We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suite, but with some problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Bloomington to your Saves list
Residence Inn Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7850 Bloomington Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Shawnee, KS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice suite, but with some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stay here for the 2nd bedroom. The first night the rooms were cold and never warmed up too much. The second night we raised the thermostat, and the 2nd bedroom was still cold. Granted it was a very cold night in Minneapolis. The outlets were worn and loose in several places. The complimentary breakfast area had a personnel problem. Three of the four attendants were off sick. We decided not to waste an hour of our day and went down the street and paid for breakfast. On our next visit we may try the Homewood Suites instead.

Room Tip: There is also a 2nd Residence Inn in Edina, MN. It is not far from this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are terribly sorry that you encountered problems during your stay; they certainly are not typical and would like to be able to address them. It is true that the weather has been record-breaking cold here in Minnesota; however, our room temperatures should not have been uncomfortable. There may have had a thermostat issue, which our maintenance team can remedy pretty quickly along with any loose outlets. I do apologize that the room was not up to our usually high standards. I also apologize that breakfast was busier than normal and that you were not able to enjoy it. I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you more about your stay and would love to have the chance to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can have a better experience that is more typical of our hotel. Feel free to contact me at the hotel if you would like to discuss your hotel experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    61
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
9
1
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our third year bringing our family (children and grandchildren) to the Mall of America for Christmas. This was our second year staying at this Residence Inn. We have 3 families, 14 people total so the 2 bedroom suites for each family really fit the bill. There is plenty of room to spread out. Rooms were clean and well stocked. The front desk staff was excellent meeting and exceeding our requests. Shuttle drivers made extra trips to accommodate our large group never making us feel like we were putting them out. I would recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advsior. We are so glad that you and your family have enjoyed your last two stays at our hotel and that you have found our hotel clean and comfortable. We are thrilled our service team was able to exceed your expectations and hope that we will have the opportunity to do do again next year during your annua trip to Mall of America. Thank you again for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for a night, as we were flying out of MSP the next morning. We booked this because it offered 2 bedroom suites, and we wanted a separate room for our daughter. The room was very tired and dated. It was not very clean, and there was "stuff" on the walls in the bathroom, and hair, etc. There were dirty sheets left in a chair. For the price paid (over $200), it was not up to standards at all.

The walls are PAPER thin, and we could hear people running up and down the halls, people talking, TVs, etc. The beds were HORRIBLE and well past their useful life. This hotel is in desperate need of a face lift!

The hotel is on the border of a sketchy area, not very nice at all.

Breakfast was decent, but nothing special.

There are many other hotels in Minneapolis, and we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent experience at our hotel. Exceeding our guests’ expectations is very important to us and we would like to apologize for not exceeding yours. Please know that yor stay was not typical. I would love to be able to address your concerns and talk to you mroe about your hotel experience. I would welcome you to call me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here as it was close to the Mall of America, we wanted a little larger room, and we are Marriott rewards members. We very much enjoyed the clean spacious rooms. The pool and hot tub were also very nice. Easy access to the mall about 1/2 mile away or so. Out expectations were the typical Residence Inn standards and this hotel delivered. They do offer a free shuttle service to the mall but we chose to drive ourselves. This proved a mistake on Saturday was the mall was extremely busy and
parking was almost full. Should have used the shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Bloomington during your recent trip to Mall of America and for being loyal Marriott Rewards members. We are so glad that you appreciated the extra space our rooms provide, the cleanliness of our hotel and as well as our convenient location. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's services and amenities, but we are so sorry that parking at the mall was busy. We would be happy to shuttle you to and from during your next trip. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was perfect location to go to Mall of America and IKEA. The reason we picked for two couples in the same room with two rooms separated with the living and kitchen in the middle. Good privacy. Other than that, the restaurant around there is fair unless you eat either at MOA or IKEA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experinece on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the space and unique configuration of our two-bedroom suites. We are glad that they offered you the ability to share a room with your friends and still offer enough privacy. We thank you again for reviewing our property and hope that you will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

the rooms are very clean and big. I'm staying here rite now while writing the review. The whole staff so far are very helpful. They make you feel like home. It's a hotel that is kinda hard to find unless you looking for the street sign which is very small and hard to read. Overall it's a very nice hotel. The breakfast is very good like all Residance inn hotels

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for writing about your positive experience on Trip Advisor and for considering us a "Must Stay Hotel". We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated your spacious suite and the breakfast buffet. We are also glad that our staff was able to make you feel at home. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here a few nights on business. My room was a one bedroom suite. My suite featured the basic amenities. The only difference about my suite from the photos was my suite had a cooktop, no stove, and flatscreen TV's with plenty of HD content.

This hotel is not the newest hotel out there, but it is a clean and well maintained property. As far as the hotels go in the area, I do not think you are going to do any better at any of the surrounding properties. This hotel featured a shuttle than ran to the Mall of America on a regular schedule.

If you are staying in the area, I would recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynMurphy, General Manager at Residence Inn Bloomington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Residence Inn Bloomington! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our property to others coming to the area. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Bloomington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Bloomington

Address: 7850 Bloomington Avenue South, Bloomington, MN 55425
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Residence Inn
Residence Inn Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.