We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Only in the Disasppointing Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Bloomington to your Saves list
Park Plaza Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4460 W 78th St Circle, Bloomington, MN 55435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Consistent Only in the Disasppointing Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel itself is quite nice but the customer service was bad the whole way through. We checked in late and were barely acknowledged, the two staff who were working just continued their conversation while we stood there.The back parking lot floods when it rains - something the staff knew but didn't tell us - and I got water damage to my car (along with many other guests). The hotel "couldn't" do anything for us so we spent half a day of vacation cleaning out 6 inches of water and then dealt with the smell of bogwater until we got home. I would have been happy just to hear "We're sorry about that" but instead the staff acted like it was our fault and we were bothering them by even mentioning it. The front desk manager told us that if the car worked, we were fine and had nothing to worry about - I later found out that it's very dangerous to drive a car that's been submerged in water, the electronics can fail at any time (thanks Park Plaza!). We didn't have any hot water in our room and when we told the front desk, the girl just said "yeah, we know." When we checked out I asked to speak to the manager to let him know we weren't happy with the service and was told he was "too busy" to talk to us and that I could "try" calling him the next day. It was obvious they didn't care that we were unhappy and just wanted to get us out of there. I ended up sending an email to the company about it, thinking they'd at least apologise for the bad experience. Nope. Instead I got a response telling me I should direct any concerns about my car to their insurance company (by now the car's been dealt with and wasn't an issue), but not a single word about the way we were treated and certainly no apology. It showed me that nobody involved in that company, from the front desk clerk to the manager, cares about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
I am very sorry that your car was negatively affected by the flash flooding that occurred during your stay. We had roped off the back area of the lot the day before and unfortunately the ropes were moved, allowing people to park in this natural lowland. It was an unfortunate situation that happened and we tried to ensure that all of our guests were taken care of quickly, safely and efficiently. I also noted your comment about the hot water, we lost one of our hot water heaters that same weekend and have a new one being installed this week. It is certainly frustrating not having hot water to take showers. We normally provide above and beyond service and I am disappointed that we were not able to provide you with that level of service. I will review your comments with our entire staff so they can understand how important it is to be responsive to issues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    119
    76
    35
    25
See reviews for
88
65
29
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We booked this place through priceline for $40 night - stayed there for 5 nights. The place is outdated and a lil rundown. The staff was friendly and will accomodate you right away. The luggage "cart" was (most of them) broken so my husband needed to find a cart that actually works. It has a pool but we didnt want to use it at all. Small and cold. The room we stayed was placed at the back so the scenery was all construction area and stuff. The room was just OK (or less).. I dont like the decor, I dont like the washroom even it was granite countertop, it just didnt go with it the fact that the room is very outdated. I could hear people, kids, next door through this thin walls. This place is also tricky to find. The price we paid for this place was worth it, but I wouldnt pick this one when we are at Bloomington area again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. After reading your concern on the luggage carts, we investigated right away as we have weekly maintenance done on them. We did not find any issues with them however I know that with these carts they can be tricky with the wheels and whether you should pull or push, depending on how the wheels are positioned. Perhaps this is the issue you were encountering? We had recently updated the rooms with white duvet covers, gold bed runners and mattresses and pillows and continue to look at other opportunities to update the hotel. We have not heard the concerns before for the noise or the pool, as we have one of the larger pools on the Bloomington strip but I will have my engineering ensure the temperature is at the proper setting. We appreciate you saw a value in the hotel and do hope upon your return, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

Lindsay checked us in and she was super nice and helpful. They are a pet friendly hotel, so we brought our dog. The bar has an awesome happy hour weekdays 4-6pm--$2 draws, house wine, and well drinks. They also offer discounts on apps at that time. We definitely took advantage of that. The shuttle was also convenient. They took us to the mall of america and also to a local restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your kind words to Lindsay as the staff loves to hear when they have made a positive affect on your stay. We look forward to your return and please let us know if we can assist you with your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet was very enjoyable. The waiter and waitress were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is only about a 6 minute drive to Mall of America. This hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the Mall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and experienced the service we are so proud of. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the appropriate staff members. We look forward to your return and be sure to check us out on Facebook for any promotions or updates that we will be posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We like to stay here when in the cities. It's a great value for what we get. spacious room, free wireless internet that is fast! Comfortable beds. I do agree though with a previous review about the noisy window units! It is time hotels start doing some upgrades to the cooling and heating units and get rid of the bathtubs already. Put in shower stalls and lots more accessible sockets!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaza84, Director of Sales at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Hello and Thank You for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. You will be pleased to learn that we had begun the process of replacing all the old window units and continue to do so on a monthly basis. The new units are much quieter and still allow you to use both heating and/or cooling to your preference. We do hope upon your return you will find these a nice change. There are no plans to take out the tubs as these are still requested however enhancements of the bowed shower curtian rods and massage shower heads were installed to make your shower a more enjoyable experience. We do appreciate your feedback and your business. Please dont hesitate to contact us in the future for any further needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011 via mobile

5 miles from MOA and only 12 to downtown. Nearest bagel place was about 3 miles down the road. This hotel is also within 5 miles of REI. The bed was very comfortable and the only really sign of wear was in the bathroom some paint was peeling above the light. The hottub should have been warmer as well. Overall great value.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments, I am very pleased to see that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations during your stay. If you have a moment to contact me at the hotel to advise me of which room you occupied during your stay so we can address the paint and wallpaper issues in the bathroom, it would assist me in making sure the room is in better condition for the next guest.

I hope we can be of service to you on future visits, please contact me directly if I can be of assistance to you for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I was very disappointed in this hotel given its rating as a 3 star hotel. The lobby and lounge area were passable, but the hallway on my floor looked it could have been a low rent apartment building. Water stains on the ceiling and walls, all the doors scuffed and stained and just a general shabby look. My room had a distinct and unpleasant odor to it and my blow dryer fell off the wall in the bathroom. The location for the hotel is good - very convenient to the area and major highways and I felt safe, but other than that it was an unpleasant experience. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteBoese, General Manager at Park Plaza Bloomington, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know where our opportunities are so we can continue to work on improving our product and service. I was happy to see that you enjoyed the lounge and lobby areas, obviously we need to continue with the other common areas. We are working on the hallways and continue to paint doors and ceilings, shampoo carpeting and perform preventative maintenance in all of our rooms.

If I can ever be of personal assistance to you, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you again and I am hopeful that we do have the opportunity to be of service to you on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Bloomington

Address: 4460 W 78th St Circle, Bloomington, MN 55435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Plaza Bloomington 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the Twin Cities, you're at the heart of it all when you stay at the Park Plaza Hotel, a Carlson brand hotel. Located right in the heart of it all and just minutes to downtown areas. Relax on plush pillow top mattress, crisp white duvet and fluffy pillows or utilize the complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access to help you stay in touch while on the road. Enjoy classic American fare at Three Trees Restaurant and Fireside Lounge. After a busy day, unwind in our whirlpool and heated pool to refresh and rejuvenate your senses. If you feel like exploring, attractions like the Mall of America, Mystic Lake Casino and the famous Minnesota Zoo are all within easy reach. We're only 10 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, so our shuttle can get you to your flight promptly. Whether its business or a fun-filled vacation that brings you to the Bloomington area - your room at the Park Plaza Hotel is waiting, with an impressive list of amenities designed to make your stay a pleasant one but it’s the service that will bring you back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Park Plaza
Park Plaza Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.