We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneventful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Bloomington

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Bloomington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4460 W 78th St Circle, Bloomington, MN 55435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Uneventful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff here are nice, I can't comment on the breakfast as I didn't go. The rooms are clean and a good size, nothing went wrong the entire stay.

The one thing I would say is that compared to a nearby hotel I have stayed at before, the shuttle service to the Mall of America wasn't great. This other hotel had on-demand shuttle service, but this one had set times. I ended up having to take the airport shuttle and then take the train to the mall: not disastrous but not convenient, especially when I'd chosen this hotel because of the free shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear melonfawn,

Thank you for your review of the Park Plaza, we are all thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay in Bloomington. I am sorry that our shuttle service to the Mall of America did not meet your needs, but happy to see that you were able to ride to the airport and take the train to the mall. We always try to do more mall runs as we are able to, so if you decide to stay here again please inquire at the front desk about extra runs. If we are able to an additional run, we will.

Until we see you again, safe travels.

Best regards,

Pete Boese, general manager, 952-831-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    89
    59
    28
    23
See reviews for
69
51
25
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alpena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel service was awesome, The room was very well kept for an old hotel. But the service of the shuttle drivers and the front desk was top notch. we wanted to go a half mile down the road for Breakfast and asked about getting a cab, and they called the shuttle driver and he took us there, and offered to pick us up.. Gave us he cell phone number.. we walked back, but they were super. the room was spacious and comfortable, a bit older but very well maintained, cleaned and everything worked just fine. I would stay again if I were to go to this area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear DPauly,

Thank you for your review of the Park Plaza Hotel. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Bloomington and that the staff members were recognized for great service. I will share your comments with the staff so they can celebrate their success with your visit. We work hard every day to ensure our guest's expectations are met and exceeded when we are able to.

If I can ever be of personal service, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Until we see you again, safe travels.

Best regards,

Pete Boese, general manager, 952-831-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Best thing this time was having a coffee maker in the room that worked. We like the central location to the things we like to do in the area and close to where the grandparents live. We like it off the main drag, though can understand that it can be difficult to drive to the 1st time. GPS in the area is practically a must have for us when visiting. Beds are comfortable, rooms are kept clean, hot water with no waiting, reasonable rates. We tried the buffet and for the food cost ratio, just not worth it to us, so we go to McD or BK instead. However, that is our preference. I note many people eat there and by all of the trays I see in the hall, many people enjoy the room service and eat all their food, so they must like it. We are out of state and oldest daughter plans to go to college in St. Paul, so this may become our regular place to stay over the next 4 years. Plan to stay here in the future when visiting regardless.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good morning bleutalefly,

I am pelased to see you were back for another visit and that everything was working properly this time! I will share your comments with our staff, they will be thrilled to see the caption of your review, everybody works hard here to keep our guests satisfied and coming back for more. If I can ever be of personal service, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Until we see you again, safe travels and best wishes.

Regards,

Pete Boese, general manager, 952-831-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I got a very good deal on my room and was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious if a bit oddly laid out. The hot tub and exercise room were really nice, though it was a little awkward to basically walk through the outskirts of a wedding reception to get to the pool from the elevators. A little more compartmentalization of the conference area from the hotel proper would be nice. Also the pool is on the ground floor with lots of windows facing the parking lot and people smoking can look in and watch. Not too horrifying, but a bit awkward.

The hotel was hard to find the first night, but the staff was very kind about talking me there over the phone. It's more the geography of that part of Bloomington than anything else, so make sure you print out good directions and don't forget them like I did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear yoA_12,

Thank you for your recent review of the Park Plaza Bloomington Hotel. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and were able to make use of our pool area. I am sorry that you had to encounter the wedding attendees on your way to the pool, there are a couple of ways to the pool, but if you are unfamiliar with the layout, you take the way you know. I am glad that you were able to get here and that the front desk was able to assist you with the directions.

