We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bahama Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bahama Bay to your Saves list
Old Bahama Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Marathon, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Old Bahama Bay is really such a wonderful place to visit. We like to start our Bahamas trip there because you can get fuel, get a slip and clear Customs all in the same place. The grounds are always being improved. The pool is well cared for and the beach has lounge chairs for relaxing and kayaks for exploring. Mary at the beach tiki bar is so personable and friendly. It remains our favorite place to spend time in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    31
    22
    7
See reviews for
63
92
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Left Treasure Cay (horrible resort) and went to West End just for a day before heading home. This place was head and shoulders above Treasure Cay. Room was clean, spacious and bed was oh so comfy. We thought about staying over. Down side was staff not very helpful and office hours were limited. This seems to be common in the Bahamas. I would go back again!

Food was ok at beach bar....brinks were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in the marina for 6 nights while Tropical disturbance Debby passed. The marina staff is exceptional - Sharon is wonderful. The staff helped us dock, but did not in anyway disturb us thereafter. The marina has fuel (delivered by truck from Freeport) the price low and the diesel fresh. There are washers / dryers, showers, a pool, wonderful beach, a beach front bar food joint (the main inside air conditioned restaurant is currently closed), and there is an air conditioned work out room. Daily there are local fishermen selling their conch, lobster, etc on the docks. Somedays a local baker lady brings by fresh bread for sale. The hotel complex office has a very small gift shop. The development has excellent free wi-fi and the docks good cable tv. Bahamian Customs and Immigration are co-located with the marina office. If you get the office to call Ellas (local take out or eat in place about 2 miles away) - you will be rewarded with a very nice lunch of dinner - recommended.

Room Tip: About 1/3 of the rental condos are beach front...all buildings 2 story....a second story beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We are frequent visitors to Old Bahama Bay Marina for fishing purposes, but recently had some guests to the boat who stayed in the "hotel". Although the marina is a bit run down since the bankruptcy a few years ago, the staff there is exceptional. The girls in the dock office and the guys on the docks are extremely friendly and good at what they do.

The hotel side is a bit less friendly albeit competent. The limited hours (9-5) are a bit ridiculous and hard to cope with. The rooms were plenty spaciuos and cofortable although they were a bit damp - common in Summer in Bahamas, but not usually in expensive resorts.

So far so good. The problem comes when you try to think of this as a resort ( which it claims to be). The grounds are run down (unless you stay on the main path only). The only hammock I saw was two years overdue for replacement and just waiting for a lawsuit. The public access restrooms were disgusting and overrun with mosquitos because the door was propped open because the lights and a/c had stopped functioning a long time ago. The exercise room stunk of mildew and sweat-I couldn't even stay in there never mind work out.

On top of that, the main restaurant closed in January - never to open again. The tiki bar took on extra hours and increased their menu to "fill the gap" but it doesn't. The bugs are ferocious because there are no inside seats. Dinnertime was brutal as we rushed through mediocre food so we could get back to our room with some blood left in our veins. The staff is friendly there, but as slow as you can find in the Bahamas, which made suffering through the mosquiitos that much harder.

Five years ago this was a great place. Sadly the economy took its toll and the management has let the place fall apart. I will be back again by boat, because the fishing/diving nearby is good, but we will not book rooms there. For $300+ per night I could stay at Atlantis in the summer where there actually IS a resort. Maybe if they open the restaurant, clean things up, and drop their rates to $150/night.

P.S. - there are NO off campus activities. The run down town is a couple miles away and while the people are friendly, there is nothing for the traveler. Freeport/Lucaya is the nearest night life, true resorts and you can stay there a whole lot cheaper.

Room Tip: ALWAYS ask for a discount. There is a continuous "sale" although prices are still too high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Me and a couple of my girlfriends wanted to go on a girls get away and we wanted to go to the bahamas but we had no idea where in the bahamas. My husband told me that some of his friends told him about Old Bahama Bay. I did my research and after reading all the reviews (which they are always helpful) we decided to book the girls get away in this hotel. The view is incredible, and the food is amazing! this was really a great trip. Even though I just went with the girls, I would recommend Old Bahama Bay to families and couples. Its an environment for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Most people seek the escape of crowded beaches, smelly hotels, and hectic traffic. So it is with me. My trip to Old Bahama Bay delievers me to a place I call and will continue to call my Paradise on Earth! Filled with beauty of the land and sea and the charm of a remote island, one simply travels to West End, Bahamas, to obtain the natural pleasures of life. This romantic location takes one back in time. Escape loud honky-tonks, frazzled lifestyles, and arrive to the island at the place called Old Bahama Bay. Dining with locals at places such as Ella's will make your trip all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Flying from either Palm Beach or Fort Lauderdale is more convenient for closeness to Freeport, Baham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Recently stayed a night in the marina at OBB . Overall a very good experience. One of the easiest and safest marinas to get into. t took us a long time (3 hours) to find a place to dock, clear Customs and Immigration, get gas, get checked in and get settled in our slip. Main reason was that they were just very busy. Overall they handled it pretty well, especially by Bahamas standards and we understand "island time". Staff was very friendly and helpful, made us feel valued. C&I officers were the nicest we've encountered in the Bahamas or Caribbean. Lost electric power for 4-5 hours during the night but that's a Bahamas problem, no fault of OBB. OBB adjusted our electric bill to account for that. Food, drinks and service at the Beach Bar were top notch. OBB is not cheap but their location and overall quality of facility is commensurate with their prices. We would certainly return and would recommend OBB to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bahama Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bahama Bay

Address: Bayshore Road, West End, Grand Bahama Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bahama Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Bahama Bay Resort & Yacht Harbour is the ultimate getaway for tranquility and relaxation. Combining Bahamian charm and barefoot elegance, the resort features 73 spacious beachfront suites, full-service marina, Stuart Cove Shark Dive Operation, fishing and other excursions. Resort amenities include 2 restaurants and bars, paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel equipment and much more. West End Airport is now open for private planes and charters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Bahama Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bahama Bay Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Old Bahama Bay Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bahama Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.