We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just okay for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I've stayed at many Marriott properties and at this price point I've experienced better. On the upside, the front desk and breakfast staff were very friendly and the room was clean and nicely furnished. Access to the Mall or Ikea is a very short walk which makes this location very convenient.

However, I was shocked to discover that there was not a refrigerator in the room. In a location where families are often staying for several days, a refrigerator is an expectation nowadays. As our room faced the approach to the runway, it was VERY noisy when planes were landing. There was a good variety of hot and cold food offered for breakfast, but the room becomes quite crowded and chaotic in a hurry. I think the chairs might be too big for the space as it becomes very difficult to maneuver once the tables become occupied.

While there was nothing horribly wrong during our stay, I felt that the cost of the room exceeded what was provided. I would not choose this property again unless it was offered at a very low rate.

Green Features: I did not like the use of disposable plates and utensils in the breakfast room. Extremely wasteful.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear IntownfromJapan,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm glad that you found our staff to be very friendly and your room's cleanliness was to your liking. I apologize that your room did not include a fridge and microwave. Please know that only certain room types carry these amenities. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will allow us another chance to host you on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    84
    23
    16
    9
See reviews for
92
32
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mt pleasant, wi
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Ideal location near the Mall of America. Free airport and mall shuttle but walking distance from the mall. Excellent breakfast except for the crowds (arrive before 7:45 am). Convenient shuttle service. Room was all right. (Did find an empty plastic juice bottle on the floor. Should have been better inspected for cleanliness). The hotel people from the front desk clerks, shuttle drivers and breakfast area servers were all very nice and helpful. At times, can hear the planes taking off and landing nearby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Efficient, pleasant check in just before midnight after a long day of travel. Quiet third floor room with chip crumbs on the bed, used Q-tips on the floor between bed and night stand, nose strip glued to head board, money on the floor. We were thankful the bathroom was clean, but drain was slow and only three tissues supplied with no extra box. Full breakfast was plentiful and pool was crystal clear. Sorry, Marriott, Hilton will have my business next time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear West92,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and indoor pool. However, please accept my sincere apologies for the state of your room. This is unacceptable for our hotel and I have already addressed it with my housekeeping staff to ensure it doesn't happen again. Please allow us another opportunity to make up for this on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have no complaints about this hotel. This is the second time we have stayed here so that we would have easy access to Mall of America. Great price, great location, super clean rooms and hotel and it's one of the best free hotel breakfasts we've ever had. Staff is always very gracious and helpful.

Room Tip: Not every two bedroom has a fridge, ask for that it makes the room a little bigger and more convenie...
See more room tips
Green Features: Super friendly staff. If you like to sit outside and hate noise, then this is not the hotel for you. Planes fly directly over. I, however, love to watch the planes and so do our kids, so we had no problems with the noise level.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff very pleasant. Location was fine. I stay at Fairfields from time to time on business. Some are more spacious. This one just felt cramped. Maybe it was all the people/shoppers. But lobby was cramped. Hallways were cramped. Elevators. Rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear McLean4,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and staff here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I do apologize that the rest of our hotel did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will allow us another chance to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLETON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here 1 night before driving up to the border. Our room was ready early. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The shower had lots of pressure and hot water. There were numerous children on our floor but our room was very quiet. Our room was on the 4th floor bout we never had to wait very long for the elevator.

We didn't swim but the pool looked nice. There is a free shuttle to the Mall of America but it's only a short walk to the Sears end of the mall so we walked over without any problems.

The breakfast was great and had lots of choices besides carbs. The server was excellent and made you feel like a VIP.

We have stayed at 2-3 of the properties surrounding the Mall but will stay here from now on.
No complaints.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 queen beds and they were very comfortable. I believe the entire property is non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights July 25-28, 2014. We got a King room with a sleeper sofa for 4 people - 2 of them children. I wouldn't do that again - I'd get 2 queen beds. But live and learn. We were in room 113 which was literally right next to the pool (and it was a handicap room). This hotel is about 500 ft. from the airport so if you don't like noise don't book this room. However the planes stop flying out around 10 pm and don't pick back up again until about 6 am. But if you have smaller kids who like to watch planes this might not be a bad pick as you see planes landing and taking off all the time. The Mall of America is about a block away so you could walk but it's on the other side of the street so we just drove and parked in the free ramp. They run a shuttle bus every hour on the hour from the hotel if you don't want the hassle of driving. I also liked that their checkout time was noon instead of 11 am like most hotels I've stayed at. On our last day we slept in a little then had time to play in the pool for an hour before we had to go. They also have a full breakfast every morning. Items included muffins, make your own waffle, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, yogurt, several types of fruit, coffee, juice, milk, diced potatoes, cheese omelets, sausage patties, bagels, toast, and english muffins - pretty much all the breakfast foods you can think of. Breakfast was from 6 am -10 am every day. We went around 9 am and it was a bit of a madhouse. You'll likely have to take your breakfast back to your room to sit down to eat it as the seating area is limited to about 30 people or so. But the food was good....and free! Swimming pool - depth is 3'6" and the deepest end is only 4'0" so just right for 6 year olds on up. Size of the pool - about 15' wide by 30' long or so. 2 Hot tubs which were very nice esp. after walking the mall all day. Capacity was 6 for each hot tub. Pool is handicapped accessible also. They also have a nice fenced in patio outside the pool area that seats 16 people. Very nicely landscaped. They had a well-stocked vending area as well. Friendly staff - we had no room problems so did not need to be helped by anyone. There is no restaurant on site but there are several at the MOA and there's an IHOP and TGI Friday's a couple blocks away behind the mall. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington

Address: 2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#22 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for a hotel near Mall of America will enjoy our location next to the giant shopping center. Guests will be within a 3 minute walk to the MOA and IKEA. The Marriott hotel is also near the Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport. Our Bloomington, MN hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to the Mall of America and the MSP Airport for your convenience. When you stay with us, you'll also be minutes from the fun of Nickelodeon Universe and the Sea Life Aquarium. Guests can also use the Mall of America light rail to take a quick trip to downtown Minneapolis with stops at the Nicollet Mall and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.