We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake to your Saves list
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11000 Craguns Drive, Brainerd, MN 56401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE PONTOON RENTAL
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brainerd
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great vacation again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a great time again at Cragun's. The reunion cabin is perfect when you want to have multiple groups together but give each family unit their own space. Plenty for the kids to do and a nice beach besides. Thr reunion cabin has been updated and looks great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    73
    46
    31
    27
See reviews for
133
41
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family of 6 has stayed here for one and two night stays in the last month. Reservations were quick and easy and the staff making the reservations on the phone were polite and honestly friendly. Checking in was a breeze, informative and handled by friendly staff. Our children - including teenagers and younger ones - had a blast and had many things to do. No one was bored! Mom and dad were relaxed.

While the accomodations are dated, it gives you a feel of nostalgia. Our first time we were there we had a two floor rustic cabin with two half baths, 2 bedrooms, plus another full room with double beds. We had our own deck overlooking one of the two beaches on the property. We had a small kitchen. Great spot.

Our second time we had a room at the mainlodge. We were just down the hallway from the main dining area and the pool. There was a real fireplace in our room. We had a wetbar and mini-fridge, a full bath, and again, a deck overlooking the lake.

This is not a fancy resort, but a nice resort. This is family style, old school resort by the water...
great golf courses. Lots of rental at reasonable prices in the marina right on the property. Pools. Walking path. Kids activities.

Just like a big up north MN hug.

So, that said, don't expect white robes and butler staffing to your door. Don't expect new appliances in the kitchen or marble counter tops... But expect MN charm, friendly staff, plenty of options for activities and plenty of options for relaxing and doing a whole bunch of nothing. Clean. Fun. Great location. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side closer to outdoor pool. Rooms on the north side closer to marina. Smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

personally, I have never stayed in a resort. But this was the 2nd best vacation EVER! (next to a cruise) the staff was very in on the information and very helpful. the lake IS GEORGEOUS AND A PERFECT TEMPURTURE. I absolutely loved it! the rooms are huge and clean. and everything about it just makes you think PARADISE! make sure to feed the ducks while your there (get the food for a quarter in the marina) you will not regret going.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked a Girlfriend Spa Package. The spa services were great. Highly recommend the facial. My review is based on a a fireplace room located in the Main Lodge. As others have said, the resort is dated. Our room was good, nice tiled bathroom and carpet in the room. The hallway could use some updating but it is a high traffic area. Main Lodge reminded me like a old fashion motel style. Even though I looked at pictures and Google, I was surprised at the long layout of the resort. It's a hike from the lobby to the outdoor pool and the Main Lodge is built into a hillside with lots of levels/steps. The breakfast buffet was good and staff made you feel very comfortable. One word of caution... have on shoes if you're on your deck. Some of the nails were backing out... comes with living in MN! I would stay again if the price was right.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had 63 family members from the east coast to the west coast and the south meet at Cragun's. Cragun's is near the original reunion site our family had in 1940. I live on the east coast but had 5 years prior been to Cragun's for a conference. I had 3 years to pull together this reunion and I had an amazing coordinator, Tanya, the entire time. She helped get together activities such as beach party, bonfire with s'mores, and an ice cream social. The food was good, and the people at the dining area was midwest hospitatlity at it's best.
Family members enjoyed low or no cost activities. Swimming, canoeing and other activities available without extra charge. It is a wonderful family friendly place.
I would not call it luxery but if you want to go somewhere that you can enjoy yourself,with 62 of your closest family members, and have people telling you it was "the best" give Cragun's a call.

Room Tip: Shoreview Suites are great. King size beds only in those rooms and the pull out sofa's are unco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

At the end of June we were in Minneapolis for a wedding and along with two other couples decided to spend a few days at a lake resort prior to the wedding and we chose Cragun's. If you're looking for a luxury resort, well this isn't it. But if you're looking for a very well maintained property (albeit a little old), very friendly service, and just a place to chill for a few days at a reasonable price, this is it! The staff their couldn't have been more accommodating and freindly. Be sure to take a pontoon boat on the lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose Cragun's as our home-away-from-home because we were invited to a wedding that was held there on July 14, 2012. We were apprehensive because most of the reviews we read on their website were not favorable. We had a wonderful experience! The staff was friendly, professional, and made us feel like we were the most important people in the world! One of the things that made a big impression on us was the smoothness of the operation of the resort; the staff had many different functions to perform in the course of a day, and they were well trained and cheerful no matter what job they were performing. Although the furnishings were a bit dated, our room was spacious and clean and well maintained, and of course, it, like all rooms had a nice view of Gull Lake. The food was fantastic and very resonably priced-we were not tempted to leave the resort to find better food - in fact, once we arrived at the resort, we never started our car until we left, four days later! There were many organized events that were available each day which appealed to the many families that were staying there, including beach bonfires each nite on the sandy beach which extends for about a mile along the Southern tip of Gull Lake. NO Mosquitos!! We were 'bug-free' for our entire stay which really amazed us, having lived in Minnesota for over 20 years before moving to Virginia 20 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake

Address: 11000 Craguns Drive, Brainerd, MN 56401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Brainerd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brainerd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MN's largest 4 season resort, on Gull Lake with 3700 feet of sandy shoreline, two swimming pools, indoor sports center, Cragun's Legacy Golf Courses offering 54 holes of golf, hiking and biking trails, lakeside fire pits, family activities, all rooms face the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cragun`s Golf Hotel Brainerd
Craguns Golf Resort And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.