We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay near airport and Mall of America” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55427   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good place to stay near airport and Mall of America”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were here to attend my brother's graduation. We stayed for 2 nights. The room is spacious and check in and check out were a breeze.There is free parking and hotel shuttle to airport and mall of america if you are not driving. Indoor swimming pool and hot tub looks inviting even though we did not try it.For the pricing it offers great value for money than downtown hotels.

Room Tip: They have newly renovated floors but only have shower option. Ask for a quiet room,not the one facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you! It's great to receive such a nice review. We hope you get a chance to come back some time to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    159
    49
    21
    20
See reviews for
101
82
53
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just got back from a very brief business trip to Bloomington, MSP. I had to write a review of the Crowne Plaza; I stay in many generic business hotels across the USA, but the service and facilities offered here were exceptional.

So many to mention, but I'll try!

1: the staff - genuinely could not have been more helpful. The staff in the restaurant, especially Valorie, went above and beyond and were a credit to the hotel.
2: the room: wonderful - lovely toiletries, everything was spotless, the room was a great size and the double shower was top quality
3: the business centre; although small (two desks) - it was fully stocked, the printer was speedy and excellent, not a single hitch
4: wifi - free and fast - what a bonus

There is also a really large pool and fitness centre, plus the food in the restaurant is of a good quality.

The shuttle bus is regular, and makes scheduled trips to and from the Mall of America and airport, as well as ad hoc journeys to local restaurants (I can highly recommend 'Kincaids').

I genuinely can't fault the service, facilities or staff at this hotel, and look forward to returning really soon.

Room Tip: the 'womens only floor' has a separate key entry, and a fully stocked refridgerator in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are definetly not the generic hotel! Thanks for enjoying what we have to offer. We hope to see you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We held a two-day board meeting here. The staff are warm, cheerful and responsive. The banquet manager was a joy to work with. The kitchen accommodated 3 special dietary requests without a problem. Food service was reasonably priced, the food quality drew compliments from attendees. I heard no complaints from any of our board members or staff. Many of our folks travel a lot on business, so those positive reviews are significant. The temperature in the meeting room can be adjusted by the group, so no need to wait for someone from the hotel to adjust temperature. Everyone liked their rooms. This hotel is also a union hotel. From the wonderful staff service, I'd say that treating your employees well shows in the service they provide.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you! Those are wonderful words. Happy employees that are happy to call this hotel their home, you can feel the difference. Keep us ion mind in the future. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Awesome hotel. Stayed on Ladies Only floor. Loved the extra amenities...free snacks, bottled water, sodas, ocean, etc. Lovely rooms, updated and modern. Hotel staff was incredible! I would recommend this property.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you! I am happy to know that were able to make your stay with us a fun and successful one. Thanks for the review and come back to see us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently and was quite impressed with the quality of the service from all staff. Every staff member that I dealt with (front desk, shuttle, restaurant and banquet) was extremely welcoming, patient, friendly and professional. I flew in and didn't have a car so the location of the hotel wasn't the best for me, but the shuttle was a convenient way to get around. I don't get to pick out my hotels, but I was very pleased with this one!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review! When your company is picking out the hotel, you must always wonder what you are in store for. We try our best and I am glad you enjoyed the stay. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I just thought I would mention how great the service was when I checked in earlier today. Ashley greeted me at the front desk and was so friendly and genuine that I felt the need to mention it in this writeup. I wish every hotel I've stayed at had someone like her working there.
As for the rest, the pool looked great, the hot tub was great, the room was newly renovated and was fantastic. The price was fair and comparable to other hotels available and I am very happy to have stayed here.
I will come back again as long as the price stays similar.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also thanks for making it a nice one. We will be looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel because we were on business and thus was the recommended hotel. Let me say not everything was bad. We flew in early on a Sunday and had called several days prior regarding early check in. The exact phrase was nope... We are booked that weekend. I understand being booked however I never use nope with customers. Once we arrived we actually were able to check in early. My husband requested, if available, a king room and even offered to check in later if we could have a king. Luckily she found one but was not very pleasant about the request. She wasn't unpleasant but just not pleasant. We then asked about lunch in the restaurant and the lady said they opened in at noon. We were OK with that, only 20 minutes so we went to room. As we were preparing to go down for lunch the desk called and said the restaurant actually wasn't open for lunch on Sunday. She then proceeded to tell us she forgot to give us breakfast vouchers and we could pick them up at the desk. We were really hungry since we had not eaten since 4:00 that morning. We were pondering our options when the clerk knocked on door and did deliver the vouchers. She then said she would call a cab for us and call us, it would take maybe 15 minutes. 30 minutes later we walked down to see about the cab and found information on restaurants close by. We asked if any open and could you walk. She was not completely sure but thought so.
Later that evening at the bar the bartender was friendly until we asked about other places to go watch a ballgame.
The front desk staff that evening was very helpful and said they could help us get an earlier shuttle to Mall on Monday if our group wanted. They followed through on that. As for return to hotel, several of us were later due to game but the shuttle would have picked us up if we had waited an hour. We did decide to go on in a taxi but that offer and the special shuttle run were the highlights.
Breakfast was fine and included, at least for one person per room but was not explained at check in.
The fire alarm went off Sunday and no one seemed to really care that we were inconvenienced with that. In fact I am not sure any staff paid close attention to that. Tuesday night our in room fire alarm went off. Not knowing it was just ours it was surprising to get to desk and have the clerk not apologize but just call maintenance. I will go back to not total implosion... They did fix it within about 20 minutes but this was at 11:00 at night.
This hotel tried to overcome shortcomings but sometimes you just fail and they failed.
Chalk it up to new staff, renovations... Yes they are renovating... But still fail.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBlackwell, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
All I can say is, you are right! It sounds to me that we failed to provide the wonderful experience that I know we are capable of. I am very sorry to hear about a less than impressive stay for you. We would love to talk in more detail about the stay if you would like. Please contact either myself (Travis Blackwell) or the General Manager, Charlie Lamont if you would to discuss your stay with us further. We are sorry and really would like to have another opportunity to show you the great experience that we can craft for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington

Address: 5401 Green Valley Drive, Bloomington, MN 55427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#5 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Crowne Plaza Bloomington is The Place to Meet. Whether you re here on a business trip, attending a meeting, on vacation or shopping at the Mall of America , your comfort and success are paramount. Located in the heart of the Bloomington, MN business district and just minutes from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport (MSP) and the Mall of America (MOA) with easy access to both downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul. Complimentary transportation is available to MSP Airport as well as Mall of America. The Crowne Plaza Bloomington hotel near Mall of America features a contemporary hotel design and leading edge technology that includes complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout, 42 high definition televisions in every room, a state-of- the-art fitness center with Precor equipment, core and balance accessories, and a Jr. Olympic sized indoor pool. Comfortably appointed hotel rooms, a full service restaurant and lounge, and the Priority Club Rewards hotel loyalty program makes this hotel The Place to Meet. The hotel was featured on NBC s Today Show for its unique women s floor, featured as one of the Best Airport Hotels by Business Week Online, rated one of the Top Hotels by the MSP/St Paul Business Journal, and the recipient of the Meeting Service Excellence Award from Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bloomington
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.