We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun spot.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ernie's On Gull Lake

Ernie's On Gull Lake
10424 Squaw Point Rd, East Gull Lake, Brainerd, MN 56401-3099
218-829-3918
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 restaurants in Brainerd
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Minnesota, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a fun spot.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We eat at Ernie's quite often and do enjoy going there. During the summer it's a fantastic location right on Gull Lake and is always a happening place. They have a nicely varied menu from solid appetizers, salads, some really good sandwiches and a nice selection of entrees. This is not a foodie spot by any means but the service is friendly, the view is great, the drinks are cold and tasty and the food, while not anything special, will not disappoint.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    36
    24
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not As Good As We Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went here for dinner and were seated right away. The view of Gull Lake was really just frozen snow as we were here in winter.

The waitress was nice. I had the fish and chips but the fish was quite greasy. I've had fish before that was fried but I think this one had too much batter on it so that all you tasted was the grease. I only ate two of the 5 or so pieces they gave me.

My husband had the steak which tasted fine.

Overall, it was okay. While we were there, snowmobilers came across the frozen lake to have dinner. The view of the lake is probably very beautiful in the summer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the place you want to go to on Gull Lake. Great food, great staff, reasonable prices, great beer selection, homey, warm, accessible by snowmobile (if you're on one of those) - all around great. Go here. You won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of the best in the area. Good company, good food, plenty of drink choices. Love it and the vista is just outstanding. A must visit and don't forget to say hello to Zac!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place that sums up the Brainerd Lakes Area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The food is always consistantly great...the service is solid...the summer atmosphere is amazing!! The daytime winter atmosphere is a lot of fun seeing all of the fish houses and snowmobiles, where as the night time winter atmosphere is very indifferent. Overall, a must visit if you're in the Brainerd Lakes Area!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's On Gull Lake also viewed

 

Been to Ernie's On Gull Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernie's On Gull Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.