We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best conferences we ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madden's on Gull Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Madden's on Gull Lake to your Saves list
Madden's on Gull Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11266 Pine Beach Peninsula, Brainerd, MN 56401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Brainerd
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best conferences we ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

As the meeting chair for our organization I received many "thank you" cards and emails for hosting one of the best meetings yet. Most of the credit goes to Maddens and their staff.
They are organized, anticipating, flexible and friendly. The golf event was organized within a couple of days and last minute changes handeled without concern. Their summer whites program was a great mixer enjoyed by everyone from kids to seniors. The food and facilities are exceptional.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    45
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
66
40
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at Maddens Resort over the 4th of July weekend. The grounds are huge! They take very good care of the property and it's obvious that the staff members are well-trained in customer service. I brough my 2 year old daughter to the ice cream shop and she had a great time. I bought some of their homemade fudge to bring home to grandma. We ate at the lobby restaurant for dinner and the food was okay. Nothing wonderful, service was good, portions were large, prices were pretty high. I would have liked to see more healthy options available on the menu. Had breakfast at the lobby cafe and the president of the place stopped by each table to chat-- a nice touch. The food for breakfast was much better. The hotel took our pet with a $35 fee, which was a better option than having to board her. They even left a treat bag in the room for her-- how thoughtful! There was a nice flat screen TV in the hotel room. The beds and pillows were comfy and the room was large. There was a coffeemaker, hair dryer and mini fridge in the room, all very handy. The bathroom was dated and so was the carpet. It could do with a little updating. The kids loved the well-taken care of beach and kiddie pool. The property is a little difficult and I found myself driving in circles sometimes. A few more signs would be helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Spent 3 nights at resort with husband and 2 sons 15 & 11. Got Wilson Bay room summer special via Madden's website, 2 queens for $140 with lake view was a great value. Food on site was okay, not amazing. Family golf options, lake beach toys (trampoline, slide) and evening lawn bowling, shuffleboard, croquet was just terrific for the entire family. Lunch at Parfecto pizza on site was best tasting food. Massage at on site spa was nice treat. Definitely a great place for one family vacation or a reunion.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The location on Gull Lake is absolutely beautiful. Our room at the lodge was well-maintained and very clean. We had two bathrooms, and a spacious balcony overlooking the lake. It rained the entire time we were there, but the staff went out of their way to make the stay special for our family. The lit a bonfire one night, in a drizzling rain, so our children could make s'mores, and took us our on a pontoon boat tour in 55' weather. Every staff member we encountered was very polite and kind.

We used the indoor swimming pool, fitness room, and really enjoyed the ice cream parlor. We hope to go back again, in better weather!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The grounds, gardens, buildings, staff, restaurants are all top shelf. You can relax and read a book or be as active and busy as you want. This really would be a great place for families as they seem to have a lot for kids to do. The food at The Classic is outstanding. Every employee we dealt with or just walked past was very friendly and pleasant. I think the staff is a level above many hotels/resorts. Am looking forward to going back in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Critical group of employees...and everyone absolutely loved Madden's. It was the perfect location to hold our meeting; Madden's made this event unforgettable!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Classic Trip Up North. We just came home tonight. It is so nice to set your own pace. Relax and enjoy or play hard. The golf course was fantastic & we saw all the fantastic results of their hard work in keeping this resort looking great.
Gull Lake is right there for all kinds of different water activities. Also they have Indoor swimming & dining, @ multiple locations. There is even a nice little coffee& ice cream parlor shop.
The employees we met were all very nice & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madden's on Gull Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madden's on Gull Lake

Address: 11266 Pine Beach Peninsula, Brainerd, MN 56401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Brainerd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Brainerd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madden's on Gull Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large resort with four golf courses, dining, spa, children's activities, tennis, croquet, watersports, miles of lakeshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Madden's on Gull Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maddens Resort On Gull Lake Hotel Brainerd
Maddens Hotel Brainerd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madden's on Gull Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.