We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, clean, price was great, location not so great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Bloomington to your Saves list
Park Plaza Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4460 W 78th St Circle, Bloomington, MN 55435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel, clean, price was great, location not so great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was a clean hotel, the rooms were big. The swimming pool was a fair size. They have a place to eat at the hotel. We had the breakfast in the moring and it was ok. It is a buffet and it was $7.95. good for the price. Make sure you check to see what they are serving, because there is a perkins just down the street. it is about a 10 minute drive or so to mall of america. When you are driving to find the hotel you will think it is in the middle of know where and no one would be able to find you. It is safe tho.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    118
    76
    35
    25
See reviews for
88
65
29
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Let me start by saying I booked through Priceline, so I'm sure I paid less than others, but still I was disappointed. Upon check in, all double rooms were booked, therefore our daughter and her friend had to sleep on the floor (roll always were offered, the girls declined).

The rooms are VERY outdated. Old furniture, old tv, old wallpaper. The bathroom was terrible! Wallpaper was some of the worst I've seen, dirty and damaged in many areas.

When we left our room the first day (10:00) housekeeping was across the hall. When we returned 7 hours later, our keys no longer worked and housekeeping still hadn't been there.

Although the room condition/ quality was very poor in our opinion, there were some positives. The dining area was convenient even if they charged for what other hotels provide for free. Mgmt responded quickly to requests. Rooms were sound proofed well.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo City WI
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Park Plaza which is part of the Carlton Chain was pretty nice inside. The lobby was nice. The staff was very good. We chose this location because of the free shuttle to the mall of America. My husband was on business so he left and I took the shuttle. It was right on time and was a really nice perk. I however found the room to be less than expected. There were a couple of reasons. The main one was I could not get the room regulated to the correct temperature. The fan on the heater/air conditioner was REALLY loud. There really was no inbetween with it. It was either too chilly or too hot. The bed was pretty fair. Not as nice as the Countryinn beds though. No free breakfast here either. The price was either 10.99 for a hot breakfast buffet or 8.99 for the cold part. Basically I ate yogurt and fruit for 8.99. Not too great of a selection of fruit either... The last thing that bugged me was the remote for the television had run out of batteries. I asked housekeeping and they said I would have to call maintainance..I just thought wow. I didn't even bother. I would not stay here again if up in Minneapolic..I will pay extra and go to the holiday inn express or country inn.

Room Tip: not sure. did not stay in anyother rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The annual NOHVCC/INOHVAA Conference was held here in Sept, 2011. The facility was clean, rooms nice, food excellent and all the staff was exceptional. NOHVCC conferences are held in cities all over the US and this venue was tops. Everyone was friendly, helpful and flexible with any last minute changes or requests. The food was good with something for everyone, the presentation great and always served with smiles. The attendee's had only good comments. This facility went a long way in making our conference a great success.

It's always nice to be within walking distance of attractions, but the shuttle service made up for the distances. Not only were we shuttled to the airport and Mall of America, but out to dinner at a location recommended by one of the staff. What a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have never posted a reply on Trip Advisor before however I felt that this hotel warranted a review. I have stayed in many hotels over the years including many in other countries as well. I have never stayed at such a terrible hotel in all my life. I booked this hotel through priceline.com and got a fairly resonable price. I was super excited till I got to the hotel and realized this hotel is very old and quite rundown. I can live with that not a big deal. However, when the maid came in on Saturday morning to clean our room she left her toilet cleaning scrubber on top of our toothbrushes. DISGUSTING !!!!! When I brought down the scrubber and told the front desk lady I was told she could not do anything because the room had been booked through priceline. Terrible if my husband and I had brushed our teeth with those tooth brushed we could of gotten extreemly sick! Shame on the Park Plaza!!! Do not stay here unless you want to catch some disease from incompetant staff and a unsympathetic manager. Also do not look to priceline to help you because they are unable to resolve any issues either do to the hotel manager thinking that something so disgusting could happen at there hotel. NEWS FLASH IT DID BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As I read this, I myself winced and wished we had the opportunity to talk with you during your stay. First off, let me apologize for both what happened and the response that you received. This was a careless mistake and one that I plan on personally talking with the executive housekeeper about to ensure all housekeepers continue to receive training. As for the response that was given to you, I will also be talking with the manager that assisted you. Let me please explain that she was trying to explain that with third party bookings, we are not able to refund or adjust any of the rooms due to the third party receiving the revenue. That does not mean that we couldnt have shown you empathy, sensitivity and offered amenities or services at the hotel to make your stay a more pleasant one. At the very least, new toothbrushes. This is not our standard operation and I do hope that you will allow us to show you the service we generally provide to all our guests. Should you be in the area again, please contact myself or the General Manager and we will be happy to assist you with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, B.C.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for a NOVCC conference, so really wasnt expecting or caring for much. Boy, was I pleasantly suprised.
First of all, they have a GREAT complimentary shuttle service that picked us up at the airport (and returned us) and also took us and picked us up at The Mall of America. (less than 10 mins away)
Rooms were nice, had pool, nice lounge, nice restaraunt, lots of free to use computers, and the food was amazing !!!
Staff were all very friendly and helpful and the whole stay was very nice !
I am quite picky when it comes to hotels, and this was a great stay!!!
If I had to complain about anything, I could say that the area right by the hotel (walking distance) didnt really have much, and it seemed once in a while you had to knock on front desk countertop to get service from front desk. Thats it, no big deal.
Great place to stay !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful comments! We truly enjoyed having your group in-house and certinaly hope to host again if you make it to the Bloomington area again. With how much you all travel, it means a lot that you found your stay enjoyable and will pass your comments along to the staff. We are a little tucked away however next time you are at the hotel, ask the front desk if they are able to bring you to one of the nearby venues. When pre-arranged, we can escort guests within 5 miles of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

No surprises except for generous room size and the fact that there is an indoor pool and hot tub--never thought of bringing my bathing suit and wished I had.

I came to town for the memorial of a dear friend and the hotel provided a welcome respite at the end of the day. The ofice area in the room was a pleasure to use and I like the way the tv was close to the bed.

Great value for the money.

Room Tip: away from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm pleased to hear that during a sensitive time for you , you found comfort at the hotel. The size of the rooms are most commented on as they allow you to truly spread out and seperate your sleeping from your work or entertainment. Next time please do bring your suit and enjoy the pool area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Bloomington

Address: 4460 W 78th St Circle, Bloomington, MN 55435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the Twin Cities, you're at the heart of it all when you stay at the Park Plaza Hotel, a Carlson brand hotel. Located right in the heart of it all and just minutes to downtown areas. Relax on plush pillow top mattress, crisp white duvet and fluffy pillows or utilize the complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access to help you stay in touch while on the road. Enjoy classic American fare at Three Trees Restaurant and Fireside Lounge. After a busy day, unwind in our whirlpool and heated pool to refresh and rejuvenate your senses. If you feel like exploring, attractions like the Mall of America, Mystic Lake Casino and the famous Minnesota Zoo are all within easy reach. We're only 10 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, so our shuttle can get you to your flight promptly. Whether its business or a fun-filled vacation that brings you to the Bloomington area - your room at the Park Plaza Hotel is waiting, with an impressive list of amenities designed to make your stay a pleasant one but it’s the service that will bring you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Park Plaza
Park Plaza Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.