We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food, and value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iven's on the Bay

Iven's on the Bay
19090 Hwy 371 North, Brainerd, MN 56401
(218) 829-9872
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Brainerd
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glencoe, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, food, and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stopped on our way home from the lake. It was right at 5:00 so we took advantage of the "early bird" menu. We were greeted immediately and were waited on hand and foot! My husband ordered one cocktail, and we shared the very tasty BBQ Thai springroll appetizer. I ordered a salad to start followed by the Walleye over a wide noodle with a pesto sauce and red peppers. Oh my gosh, soooo delicious! My husband ordered the beef stroganoff. Again, very flavorable, and a nice portion size. We shared the creme brûlée. Our total bill came to $45. I read someone else's review bashing Ivens value. I have to disagree with that. I have spent that same amount for only myself eating at Granite City, so only $45 for the two of us was quite the deal! Plus, the staff was awesome, there even before we needed them. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    19
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nisswa, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant lake front dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

World class dining experience, nothing else to say. Prices are completely in line with the level of servcie and the quality of the food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get There Early On Tuesdays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

There is a full range of food available, but on Tuesdays the $10 Angus burger is only $5. People line up as early as 4:15 to get in. Food is very good and if you are staying anywhere near Nisswa, Baxter or Brainerd, it's a good choice. It's located between Nisswa and Baxter on a lake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really good food and wonderful ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Here's why you should visit Iven's: the food is prepared fresh and the chef cares about his creations. We enjoyed Iven's chopped salad, steamed mussels and the seared walleye taco - all delicious! My only regret is that we missed happy hour with half price appetizers. We can't wait to return to try more items on the menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dining and impeccable service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were seeking fine dining in the Brainerd Lakes area and came across Iven's. We were both impressed with both the quality of the food and the service. This is fine dining at it's best. Try the ahi tuna and the spicy tempura roll - both extraordinary! A wonderful dining experience! They also have a great happy hour with half price appetizers and two for one drinks. The smoked chicken nachos are the best I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iven's on the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Iven's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iven's on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.