We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time for Retired Guys who like to Golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breezy Point Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breezy Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breezy Point Resort
Save
You added Breezy Point Resort to your Saves list
9252 Breezy Point Dr., Breezy Point, MN 56472   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breezy Point
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kenora
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time for Retired Guys who like to Golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A group of eight retired guys from Kenora have been going to Breezy Point Resort for the last three years. We book the "all inclusive" 3 days - 2 nights later in September. We have been staying at the White Birch Villa's. It has all been good. This years highlight was golfing Deacon's Resort.... WOW !!

We had some minor glitches. We got overcharged for golfing Deacons, which was remedied quickly. The golf cart girl on our last day disappeared until "after" our "all inclusive" time (12:00 noon) had passed, then she was waiting for us. I hate to think that was planned.

All the staff was very nice. The Shuttle Bus driver put up with some Canadian antics. "Tami and the Bachelor" even let me onstage to help with "The Farmers Song".

We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    66
    27
    10
    17
See reviews for
88
45
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a difficult property to review. This resort has been in operation since the 1920s when it was very well known and has grown piecemeal. It now has more than 20 different accommodation styles and when you read the reviews its hard to have a real apples to apples comparison of what you should expect because what you read depends on just what part of this resort the reviewer stayed at. One review might talk about one type of accommodation that you may not have booked and so it won’t apply. (You'll note the disclaimer from Trip Advisor that warns you of this before booking......a smart idea. Know exactly what you want when calling to book). This resort has all types of rooms…from straight up no frills hotel rooms in the lodge to rustic looking A-frame Northwoods cabins to totally furnished, plush, two-bedroom condo units that sleep 6 (and have more closets than I have in my 5 bedroom home).
It is located on one of the best lakes in this part of Minnesota, Pelican Lake, which is large, deep and clear. It’s an excellent fishing lake and has great water sports. There’s a large marina adjacent to the resort that gives you excellent and easy access. There are several restaurants at the resort and nearby so there are plenty of places to eat within easy proximity. The complex is so spread out that it even has its own shuttle to take you from place to place more easily.
While the initial lodge was built in the 1920s it was replaced after a fire in the 1950s and now the main lodge has the most rooms all of which overlook the lake. There are other buildings that also abut the lake, but some are privately owned and lived in year round, some are part-time vacation condos, some are time shares and some are rentable daily from the resort. Some units and buildings look nice and well kept while others look sort of dated and worn. From driving around the whole complex, it is difficult to tell which units are which type and that’s what makes this resort one of the most confusing places I’ve ever stayed at.
There are also three golf courses within a 3-minute drive from the main resort (the original course…built in the 20’s … is just a quick walk from the main lodge away) and each appears to have its own set of challenges for golfers of all types.
We stayed in a timeshare two-bedroom unit that was huge and fully appointed. It was in the Whitebirch Estates which is next to the Whitebirch Golf Course, which is about a three minute drive west of the main lodge and so far away that it doesn’t really feel like its part of the Breezy Point Resort. Our unit had a hallway that contained a shared door to the unit next to ours so that if you rented both units you’d have four bedrooms, four bathrooms and room to sleep 12 very easily. It was all on one level which helped keep kids in check and meant we didn’t have to deal with stairs. Our master bedroom had a queen bed, HDTV, a LARGE walk in closet (that I swear was practically as big as my dorm room in college!), a full bathroom with large two-person soaking tub (but not a Jacuzzi because it had no jets :( and its own walk out to the patio. The master bedroom was located down a long hall way (across from the utility room which had a full side-by-side washer and dryer and utility tub). It was so far down the long hall that you could ensconce yourself in the master bedroom and close the door and not even know there were people in the rest of the unit. VERY peaceful and quiet. The second bedroom was much smaller, just inside the main door and featured a full closet and large chest for clothes storage. While this room was nice, the bed was very, very hard. Close to uncomfortable.
The second bath was outside the bedroom and across the hall. A large linen closed separated them. There were two more closets in the front of the unit. One just inside the door where coats could be kept and was very, very large. And another large closet down the hall by the door to the neighboring unit which was also very large.
The dining room had a large table that could easily seat 8 people. The fully equipped kitchen had a full size fridge, electric range and oven and a dishwasher, plus a full set of cabinets with dishes, cookwear and utensils.
Adjacent to the kitchen was an eat in breakfast nook that sat six and had yet another patio door that opened to the patio (which overlooked the 18th green).
The living room had a couch (which opened up to a bed) and two chairs along with an HDTV and a glassed in three sided fireplace. Just off the living room was a large ‘sitting room’ with two more chairs and yet another patio door exit.
Outside was a large patio, patio table, three chairs and two chaises along with an in ground gas fireplace.
I don’t know how many square feet this entire unit was but as you can see it was extremely spacious with an enormous of amount of closet storage space.
While that was all great and the unit was very comfortable and relaxing…the resort itself was a little ho-hum. We visited just after the main summer rush ended and I'm guessing that's why they didn't have that many activities. I'm sure during the height of the summer season, it's probably hopping. Whitebirch has a newer large pool house but the main resort’s pool was disappointing.
While I had no complaints with our unit, everything worked well (other than slightly lower that I like water pressure in the shower), I could see how some could have some issues with some of the units. (For example, there is a row of maybe two dozen one bedroom cabins that overlook the original golf course and feature outside hot tubs in each unit’s deck…they look cozy but maybe a bit too cozy…the hot tubs aren’t separated by much and those cabins seem a little open).
If you are looking for a place that has a little bit of everything and you don’t mind having a place that is not top of the line four or five star plush, then Breezy Point may be just the place.

