We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perennial favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Colette

Chez Colette
5601 W 78th St, Bloomington, MN 55439-3105
952-835-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Colette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 162 Restaurants in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: I-494 & Hwy 100
Description: Enjoy classic French cuisine with a modern twist at Colette bar and bistro. Newly renovated in 2010, Colette bar & bistro offers a relaxing ambiance for any occasion. Savor traditional favorites including French Onion Soup and Coq au vin, and let our staff suggest the perfect wine and dessert to complement your meal. Bon Appetit! A delectable variety of Colette bar & bistro Dining options await you. This award-winning Bloomington restaurant - Colette bar & bistro - features superb culinary delights and an unique cheese list. Enjoy a romantic dinner for two at Colette bar & bistro, our early-1900s, Parisian-style Brasserie, which also boasts an amazing wine list. For the food connoisseurs, we have created the “Taste of Paris”, a unique and affordable concept allowing guests to sample all courses served on one plate, from appetizer to dessert, for only $26. After your meal, relax with cocktails in our bar, perfect for winding down the night. Bon appetit!
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A perennial favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Chez Collette continues to be a great place for lunch. Their set bistro and petit bistro meals are delightful. The bread as always is great. A good place to have a conversation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    3
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Mother's Day Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have brunch at the Sofitel every Mother's Day, and it's fantastic. The buffet is beautiful, and every item on it is perfectly prepared and absolutely delicious. You can get waffles, crepes and omelets made to order. There are numerous hot dishes, and the salads bar has all kinds of delicacies -- crabs legs, lobster claws, smoked salmon, poached salmon, and much more. The selection of desserts is spectacular, and the French breads are superb. And there are plenty of things that stretch the imagination -- this year my favorite was a wonderful strawberry gazpacho with mint oil. This Mother's Day brunch is definitely a splurge, but it is tops in my Twin Cities' experiences. You'll need to book a couple of weeks in advance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crepes and coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fine dining at it's best. My husband and I eat breakfast at Chez Colette whenever we visit the Twin Cities. The coffee is fantastic. Then we have to decide between the pastries and crepes. The food and service are always a treat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unusually good hotel bar / food experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We met friends in the Colette bar for dinner and had other meals there during our stay at the hotel. Bar menu very limited but quite good and the service is spot on. I particularly enjoyed the heirloom tomato / manchego cheese salad; very tasty, perfectly seasoned, artfully constructed. Also very much enjoyed an odd item -- braised beef, onion and provolone pizza. What? Very tasty and a perfect nightcap for two. Special shout-out for Elizabeth who was the barkeep and also serving several tables in the bar area. Extremely efficient, very personable and kept all the balls in the air perfectly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Downward Slide.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was once one of my favorite places to eat. Not any more. A recent visit sealed it. I had the "Taste of France" combination. The Caesar salad was a bowl of dry lettuce. Terrible. The beef was a skimpy cube of beef with some canned gravy added. Cold and flavorless. The assorted cheese plate was acceptable as was the dessert. All in all I would have been better off going to Burger King.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Colette also viewed

 

Been to Chez Colette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Colette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.