We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Bloomington Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Garden City, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is located very closely to the Mall of America, airport and Ikea, which makes this the perfect hotel if you have any of those destinations on your itinerary. The hotel and rooms are clean and the staff are friendly, which are my two biggest criteria. We had a room with a balcony that faced the freeway. At first I though it would be really noisy but the glass doors did a decent job of masking the sound and I found the "white noise" from the traffic comforting. The free Internet was adequate but you can pay a little more if you want a faster connection. The breakfast buffet was good, although a little pricey. I think it was almost $11. The bartender, in the lounge, makes some fantastic drinks and is great at recommendations.

Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    64
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
43
31
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malone, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Used to stay here more regularly but have not in a few months. Marriott staff and facilities are in a "league of their own" in quality, courtesy and attention to customer needs.

On this trip I found two things that surprised and frustrated me. First, the free coffee in the lobby tastes terrible. Early AM coffee that tastes good IS a big deal to me. Other Marriott locations I have patronized do not have this problem. Second, I had to call the Internet tech support to "unblock" my web access FOUR TIMES in an evening. My evening time on the road is full of business work on spreadsheets, email, company database access (in the cloud) often requiring a few internet browsing windows open. Tech support indicated I had too many browser windows open. This never happens at any other Marriott location at which I stay anywhere and I rack up > 100 nights/yr on the road with Marriott. This experience will dissuade me from booking here again in near future.

Room Tip: Away from I-94 on higher floor is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice, and the airport/mall shuttle was convenient (also with friendly staff) It is located with OUTBACK restaurant next door and a few other places within a decent walkable distance (or possibly dropped off by shuttle driver so tip well!) A quick shuttle to the mall to catch the train downtown. All of these things made it easy for us to fly in for our 4 day stay without renting a car or paying slightly more to stay downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIsconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is great for the price. It was very clean, the staff were helpful and pleasant. It has a shuttle to Mall of America and airport. It is less than a minute from the mall. The pool is warm and nice. Our room was clean and well maintained.
The only complaints I have about this hotel are that the beds are the most uncomfortable beds I've ever kept in and there is one channel on TV for kids which is the Cartoon Network which is mainly inappropriate shows for kids. If you want to watch kids shows you have to pay or them.
I would definitely stay here again for this type of vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I often travel to Minnesota to visit relatives and have stayed in many different hotels. The Courtyard would have to be the best all rounder in terms of friendliness of staff, cleanliness, how well the room was appointed, bar and restaurant standard and value for money. When booking online we requested extra towels, particular pillow types and room level and all was provided upon on arrival. Being from out of town and arriving in the middle of a Minnesota winter, we loved the underground parking and considered it great value for only an additional ten dollars per day. We especially loved the breakfast offered, great selection of food and our favorite was the omelette where you selected your ingredients and the friendly chef's cooked fresh in front of you. The lobby was again well appointed and had a fire place and comfortable chairs to relax in. We loved the hotel so much, we stayed upon our return and brought our in-laws with us. Within ten minute drive (probably closer) to the airport and five minute drive to The Mall of America. Loved the fun and hospitality of the bar staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel. Lobby is large and inviting with lots of little areas to sit and chat. Staff was very helpful. We requested a rollaway bed and it was delivered within minutes. Room was huge. Two queen beds and ample space to put the rollaway. We travel with one in a wheelchair and this had plenty of room to manuever. Sink and mirror is outside of the bathroom and if I had a complaint it would be that the countertop area was small. The hallways and rooms were very quiet. Mall of America is just a couple of minutes away. Definately would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for four nights following a business meeting trip to the area. My wife flew in and met me here. Shuttle to and from the nearby airport and mall were one of the reasons we choose this hotel. Has an onsite restaurant with room service, a bit unusual for a Courtyard. Hotel was packed on the weekend, lots of families visiting the mall I think. There was a bit of noise coming from kids in the hall one night. Management seemed to take care if it after a call to the desk. Great value for what we paid. Clean, comfortable, with helpful staff. Kwep in mind the shuttle runs once an hour to rhe mall and airport, not on demand. You juat need to plan ahead.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington

Address: 7800 Bloomington Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Courtyard Bloomington
Courtyard Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Courtyard
Bloomington Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott - Minneapolis Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.