We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Met the test”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff very pleasant. Location was fine. I stay at Fairfields from time to time on business. Some are more spacious. This one just felt cramped. Maybe it was all the people/shoppers. But lobby was cramped. Hallways were cramped. Elevators. Rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear McLean4,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and staff here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I do apologize that the rest of our hotel did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will allow us another chance to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    82
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
89
29
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LITTLETON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here 1 night before driving up to the border. Our room was ready early. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The shower had lots of pressure and hot water. There were numerous children on our floor but our room was very quiet. Our room was on the 4th floor bout we never had to wait very long for the elevator.

We didn't swim but the pool looked nice. There is a free shuttle to the Mall of America but it's only a short walk to the Sears end of the mall so we walked over without any problems.

The breakfast was great and had lots of choices besides carbs. The server was excellent and made you feel like a VIP.

We have stayed at 2-3 of the properties surrounding the Mall but will stay here from now on.
No complaints.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 queen beds and they were very comfortable. I believe the entire property is non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights July 25-28, 2014. We got a King room with a sleeper sofa for 4 people - 2 of them children. I wouldn't do that again - I'd get 2 queen beds. But live and learn. We were in room 113 which was literally right next to the pool (and it was a handicap room). This hotel is about 500 ft. from the airport so if you don't like noise don't book this room. However the planes stop flying out around 10 pm and don't pick back up again until about 6 am. But if you have smaller kids who like to watch planes this might not be a bad pick as you see planes landing and taking off all the time. The Mall of America is about a block away so you could walk but it's on the other side of the street so we just drove and parked in the free ramp. They run a shuttle bus every hour on the hour from the hotel if you don't want the hassle of driving. I also liked that their checkout time was noon instead of 11 am like most hotels I've stayed at. On our last day we slept in a little then had time to play in the pool for an hour before we had to go. They also have a full breakfast every morning. Items included muffins, make your own waffle, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, yogurt, several types of fruit, coffee, juice, milk, diced potatoes, cheese omelets, sausage patties, bagels, toast, and english muffins - pretty much all the breakfast foods you can think of. Breakfast was from 6 am -10 am every day. We went around 9 am and it was a bit of a madhouse. You'll likely have to take your breakfast back to your room to sit down to eat it as the seating area is limited to about 30 people or so. But the food was good....and free! Swimming pool - depth is 3'6" and the deepest end is only 4'0" so just right for 6 year olds on up. Size of the pool - about 15' wide by 30' long or so. 2 Hot tubs which were very nice esp. after walking the mall all day. Capacity was 6 for each hot tub. Pool is handicapped accessible also. They also have a nice fenced in patio outside the pool area that seats 16 people. Very nicely landscaped. They had a well-stocked vending area as well. Friendly staff - we had no room problems so did not need to be helped by anyone. There is no restaurant on site but there are several at the MOA and there's an IHOP and TGI Friday's a couple blocks away behind the mall. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here on July 6th, 2014. This hotel was very nice and renovated. I always look at reviews online before booking and it seems pretty good. Room very very nice compared to many FFI properties. We requested an early check in which was not met but that is okay since it's only a request. We were worried about the airplanes flying overhead and hearing them in our room(we were on the front side) but you could not hear anything. Loved that.
Staff very friendly and breakfast was slammed and only one guy working nice and he tried the best he could. We walked to the mall of america even though that had a shuttle which ran about every 30 minutes or so.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were in the Bloomington area already for two nights previously at another hotel when we decided to stay a third and got this hotel for it's super easy access to MoA and free shuttle. They worked with my parents about letting them fax papers and pay over the phone for myself and little sister to pay. The rooms were nice, very clean, and we loved that we were on the fourth floor. The air traffic did not bother us and the beds were super comfortable. Even breakfast was a nice offering, but very very crowded, even two and a half hours after the start time. The only thing that really disappointed us is that there was no microwave/mini fridge in our room. At $150 a night I was expecting more than just a flat screen tv. There are other hotels very close to the MoA and if we had looked we probably could've found one with those two basic things. No problems here but lack of amenities.

Room Tip: There are four types of rooms, a basic king, a basic double queen, and then a king studio and I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was not lucky enough to get the informative-and-welcoming-check-people-in-fast Tracy upon my arrival. My check in girl was unfriendly and took forever to "find us a room"; "check in isn't till 3:00". Meanwhile Tracy checked in three or four families without such complaints. Then when we haul all our luggage upstairs, we find our keys were not properly activated and I had to go down again and wait in line. She offered no apology just a simple "there's no reason it isn't working". Argggggh. Disappointing service and not welcoming.
Rooms themselves are fine and fairly priced.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Reenie004,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm sorry to hear that your check in experience was less than satisfactory. We strive to impress our guests, and I'm sorry that we came up short during your stay. I have addressed your concerns with my front desk staff to ensure future guests do not have the same experience. Please allow us the opportunity to make up for this on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel itself, while pricey, is in a nice location. Located across the highway from the Mall of America and just off the freeway exit. The place is clean, staff courteous and they offer a a free shuttle service to the mall. Beats having to cross four lanes of constant traffic. The pool while not large was OK as was the hot tub. The reception desk sports a small grocery nook that sells some essentials i.e. laundry soap, toiletries and water/sodas. WiFi is available and pretty fast. There is ample parking.

So why not more stars? Well it is a little pricey at over $400 for 3 nights but the complimentary breakfast was a nightmare. One staffer trying to managed a hoard of visitors in a room design to hold 20 people does not work. Trying to navigate past the angry gray hairs and screaming kids was the most miserable experience we have had in a hotel. By the time we were able to get some food on a plate we were ready to butcher a few folks. Reminded me of the subway crowds in Tokyo.

So in the end what is a nice hotel suffers from what was poorly thought out as a value added experience for its customers - NOT.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Edge8400,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, shuttle service and indoor pool. Please accept my apologies that your experience at our complimentary breakfast was less than exceptional. We appreciate your feedback and I will address it accordingly with my breakfast staff. Please allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Address: 2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#10 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#21 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations Completed August 2009. We now offer an Exercise Room, Market, and Guest Laundry. Located just across the street from the Mall of America, this hotel is the closest Marriott hotel to this world-famous entertainment and shopping venue. A complimentary shuttle ride gets you to the Mpls/St. Paul International Airport or Mall of America. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.