I am hopeful that we get the opportunity to be of service to you again for future visits. If I can ever be of personal assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Pete Boese, General Manager, 952-831-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff at this hotel were very nice. I only saw one male and one female at the front desk, but each was very nice. But,....I arrived around 5pm and it was beginning to snow. I don't live where it snows. The area in front of the front door is a flat cement pad under an open air cover. The drive way leading up to the hotel entrance is steep and at a nearly 30 degree angle! Then some guests decide that they are going to hog the whole cement pad entrance area with their car. No hotel personal helped organize these clueless people. There was enough room for 4 cars of people to be unloading on the flat area in front of the door. One guy made me stop on the entrance hill. My rental car did not have enough power to start on this uphill slope without slipping and sliding. If the guy had just moved forward another 5 feet we both could have been under the roof and doing out loading and unloading. My room was nice, although the loop and ball lock, (secondary lock - replacement for chain) was broken. plenty of hot water. The toilet had a water leak so the tank had to fill a little every 5 minutes. Lots of stations on the TV. (movies, etc). It was about 7 miles to the MSP airport from this hotel. Not to far is good weather, but kid of far in really bad weather. This hotel cannot be seen from the highway, so good navigation/GPS will make your day better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Janice V,

Thank you for your review of the Park Plaza Hotel Bloomington. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I am sorry that the initial unloading of your vehicle was so frustrating during our recent snow storm. We will certainly continue to monitor the front area and keep it free of snow and keep the vehicles moving along so all of our arriving guests can take advantage of the overhang.

If you have a moment to email me your room number to pete.boese@parkplaza.com I can have our engineering staff rectify the running toilet and safety latch. I know that is frustrating having to listen to the toilet cycling all night.

Thank you again for your remarks, if I can ever be of personal service, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Pete Boese, general manager, 952-831-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arraijan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed on the Park Plaza for 2 weeks due to a business trip. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the shuttle service to both the Mall of America and the Airport is excellent. Wi-Fi service is also a plus. The food in the restaurant is good with the only problem that they do not serve Lunch. Prices of the room are ok too, the pool and the gym are also a plus. I have to say that I enjoyed my time in the hotel. Only recommendation is to expand the hours of services in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Jose_Angel_Pitti,

Thank you for your recent review of the Park Plaza Bloomington, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. It was nice to see that you were able to make use of our amenities and that they met your needs. I am sorry that we have limited lunch hours in our restaurant, should your travels bring you back to this area and it is not open, please inquire at the front desk, we will do our best to get you some food.

Thanks again and if I can ever be of personal service, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Pete Boese, general manager, 952-831-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Hotel is a great park & Fly Hotel. Quiet rooms, low cost Breakfast Buffet.
Small evening menu at the bar. Lots of Parking.Shuttle service is in nice clean vehicles owned by the Hotel. Shuttle is not 24 hours, but does start 4 or 5 am.

It's my choice from now on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanna B, Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear BBQJIM,

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here at the Park Plaza and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide an online review. Our Park and Fly Package is one of our most popular packages this time of year when everyone is flying out to warmer locations. I am glad that it worked out well for your trip and I certainly hope that your travels were successful.

The next time you are in the area do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Sincerely,

Suzanna Boshart, Front Office Manager 952-831-3131
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Bloomington

Address: 4460 W 78th St Circle, Bloomington, MN 55435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Bloomington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the Twin Cities, you're at the heart of it all when you stay at the Park Plaza Hotel, a Carlson brand hotel. Located right in the heart of it all and just minutes to downtown areas. Relax on plush pillow top mattress, crisp white duvet and fluffy pillows or utilize the complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access to help you stay in touch while on the road. Enjoy classic American fare at Three Trees Restaurant and Fireside Lounge. After a busy day, unwind in our whirlpool and heated pool to refresh and rejuvenate your senses. If you feel like exploring, attractions like the Mall of America, Mystic Lake Casino and the famous Minnesota Zoo are all within easy reach. We're only 10 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, so our shuttle can get you to your flight promptly. Whether its business or a fun-filled vacation that brings you to the Bloomington area - your room at the Park Plaza Hotel is waiting, with an impressive list of amenities designed to make your stay a pleasant one but it’s the service that will bring you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Park Plaza
Park Plaza Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.