We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pictures just don't tell the whole story...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Save Saved
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$200 Instant Savings
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The pictures just don't tell the whole story...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First of all, to be fair, the rooms are pretty and the grounds are nice. However, the location is, unless you arrived via boat, terrible! My family and I arrived for a week long vacation, and on the trip to the hotel we had quite the site to see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DE8FAnz1W8o
Now, this isn't some short trip, it's a 45 minute drive from Old Bahama to Freeport, and unfortunely, that's where there is stuff to do and resteraunts to eat at. Normally it wouldn't be a big deal, but when you have a small child with you, driving back and forth through these areas just isn't going to fly.

When we arrived we dropped off our luggage and ran over to Tappers to grab a bite to eat. We didn't check out our room first, which was a mistake. When we got back to our room, we noticed a smell closer to the balcony side of the room: mildew/mold. In fact, we noticed the whole room reeked of it, so we tried calling the office to change rooms: the phone didn't work. So, we went to the bar to try and call; no go there either, they were closed to the day. So, with no way of changing rooms, and with no way of getting to another hotel at the time, but with access to wifi, we booked another hotel, and in the morning checked out and went to the Radisson.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    72
    27
    21
    6
See reviews for
59
83
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

2012.08.14 - We had a group of 8 adults, 4 on a boat and 4 in the rooms and we stayed 4 nights. It was a great time. OBB is clean and has a great look and feel.. ok the bathrooms at the marina are a little rough but I have seen worse. The marina is beautiful, docks are in good repair and the water is deep enough and the access is easy. We have a Sportfisherman. It was an easy ride from West Palm. Customs and the marina office are located together at the fuel dock. The rooms were nice, very nice, with new furnishings and good views with an island feel. The pool was well placed and clean and the Tiki Bar was fun and located on a nice beach facing the calm and absolutely beautiful waters of the Little Bahama Bank... you will love the view here. Overall it was a great place to spend some time with the phone and email off... The fishing was good and the lobster diving was a lot of fun ... and made great dinners every night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have flashbacks to what happened to the former Jack Tar Village. It was a beautiful place last year when I was there but it is starting to fall into a state of disrepair during a recent visit. The marina bathroom and showers are becoming "typical" (sub par) public bathrooms. The circuit breaker in the men's room was tripped so there were no lights or ventillation. Someone had forced the door off of the breaker panel because this was obviously a common occurrence. I reset the breaker but it tripped a short time later. No ventillation, no air conditioning, no lights, unclean showers ... not what we experienced during the Ginn Sur Mer era.

I noticed a few raised screws and nail heads on the wood planked docks and some of the dock pedestals (electric) were in various states of disrepair too. When I was there 50 weeks ago, nearly every slip was taken. On this visit less than half were occupied.

The staff is friendly and efficient at the marina office.

My belief is without more maintenance this marina will be on par with Davis Harbour (2008 version) or Rosie's Place. Certainly better than Freeport though!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Found this property after a very hot afternoon of driving from Port Lucaya to the West End - what an oasis! The tiki bar is wonderful, right on the beach. Had very nice refreshing cocktails and delicious fresh conch salad - the fisherman was harvesting the conch right there on the beach! Can't get much fresher than that. Even though we were not staying there the staff was super friendly and made us feel right at home. The pool was gorgeous and quite refreshing. Would have gone again for the day but it's a bit of a drive from downtown. Absolutely beautiful property and marina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I decided to write a review not just because I had a terrific time here, but to clarify reviewers that gave this place negative review.

We flew into Freeport and scheduled a pick-up through the hotel's taxi service. It is about 30-40min drive, but our driver gave us a detailed history about the small towns we drove through. Yes, most of those towns (settlements) are proverty strucken, but its the Bamahas. Reason why I mention this because I was blown away by the locals that make the best of it.
Anyway, we arrived at the resort and were greeted by Jackie (resort manager) and her son Nathan, who invited us on his boat. We stayed in the king ocean view room, and I must say, the room was quite spacious for a single king bed. We had a great view of the ocean!
We roamed the compound and didn't find much besides the tiki bar, fitness center, and the marina. It didn't bother my girlfriend and I, our plan was to just drink and relax on the beach for the next 4 daysary and Harold at the tiki bar were very personable and welcoming. In fact, the entire staff was very helpful and helped us with all our needs. I don't think we ever heard the word "no". They were willing to go out of their way to acomadate us. We visited a nearby snorkel area called paradise cove (about 8miles). They picked us up and spent the day at there. I would recommend this place for a good 2 hours of snorkeling. Plenty of fish and corals to see.

Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay. The resort is definitely remote, do it was quite different from my typical city slicker vacation. If you are a boater, the marina is top notch and very clean. The inlet is pretty large to easily navigate.
If you fly in, I would recommend asking the driver to stop by a grocery store to pick up some snacks. OBB is remote and there isn't much around West End as far as stores go.

We met alot of great people including other guests that were friendly and welcoming. We spent most of our time meeting and socializing with everyone. I can't stress how friendly everyone was. I will definitely plan another trip here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Old Bahama Bay has become the favorite Bahamas boating vacation destination for my wife and me. The resort is close to the USA mainland, the property is peaceful, the accommodations are excellent, the price is reasonable, the food is excellent, and the service is perfect. The Marina at the resort is also world class and the people that manage it are very accommodating and friendly. We stayed in an ocean front king room with attractive island furnishings for five nights and it was well equipped and very clean. The resort is laid back and the people working the front desk are very helpful and friendly. We have nominally 350 pictures to remind us of this remarkable location and the surrounding areas. Jackie Carroll, the General Manager of the resort did an excellent job in facilitating the reservations and room assignments for my family and the balance of our boat traveling group. We are counting the days in anticipation of our return to the “OBB”.
Respectively submitted by Rick Reddington from Palm Beach Gardens, Florida USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamasJen, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments. We are undergoing some operational changes at the resort and it is so nice to hear that our guests continue to enjoy their vacations here. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon, and be sure to post your pictures! Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Old Bahama Bay is really such a wonderful place to visit. We like to start our Bahamas trip there because you can get fuel, get a slip and clear Customs all in the same place. The grounds are always being improved. The pool is well cared for and the beach has lounge chairs for relaxing and kayaks for exploring. Mary at the beach tiki bar is so personable and friendly. It remains our favorite place to spend time in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.