was plenty of live coral and lots of fish. You can bring your own gear and just pay a small fee or you can rent snorkeling gear from them. They have a little cafe where you can get fried grouper, burgers and a few other things. The area is quite a long drive from off-site restaurants but you have most of what you need on-site, so you don't have to go elsewhere unless you just want to.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel/cottages, so can't address this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I did an overnight in the Marina here and walked around the property. Apparently is off the beaten track but there would be no reason to leave. This place is a beautiful property with a beach only seen on TV. The restaurants are great and the fish is fresh. They have a tiki bar on the beach that I could sit at for days. I am coming back here to stay on the property and enjoy island life. The staff is as good as it gets and the property is Disney clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

One week ago we returned from one of our most relaxing vacations ever at Old Bahama Bay. The staff at Old Bahama Bay was ALWAYS so helpful! Our room was so comfortable with a king-size bed. No noise whatsoever also makes for ease of a great night's slumber. We appreciated having a kitchenette, sitting area with TV, and luxurious lanai with comfy chairs for ocean viewing. Breakfasts and lunches at the Tiki Bar were scrumptious and fulfilling. The variety of menu offerings at The Dockside Bar were fantastic. The grounds of OBB were meticulously cared for with many tropical plants and trees, which reflected the names of the colorful buildings. our one bedroom unit was housed in the Jasmine building. Our walk to the white sand beach was only 40 feet away from our door. Staff was always friendly, happy, and helpful. I highly recommend a stay at OBB!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am an avid scuba diver and had heard about Stuart Cove Tiger Beach Seafaris that is located on the grounds of the Old Bahama Bay Resort. After talking with Jerome for months (Jerome is fantastic. I must have e-mailed him 50 times and he always promptly answered my questions. I knew if I ever had any problems on the trip, Jerome would be the first person I called to get it resolved.) I decided to book a trip to the resort for my 15th wedding anniversary. Last week my wife and I enjoyed our getaway. From the moment we entered our room, we were delighted. It is a beautiful resort right on their own beach. The room was large with a stove, fridge, washer, dryer, great shower, large bath, couch, and comfortable bed. We were not expecting such a nice room. The ocean view was beautiful. The staff was friendly but at times a little slow (to be expected in the Caribbean). We especially loved Harold who we saw all over the resort. One day he was our waiter then the next day the activities coordinator. He works very hard but has a wonderful attitude. One day my wife enjoyed a massage while I went on the Tiger Beach shark dive. Though not for everyone, if you are wanting to do this it was a fantastic adventure and a dive of a lifetime. Beto the divemaster was fantastic. He put us right on the spot for 3 large Tiger sharks, numerous Lemon sharks, and a few reef sharks. The pictures I took in the clear, blue water blew me away. The resort is really working to improve its amenities. It was chilly and windy while we were there but they had available numerous beach activities from sailing to Kayaks to paddleboards. They all looked in good condition. The fitness room is good and the equipment was in good condition. All in all, the resort is a very good value for the money.
A few words of advice, if you want something ask for it. We had to ask for pots and pans for our room as well as extra towels. It might take them a while to bring them but they will bring them. I also highly recommend renting a car. It is on the West End and about an hour from anything. You will need a car to get groceries and this will save you some money. Also, bring laundry detergent for the washer and dryer. It is wonderful that they are in the room but could not wash our clothes without soap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments. We will certainly share your review with Stuart Cove as well as with Jerome and Harold. It is wonderful that our new watersports and other amenities and activities are being used and appreciated! Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in a 2 Bedroom Suite and it was spectacular. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We flew over a day early due to the rough seas on Wednesday and OBB was very accommodating. Only a couple of small hiccups. When we booked our early arrival we requested transportation and it never showed up so we took a cab from the airport. Cab driver was extremely nice but his van topped out at 25mph so it took a loooong time to get to OBB. Internet went down often and we had to phone several times for replacement towels for our room.
The coconut French toast was AMAZING for breakfast and the restaurant that just opened was great as well. Conch Fritters are a must.

All in all I would highly recommend staying at OBB. We took my wife's parents with us this time and my mother-in-law said this was the best vacation ever. That's saying something since we have taken her to Italy and Hawaii.

The value was excellent thanks to a living social voucher otherwise would be a little high for the Bahamas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Shark Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is now open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.