We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located by the Mall of America so there is plenty to do nearby. The pool and the hot tubs are sufficient, not to large but of moderate size. There was a staff member who I encountered at least twice during our very short stay and he was extremely helpful and a pleasant smiling face. He seemed to be in charge of the morning breakfast (Sunday 6/16). The breakfast was great and fully stocked. The rooms were moderate in size; however the bathroom was very small. We did find a number of left over hairs in our bathtub and in our towels, which was a bit unexpected to say the least. The beds were comfortable and bedding was sufficient. All in all, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    72
    17
    14
    7
See reviews for
78
26
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in April. The location was great for visiting the Mall of America. We were able to walk right across the street and a shuttle was also available.

Being able to buy snacks/drinks was great and the room was clean.

When we arrived our room wasn't ready. We were fine with this and planned on heading to the mall. I then heard one employee tell another that she saves the rooms that are ready for guests who don't have a reservation. This bothered me. Why did we have to wait when we had a reservation?

We were warned at check in that there would be a long breakfast line. One employee told me we should just go to IHOP instead, which I thought was a little rude. I did go to the hotel breakfast and had to wait in line for a while. There wasn't much food left when I got to the front of the line. The breakfast was free so it wasn't a huge deal, but if they knew it would be so busy it would have been nice if they had prepared enough food.

Overall, it wasn't a bad experience. If you want to be near the mall it's a great location. However, we'll probably choose a different hotel with better service for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BloomingtonFFS_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as our staff. I apologize we didn’t have a room available for you upon check-in and that our service didn’t meet your expectations. I want to assure you I have addressed this with our staff. We hope with our continued efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will give the Fairfield Inn & Suites by the Mall of America another try next time you stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon MO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent three nights here the first week of June. It was great, the location was perfect for the Mall and Ikea. It was also centrally located for all activities we wanted to do in the Twin Cities. Rooms were clean, pool was nice, staff was great, and breakfast was free and well stocked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hotel was clean inside and out. Staff was very polite and accomodating in all aspects. There is a mechanic shop just behind the hotel...we stayed over a weekend, so there was no noise from them.

There are plenty of options at the breakfast bar...hot and cold (biscuits are served cold, be warned), but in all there was plenty and taste was average.

Pool area looked clean, didn't use it so I'm not sure of the temperature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Right off I-494 this hotel is across the street from Mall of America. We arrived to a very busy registration desk, there were three attendants and this made the check in process go quickly and smoothly. Our room was a spacious king with roomy sitting area, microwave, and refrigerator - bathroom a little tight. Nice variety of hot and cold complimentary breakfast items. Huge plus was the hourly shuttle van to the mall - no need to get into the large parking mess at the mall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice, and was updated w/ flat screen tv and new fixtures. the bed was comfortable. It is located close to M.O.A. Breakfast was included and was very good. The pool was a little smalll, but would be good for kids. We were happy to find two hot tubs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The staff was very accomodating at checkin and referred me to a few options for dinner close to the hotel and ones that also delivered to the hotel. I had a need for insulin to be refrigerated and they helped make that happen. I stayed in a double queen room. It was very clean, neat and quiet. There was plenty of space to spread out my toiletries and relax. I did make use of the pool and the 2 hot tubs and I also walked across the street to the Mall of America (literally across the street and down). The one thing for me was I slept terrible. The bed was very hard for my taste, I prefer a little more comfy mattress, with that said the bedding was fine the room temperature control was very manageable. Breakfast ran from 6-10am and they kept great stock and had a variety of foods warm and cold. Overall this is a very good place to stay. Very close to the airport and the hotel had hourly shuttles to the Mall but I just walked there.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine no particular preference it was quieter than I expected being so close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America

Address: 2401 American Boulevard East, Bloomington, MN 55420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#12 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#15 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovations Completed August 2009. We now offer an Exercise Room, Market, and Guest Laundry. Located just across the street from the Mall of America, this hotel is the closest Marriott hotel to this world-famous entertainment and shopping venue. A complimentary shuttle ride gets you to the Mpls/St. Paul International Airport or Mall of America. For kids, we offer the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program - a great way to help your little traveler enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America Hotel Bloomington
Fairfield Inn And Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America
Fairfield Inn Minneapolis
Fairfield Inn Bloomington
Fairfield Bloomington
Bloomington Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall Of America MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington/Mall of America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.