We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definately stay again - Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel Bloomington to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel Bloomington
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7800 2nd Ave South, Bloomington, MN 55420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would definately stay again - Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Getting Around: The hotel has shuttles running to the airport every hour on the hour. From there you can jump on the light rail and go quite a few places for just a few bucks. They also have a schedule for going to the Mall of America or if your really ambitious it's probably only a 30-45 min walk from the hotel. Friendly shuttle drivers. Fitness center had one elliptical and one treadmill, but that worked well enough for me.

Hotel: The continental breakfast at the hotel is fair, with cereal, several bread/bagel options, yogurt, fruit. I would have loved to see boiled eggs added. There is no pool but the hot tub and sauna were nice. Never had any trouble with the wifi which was a big plus.

Rooms: Very clean and well maintained. Better than expected! Quickly replaced soaps and shampoos. Comfortable and clean bed and sheets. Slept great! Key safe in room was a nice feature. Check-in & Check-out quick and easy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    262
    125
    35
    15
See reviews for
225
177
77
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The staff was wonderful at every encounter, very polite and helpful when needed. Staff provided information about the area, including directions. The shuttle was great, available when needed and the driver was very prompt picking us up. The room was dated but clean (and No Bed Bugs were found, we looked). The only suggestions I would make to improve the stay would be to include a microwave/fridge in the room, upgrade the coffee maker to a 4 cup maker (it was a one cup at a time maker that used special coffee inserts) and better television remotes. Also the room faced the highway and was at times noisy. The beds were SUPER Comfy!!!!!! The breakfast was good serving cereals, toast, bagels, English muffins, fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal. Danish, coffee, tea and juices. The staff worked very diligently to maintain that breakfast items were well stocked during the very busy morning rush (the motel was full and never ran out of breakfast items). Again, a suggestion to improve the breakfast would be to include a waffle maker which is standard in most hotels I have stayed in including Super 8’s. The motel offered free internet access as well as a computer and free printer available in the lobby. The motel did not have a pool however it did offer a whirlpool and exercise room. The location of this motel was great, close to the Mall of America, IKEA, Airport, local sports events, restaurants and the downtown area. Overall, the stay was pleasant; I would recommend this motel to others. Diane

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times, and if you're looking for a place to stay near the airport and/or Mall of America with shuttle service, this is perfect. It's next to a highway, so in certain rooms you can hear cars going by, but I didn't find that to be a big deal. I didn't hear any airport noise either. The internet service has always seemed to work ok. The shuttle has always promptly picked me up at the airport. I especially appreciated the small continental breakfast (pre-breakfast hours) that was sitting out when I arrived for the 4:00 a.m. shuttle back to the airport. If you're considering this hotel, don't hesitate to stay here. There are also a couple of restaurants within walking distance (and many within a short driving distance) and the area seems fine in terms of safety.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We chose this hotel for an overnight stay so that we could catch a 7a.m. flight. The staff was very helpful in expediting our rental car return and our airport drop off early in the a.m. The free shuttle runs 24 hours a day on an hourly schedule. The hotel was clean and neat and pleasantly appointed. Although we left too early to take advantage of a full breakfast, we appreciated the availability of hot beverages, fruit, pastries, and juice. The free computer/printer access was also appreciated so that we could get our boarding passes. This hotel offers a well-oiled operation that eased our trip home. It was also a good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We always have stayed here when we travel to the Twin Cities...we have always had a very clean room and when we needed something we were always accommodated. It is quiet and the shuttle to the airport is always running. We have also stayed when there has been winter storms and had to stay another day with out reservation. The front desk has always been very friendly and quick with our reservations. I cannot even imagine any of them being rude as one person stated here. It has never happened to us. It is a great place to stay. You can't go wrong staying here for the price and the convenience to Malls and stores and the airport..... Thank you Debbie

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Upon check-in we had a few different rooms reserved under my Grandmother's name. We got there (after she'd just talked to someone on the phone) and they said I wasn't allowed to check-in without her there - she stated she was just reserving the rooms and that there would be a couple different families checking in before she arrived.

Eventually just took a room off of her reservation and just got our room for that night in our name and on our card (fine by me but more hastle then necessary - should've just told her that's the way it needed to be to begin with). Got our room; 112. Hallway leading to rooms actually scared my son: stained carpet, long, dark and narrow. Room was clean, and dated, but clean. Nice selection of items in vending machines.

Nice view of garbadge cage... fine by me not spending time in the room anyways. Got back after Twins game and turned on TV only to hear a VERY strange noise coming from it. It sounded like one of my son's motorized trains... I informed them of their very noisy TV upon checkout.

Wireless internet was good. Had to call front desk every 24 hours or so to get new wireless code. Woke at about 6:30 in the morning to a father yelling at his kids or someone in a language I couldn't understand... since this is my son's 1st time in a hotel (that he can understand) and he's 2 the noise outside had him quite shaken. I had to calm him down and explain it wasn't people in our room and there's other people staying. So, walls are a bit thin.

Breakfast was so, so. Fruit, danishes, OJ, coffe, apple juice, Froot Loops, bagels, tost, Frosted Flakes were about it. Not the best I've seen from a Super 8 - but free nonetheless. Water pressure and hot water were good.

No pool, dissapointment to my son. Never checked out sauna/whirlpool.

Check-out process was fast and they seemed actually conserned with the TV issue. All-in-all next time I may check out the Microtel a couple blocks away for about $10/night less. But, I wouldn't be opposed to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This was a great place for the amount we paid for it. The room was clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable for a cheaper motel. Noise was never a problem. The breakfast was okay, nothing special - cereal, fruit, toast, etc. Good location for where we needed to be.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Bloomington

Address: 7800 2nd Ave South, Bloomington, MN 55420
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bloomington
#14 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#19 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Bloomington 2*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Super 8 Hotel Bloomington
Super 8 Bloomington
Super Eight Bloomington
Bloomington Super 8
Bloomington Super Eight
Super 8 Motel Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.