Room Tip: Be certain to know what type of room and building you are requesting. Some are very nice and some a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Came here for 3 nights golfing trip. Everything was excellent, resort staff is the best I ever came across during my travels. The golf course offer a good challenge, the food was excellent not one meal you can complain about. Can't wait till our visit for next years trip. With all said the price seems to be a steal for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

First thing guests need to understand is that there are two management companies that operate Breezy Point Resort. One management company (Narveson management Inc.) operates 11 (I believe) of the timeshare buildings that are located within the resort. Breezy Point International operates the others which I believe is three. It is clear that these two management companies do not work together well. A guest checking into a unit managed by Narveson will receive a keycard that allows them access to the Narveson building located in Pelican Center outside the main gate of the resort. In order for a guest to gain access to the amenities located within the resort the guest has to also go to the registration desk located within the resort. There the guest must present their card given to them at check in to receive another keycard which will give them access to the Breezy Center and High Village pools and fitness room located in Breezy Center. All of this should be seamless to the guest. This resort does not have its act together.

We stayed in the Point Condo unit 509 June 28 - July 5, 2013. Upon entering the building I noticed the following: windows need cleaning, doors going into the building and into each unit need a fresh coat of paint, lights in the entryways and hallways need cleaning from dead bugs. The carpet needs replacing. The entryways connecting the building have webs with dead bugs. Upon entering the unit it smelt of smoke. Each time we entered the unit we had to immediately open the lakeside door to help with the smoke smell. The unit itself is very dated. The couch and chairs in the living room are tacky looking. Most of the wood furniture is in good or new condition. The wallpaper is old and the seams are coming apart in both bathrooms and in the kitchen. The kitchen cabinets are in good condition; however, need a cleaning. The bedspreads are old and the beds squeak when you turn over. The bathrooms are in good condition other than the wallpaper and the lighting is very poor. They offer very little counter space. The bath towels were very nice. The patio furniture was dirty and the patio door had several dead bugs on the frame.

The pool areas do not give the feel or appearance of being clean. The hot tub in the Narveson building needs painting. I do not feel that the resort is maintained well. It seems as though everything is done on a shoestring of a budget. The swimming beach is wonderful but could use lots more chairs. The plexi-glass railing at the Dockside has webs and dead bugs on it - not very appealing when eating. The grounds are not well maintained. There are weeds in the landscaping. Narveson offered smores by the beach one evening and staff set out dirty chairs.

Narveson Management offers a donut social hour, Bingo night at the Commander Restaurant and an ice cream social of which are all held at a location outside the resort. It would be much more family friendly and convenient if located within the resort and an easier walk for small children.

The resort needs to offer more free activities. It would be nice to have some large water climbing structures in the lake for children and offer free paddleboats, kayaks, and canoes. Other resorts offer much more than Breezy Point Resort. At this time I have no plans to return.

Green Features: Would have liked to see these practices posted in the unit. We took our recyclables into Pequot Lakes.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We golfed at Deacons Lodge, ate at the resort restaurants, and rented kayaks while we were there. The golf course and staff there were great! Only complaint was that they didn't have a very large women's selection in the clubhouse for shoes and clothing. Antlers restaurant had great food. The resort, however, was not somewhere I would probably choose again. The rental kayaks were pretty rough looking, not the best shape. (The marina staff was not at all a problem) the dockside restaurant was not great. The food was not the best, and they did not have any sort of drink list, other than beer and limited wine selection. The staff seemed like they were all new even though it was the end of summer? The room we stayed in also had repairs that were only half finished.

Green Features: We hung our towels on the rack so they would not waste the towels, but they still restocked our towels anyway. Seems like that is against the purpose of saving the towels?
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great suite with fireplace and jetted tub. We ate at Antlers Restaurant and the service and food were excellent. We took a shuttle bus to the restaurant and on the way back the driver drove crazy. We almost lost our dinner!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just spent a week in the Whitebirch Estates section of Breezy Point. These units are about a mile off the lake but they're lovely. We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bath unit with a large kitchen and full size laundry room (no stinky beach towels!) which was plenty of space for 2 families (4 adults, 5 kids). Place was modern and great. The resort has everything you need including a full marina where you can rent all the water toys you'll need and a couple of nice restaurants. They do a nice job with activities for the kids - very helpful when the weather doesn't cooperate. We enjoyed it very much and will be back.

Room Tip: Whitebirch is new but not on the lake, other buildings are lakeside but older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breezy Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breezy Point Resort

Address: 9252 Breezy Point Dr., Breezy Point, MN 56472
Location: United States > Minnesota > Breezy Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breezy Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Big Pelican Lake, Breezy Point Resort, provides the perfect setting for you, your friends and your family to get away from it all. The resort encompasses 3,000 acres with two 18-hole golf courses, a complete boat marina, more than 250 lodging units, restaurants, an ice arena, lounge and full-service conference center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breezy Point Hotel Breezy Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breezy Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.