We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good for a La Quinta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 American Blvd West, Bloomington, MN 55437   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for a La Quinta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

This hotel was pretty good for a La Quinta.

Pros:
Awesome Breakfast (Always well stocked and hot!)
Comfy Beds (A great plus)
Indoor Pool
Ample Parking
Quiet
Clean
Close to MOA and highway

Cons:
Hot tub was broken, so we couldn't use it
Shower pressure minimal
Balcony "For ventilation purposes only" (a.k.a. sliding door does not open more than an inch)

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 51 for two nights and had a pretty good experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a budget way to see the Twin Cities

  • Liked — Comfy Beds, Great Breakfast, Quiet
  • Disliked — Hot tub broken, balcony "for ventilation purposes only"
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rapidcitytraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed here on the way home from a month's volunteer work in West Africa. I picked it based on price after reading reviews here, and because it had a 24 hour airport shuttle. These were good points along with comfortable beds with attractive bedding and a pleasant staff. On the minus side, the room was small. Although supposedly handicap accessible it was not big enough if you had to turn around in a wheelchair. The bathroom floor was dirty although the rest of the room was fine. The "Deli Express" offers food of the quality available in a convenience store at a gas station. There are few food options nearby. We like walking but weren't willing to go far in our hot climate clothes with snow on the ground.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

My daughter & I went for a girls time away to go to the Mall of America. It was nice.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camper54403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We chose this La Quinta in Bloomington because it was close to the highway, close to the airport, and close to the Mall of America. Its proximity and accessibility is great, and considering we paid so little, it was a nice deal.

On the plus side side, there was a fridge and microwave in the room which I haven't even seen at 'nicer' hotels, and the king sized bed had a comfy pillowtop mattress and comforter. On the not so great side, the shower had the worst pressure I've ever felt, the water went from freezing to scalding with no middle ground, and the towels were like sandpaper.

I would say, all in all, it was an average experience with no complaints but nothing outstanding either. The service was fine, there was a nice deli downstairs, parking was free, and the complimentary breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the highway/airport/etc
  • Disliked — Bad pressure in shower, rough towels
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

I always enjoy this hotel.....
Asha and Katie working the morning shift front desk made my day with their fun attitudes and friendly smiles! Thank you.
I had a blast swimming in the pool. I had it all to myself....
My only requirement this stay was I wish they had little bottles of hair conditioner available...cause I had forgotten mine...
The La Quinta is awesome!
Thank you,
Tami Kunce
Minnetonka, MN.

  • Liked — pool open til midnight, work out room 24/7, front desk nice.
  • Disliked — no hair conditioner!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tamikunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Level Contributor
266 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

No real complaints, I guess the only thing I would complain about is that the non smoking room DID still have a hint of old smoke smell to it, but nothing un bearable. The customer service is GREAT. One of the shuttle drivers took us and picked us up to Valley Fair, that saved us about 80.00. (don't worry, he got a nice tip) The free breakfast was GOOD! fruits, toast, waffles, 4 difft. types of dry cereal, yogurt, juices, muffins, coffee etc.
The restaurant's that ARE around are NOT with in walking distance, I mean, they are, but only if you want to walk off your meal lol. The Shuttle WILL take you there and pick you up, so don't give up hope. Nice location, comfortable beds, quiet, nice pool, hot tub is loud and shallow, dry sauna is nice. Water pressure in the shower is good. nice view from our 16th floor room. One of the nicer places we've stayed for a while. I Recommend this one.

  • Liked — customer service
  • Disliked — good question
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TSR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg mb
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

For the price we paid ($74 average over 2 nights) for a hotel in Minneapolis, it was excellent. It is nicely appointed with very comfortable beds and good temperature control but the elevators are ridiculous. While we were there (for 2 nights) one of the elevators apeared to be stuck on the 11th floor. Be sure to ask for a room no higher than you'll want to walk up to because you will wait a very long time to ride up, otherwise.

One issue we had was that our door was left unlocked, ajar all day by the cleaning staff - very disconcerting whn you're out for the entire day and assume your belongings are safe. When I went to the front desk to report it, her only concern was if the room had been cleaned! If hadn't been so upset about the unlocked door, I would have laughed at how ludicrous a response it was. I reported it again the next day as we were checking out and the lady at the desk then was far more understanding.

The location is great and, if you follow the directions, the hotel is very easy to access from either the 494 or France Avenue.

If you can get a good rate, it' definitely a good place to stay.

  • Liked — price for the location and type of room
  • Disliked — careless cleaning staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bhm121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomington hotels
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Minneapolis Airport Bloomington
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington West
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Minneapolis Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Bloomington West
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis - Airport West Bloomington
5.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bloomington at Mall of America
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W

Address: 5151 American Blvd West, Bloomington, MN 55437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W, off I-494, is minutes from several corporate headquarters, including Best Buy, Dairy Queen, Ecolab, Lifetouch, Medtronics, Regis Corporation, and Supervalu, as well as many other businesses and hospitals. Some rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Enjoy free Ultra Fast wireless internet, daily free Bright Side Breakfast, free parking, indoor pool, and business fitness and centers. All rooms nonsmoking. Pets are free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Bloomington West
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bloomington West Hotel Bloomington
La Quinta Bloomington
Bloomington La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Minneapolis Bloomington W MN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing