We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing Welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I was not lucky enough to get the informative-and-welcoming-check-people-in-fast Tracy upon my arrival. My check in girl was unfriendly and took forever to "find us a room"; "check in isn't till 3:00". Meanwhile Tracy checked in three or four families without such complaints. Then when we haul all our luggage upstairs, we find our keys were not properly activated and I had to go down again and wait in line. She offered no apology just a simple "there's no reason it isn't working". Argggggh. Disappointing service and not welcoming.
Rooms themselves are fine and fairly priced.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reenie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Reenie004,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm sorry to hear that your check in experience was less than satisfactory. We strive to impress our guests, and I'm sorry that we came up short during your stay. I have addressed your concerns with my front desk staff to ensure future guests do not have the same experience. Please allow us the opportunity to make up for this on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself, while pricey, is in a nice location. Located across the highway from the Mall of America and just off the freeway exit. The place is clean, staff courteous and they offer a a free shuttle service to the mall. Beats having to cross four lanes of constant traffic. The pool while not large was OK as was the hot tub. The reception desk sports a small grocery nook that sells some essentials i.e. laundry soap, toiletries and water/sodas. WiFi is available and pretty fast. There is ample parking.

So why not more stars? Well it is a little pricey at over $400 for 3 nights but the complimentary breakfast was a nightmare. One staffer trying to managed a hoard of visitors in a room design to hold 20 people does not work. Trying to navigate past the angry gray hairs and screaming kids was the most miserable experience we have had in a hotel. By the time we were able to get some food on a plate we were ready to butcher a few folks. Reminded me of the subway crowds in Tokyo.

So in the end what is a nice hotel suffers from what was poorly thought out as a value added experience for its customers - NOT.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Edge8400,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm glad that you enjoyed our location, shuttle service and indoor pool. Please accept my apologies that your experience at our complimentary breakfast was less than exceptional. We appreciate your feedback and I will address it accordingly with my breakfast staff. Please allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice efficient hotel for overnight on business. Many families and kids do to the Mall across the street. Bathroom small... Room small... TV small... But all clean and new. Very close to the airport but never heard a plane inside. Stayed on the third floor might be different on the fourth. Shuttle service to airport was on time, clean, and friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Camarillodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Camarillodan,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed a clean and quiet night in your room and that our airport shuttle suited your needs. We hope that you will once again choose to stay with us on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Marjorie S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed for a night between an international and a domestic connection. The free shuttle and proximity to the airport and Mall of America were very convenient, and the driver, Bill, was a rockstar.

The friendliness, professionalism, and attentiveness of the staff were outstanding. The front desk upgraded me to a king suite at no cost and also let me use their phone to call my family, when I was unexpectedly without my laptop, cell, and other items.

The hot breakfast buffet was hardy and flavorful, offering omelettes, potatoes, bacon, and other hot and cold items.

I will be staying at this hotel again with family again this year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashurbanipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonderful hotel with a very helpful staff. Hotel was clean, beds were great with plenty of pillows. The breakfast buffet was awesome. Our first morning I had a strawberry waffle/bacon, second morning I had biscuits & gravy, both were yummy. This buffet had more items then I can list, it even had both sausage and bacon. Hotel provides shuttle to both the Airport & Mall, so we turned our car in two days early. Would stay at this hotel again just great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerNBarstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The room is clean and nicely equipped. We left early in the morning for the airport and the staff gave us brown bags for breakfast which was nice. The airport shuttle is free, on time and very helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank duvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Needed a one night stay on my way to the Twin Cities and Rockford, IL was the perfect stop. The staff at Fairfield was outstanding and very sensitive to my need for a feather free room. The hotel was clean and all appliances (TV, hair dryer) worked properly. The breakfast was nicer than most free breakfasts in this price range. All in all a nice place with great people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_C_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis - St. Paul Airport
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - Mall of America
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Minneapolis Mall of America
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington

Address: 2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#17 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for a hotel near Mall of America will enjoy our location next to the giant shopping center. Guests will be within a 3 minute walk to the MOA and IKEA. The Marriott hotel is also near the Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport. Our Bloomington, MN hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service to the Mall of America and the MSP Airport for your convenience. When you stay with us, you'll also be minutes from the fun of Nickelodeon Universe and the Sea Life Aquarium. Guests can also use the Mall of America light rail to take a quick trip to downtown Minneapolis with stops at the Nicollet Mall and Target Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing