We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, great pool & tiki Bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Save Saved
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Fly Free to GBI
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, great pool & tiki Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Found this property after a very hot afternoon of driving from Port Lucaya to the West End - what an oasis! The tiki bar is wonderful, right on the beach. Had very nice refreshing cocktails and delicious fresh conch salad - the fisherman was harvesting the conch right there on the beach! Can't get much fresher than that. Even though we were not staying there the staff was super friendly and made us feel right at home. The pool was gorgeous and quite refreshing. Would have gone again for the day but it's a bit of a drive from downtown. Absolutely beautiful property and marina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    66
    27
    20
    6
See reviews for
54
75
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I decided to write a review not just because I had a terrific time here, but to clarify reviewers that gave this place negative review.

We flew into Freeport and scheduled a pick-up through the hotel's taxi service. It is about 30-40min drive, but our driver gave us a detailed history about the small towns we drove through. Yes, most of those towns (settlements) are proverty strucken, but its the Bamahas. Reason why I mention this because I was blown away by the locals that make the best of it.
Anyway, we arrived at the resort and were greeted by Jackie (resort manager) and her son Nathan, who invited us on his boat. We stayed in the king ocean view room, and I must say, the room was quite spacious for a single king bed. We had a great view of the ocean!
We roamed the compound and didn't find much besides the tiki bar, fitness center, and the marina. It didn't bother my girlfriend and I, our plan was to just drink and relax on the beach for the next 4 daysary and Harold at the tiki bar were very personable and welcoming. In fact, the entire staff was very helpful and helped us with all our needs. I don't think we ever heard the word "no". They were willing to go out of their way to acomadate us. We visited a nearby snorkel area called paradise cove (about 8miles). They picked us up and spent the day at there. I would recommend this place for a good 2 hours of snorkeling. Plenty of fish and corals to see.

Overall, I was very satisfied with my stay. The resort is definitely remote, do it was quite different from my typical city slicker vacation. If you are a boater, the marina is top notch and very clean. The inlet is pretty large to easily navigate.
If you fly in, I would recommend asking the driver to stop by a grocery store to pick up some snacks. OBB is remote and there isn't much around West End as far as stores go.

We met alot of great people including other guests that were friendly and welcoming. We spent most of our time meeting and socializing with everyone. I can't stress how friendly everyone was. I will definitely plan another trip here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Old Bahama Bay has become the favorite Bahamas boating vacation destination for my wife and me. The resort is close to the USA mainland, the property is peaceful, the accommodations are excellent, the price is reasonable, the food is excellent, and the service is perfect. The Marina at the resort is also world class and the people that manage it are very accommodating and friendly. We stayed in an ocean front king room with attractive island furnishings for five nights and it was well equipped and very clean. The resort is laid back and the people working the front desk are very helpful and friendly. We have nominally 350 pictures to remind us of this remarkable location and the surrounding areas. Jackie Carroll, the General Manager of the resort did an excellent job in facilitating the reservations and room assignments for my family and the balance of our boat traveling group. We are counting the days in anticipation of our return to the “OBB”.
Respectively submitted by Rick Reddington from Palm Beach Gardens, Florida USA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamasJen, Public Relations Manager at Old Bahama Bay, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for posting your kind comments. We are undergoing some operational changes at the resort and it is so nice to hear that our guests continue to enjoy their vacations here. This kind of review always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Old Bahama Bay very soon, and be sure to post your pictures! Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Old Bahama Bay is really such a wonderful place to visit. We like to start our Bahamas trip there because you can get fuel, get a slip and clear Customs all in the same place. The grounds are always being improved. The pool is well cared for and the beach has lounge chairs for relaxing and kayaks for exploring. Mary at the beach tiki bar is so personable and friendly. It remains our favorite place to spend time in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandina beach
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Left Treasure Cay (horrible resort) and went to West End just for a day before heading home. This place was head and shoulders above Treasure Cay. Room was clean, spacious and bed was oh so comfy. We thought about staying over. Down side was staff not very helpful and office hours were limited. This seems to be common in the Bahamas. I would go back again!

Food was ok at beach bar....brinks were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in the marina for 6 nights while Tropical disturbance Debby passed. The marina staff is exceptional - Sharon is wonderful. The staff helped us dock, but did not in anyway disturb us thereafter. The marina has fuel (delivered by truck from Freeport) the price low and the diesel fresh. There are washers / dryers, showers, a pool, wonderful beach, a beach front bar food joint (the main inside air conditioned restaurant is currently closed), and there is an air conditioned work out room. Daily there are local fishermen selling their conch, lobster, etc on the docks. Somedays a local baker lady brings by fresh bread for sale. The hotel complex office has a very small gift shop. The development has excellent free wi-fi and the docks good cable tv. Bahamian Customs and Immigration are co-located with the marina office. If you get the office to call Ellas (local take out or eat in place about 2 miles away) - you will be rewarded with a very nice lunch of dinner - recommended.

Room Tip: About 1/3 of the rental condos are beach front...all buildings 2 story....a second story beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Old Bahama Bay Marina for fishing purposes, but recently had some guests to the boat who stayed in the "hotel". Although the marina is a bit run down since the bankruptcy a few years ago, the staff there is exceptional. The girls in the dock office and the guys on the docks are extremely friendly and good at what they do.

The hotel side is a bit less friendly albeit competent. The limited hours (9-5) are a bit ridiculous and hard to cope with. The rooms were plenty spaciuos and cofortable although they were a bit damp - common in Summer in Bahamas, but not usually in expensive resorts.

So far so good. The problem comes when you try to think of this as a resort ( which it claims to be). The grounds are run down (unless you stay on the main path only). The only hammock I saw was two years overdue for replacement and just waiting for a lawsuit. The public access restrooms were disgusting and overrun with mosquitos because the door was propped open because the lights and a/c had stopped functioning a long time ago. The exercise room stunk of mildew and sweat-I couldn't even stay in there never mind work out.

On top of that, the main restaurant closed in January - never to open again. The tiki bar took on extra hours and increased their menu to "fill the gap" but it doesn't. The bugs are ferocious because there are no inside seats. Dinnertime was brutal as we rushed through mediocre food so we could get back to our room with some blood left in our veins. The staff is friendly there, but as slow as you can find in the Bahamas, which made suffering through the mosquiitos that much harder.

Five years ago this was a great place. Sadly the economy took its toll and the management has let the place fall apart. I will be back again by boat, because the fishing/diving nearby is good, but we will not book rooms there. For $300+ per night I could stay at Atlantis in the summer where there actually IS a resort. Maybe if they open the restaurant, clean things up, and drop their rates to $150/night.

P.S. - there are NO off campus activities. The run down town is a couple miles away and while the people are friendly, there is nothing for the traveler. Freeport/Lucaya is the nearest night life, true resorts and you can stay there a whole lot cheaper.

Room Tip: ALWAYS ask for a discount. There is a continuous "sale" although prices are still too high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort
Old Bahama Bay Hotel
Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.