We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Ottumwa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location and nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from the Mall of America and has a free shuttle to and from the mall every hour. It only takes about five minutes to get to the mall from the hotel by shuttle. The hotel was was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was surprisingly good for a hotel. It had a wide variety of foods to choose from. They also offer free wifi and have a decent size pool and hot tub. I will definately be staying here on my next trip to MOA. The location is perfect and it is budget friendly without having to compromise cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    74
    19
    14
    8
See reviews for
82
27
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This property appeared to be new or recently updated. It is in a very convenient location for the Mall of America or the Minneapolis airport. You can walk to the mall, although they have a free shuttle. The only issue we had was the breakfast area was too small to handle the amount of people. The food was just fine, we just had to go up to our room to eat. Not that big of a deal. I was a little surprised that we didn't notice the noise from the nearby airport. Our room was on the back side, which was facing an approach lane of the airport.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned about airport noise-the windows did the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was overall pleased with the location, cleanliness, and friendliness of the staff. My only complaint was there is not a microwave/refrig combo in the room. I kinda of expect it in all the rooms but when I was booking the hotel I did not ask about it. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is great--just across the street from Mall of America. It was a very busy place to stay but everything was great. I did have to do laundry one night (3 kids) and was surprised that there is only one washer/dryer. Luckily, the night I did the laundry I was the only one using it so it worked out fine. Overall, great stay! The breakfast was hot and there was always enough food out even on late mornings.

Room Tip: If you want a refrig/microwave make sure you ask for it while booking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After weather caused a 6 hour delay, we arrived at Minneapolis around midnight. I called the hotel after our flight was delayed and we were assured that the shuttle would pick us up. The front desk was very helpful in explaining the airport walkways and how to get to our luggage and where to wait for the shuttle. We got our luggage and the arrived in a timely manner soon after I called the desk for pick-up.

This hotel always had hot coffee available in the lobby area and a fresh water dispenser. In the afternoon they placed flavored water for guest which was delicious. We always refilled out empty water bottles with the strawberry/lemon flavored water when we got back from our shopping.

The breakfast in the morning was great with hot/cold cereal, eggs / meat, make your own waffles, assorted breads / toast, hard-boiled eggs, juice/milk, fruits, yogurt. Since I travel with seniors, we get up early anyway and beat the family guests.

The shuttle drivers were friendly and knows the store locations so just ask. it saves you looking at the mall's map. And we got dropped off at the mall to ride the rail for the experience.

Once the utility guy saw me refilling my water bottle at night and he said he'd bring out fresh water for me. There still was about a fourth left in the dispenser but like I said the service was great.

Also the pool is on the ground floor and the staff does a good job mopping up the wet floors with all the kids going in and out of the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is just across the street from Mall of America. They have free shuttle service every hour. Shuttles arrive on time but can fill up quickly towards mall closing time so if you prefer to stay out late or if you don't want to wait for the shuttle, parking is just as easy and accessible from the hotel. We were there for spring break but temps were still dropping at night. On a warm day I would think it wouldn't be a bad walk either. Room, lobby, pool and breakfast area were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here and it was a fantastic choice- we will definitely be back.

The shuttle is on time (and runs every hour to the Mall of America) and the shuttle drivers we had were all very nice. They also picked us up at 1 AM from the airport after many flight delays and from the mall at midnight after we saw a movie. These were both outside of the normal shuttle hours but the driver was still friendly and happy to do it.

The room was great. The beds were extremely comfortable. However, there were 2 downsides (the only 2 of our whole stay there). The first is the bathroom didnt seem very clean. It wasnt horrible, nor enough to change rooms, but there was some hair in the shower and a dirty wash cloth underneath the sink. The other con was the TV. It would randomly turn off, or change the channel. It was very odd and creepy.

Breakfast in the mornings was great and featured a good selection of things like waffles, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, etc. We also liked the Market Pantry area which was always stocked with drinks, snacks, etc. at reasonable prices.

The location is excellent (walking distance to the mall and close to the airport!), breakfast was good, beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was very friendy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

PROS: Location was perfect for Mall of America, IKEA store, and train to twins game. The shuttle was free and will pick you up anytime if they are not busy, I missed my shuttle and they went out of way to come back and get me, also picked me up at the IKEA store. Price was great for what we got. The room was quiet (except for air conditioner). The staff (front desk people, breakfast guy and shuttle driver) were very good, nice and professional. Check in was perfect and fast, 2 people working, checkout was also quick. Breakfast was very good and they never ran out of food like other places, they kept it well stocked.
CONS: Air condition was very loud when it kicked on and off all night would wake us up and did not work well, beds and pillows were a little hard, no pillow top for either...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Address: 2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#15 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations Completed August 2009. We now offer an Exercise Room, Market, and Guest Laundry. Located just across the street from the Mall of America, this hotel is the closest Marriott hotel to this world-famous entertainment and shopping venue. A complimentary shuttle ride gets you to the Mpls/St. Paul International Airport or Mall of America. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.